4/29 Aurora AMPS 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole Z

Member Since 2017
Goodmorning! I am going to start getting ready for the day and will check Aurora again in about 45 minutes and post her second reading
 
Ok second reading before breakfast came back lower at 128 I'm guessing skip the shot again completely huh? I should be home around 1pm so I can check her levels again when I'm back. Everyone agree?
 
Sorry everyone I had to leave house I did not give any insulin I will check back for replies when I'm back home.
 
SKIP!!!! :) Not the race silly....skip da shot... :) (yeah I know you already did but I'm silly this morning...)

Can't wait to hear how you did in the race 'cos sweet kitty kitty is doin' just fine!
 
Ok Aurora reading at 1pm 141
I think this is a good number right? Just fed her some wet food for lunch.
 
Last edited:
Ok Aurora reading at 1pm 141
I think this is a good number right? Just fed her some wet food for lunch.

Yes this is a good number especially for no shot in 18+ hours! You shoot about 6:30-7am/pm, right? Sometime 3-4 this afternoon, do another test to see what she's doing with this day. I'm seriously beginning to suspect she's being hugely overdosed....

HUGS! Gosh you got this all together Nicole! I'm impressed... :)
 
I shoot at 615 am and pm. Ok I'll check later around 4 ish. I'm just so thankful that I tested last night I seriously think we could have had a disaster on our hands otherwise. I have noticed her flakes are out of control again her whole back end is a great commercial opportunity for head and shoulders! Yikes! I even use a slicker brush on her and I thought she was improving but I guess not. I couldn't do this without people like you to help me! My husband wants to know what numbers you don't shoot. I said I think the group says anything 200 or less you dint shoot right? He said if I'm not home he needs to know a standard rule because he's most likely not going to want to be logging onto the board. I'm her primary anyways but just the odd time that he might need to test and shoot he said he wanted me to find out a guide. I said gee I'm so new to this I'm learning literally by each post....lol
 
Since you are following SLGS, you start with a higher no shoot number, and as you get used to shooting lower and gather data, you can gradually lower that number. For folks experienced with SLGS, that number can be lowered eventually to 90. There are guidelines in the SLGS sticky note, if you want to print them off.
 
Ok 4:30 number is 115 I'm guessing no insulin tonight either huh? She's getting sick of me poking her thought I made a rice sock and that helps a lot.
 
Sorry I missed earlier posts, but do you have a spreadsheet for Aurora? It's really important for giving informed dose suggestions. However, I wouldn't give insulin tonight.
 
You're right Nicole - no insulin tonight.

There's something I'm seeing that I'm putting out here even if we're still dealing with a depot. Her pancreas seems to be working at times bringing herself up and down too. This isn't normal depot action. Now that I've said that, tests and low carb feeding (unless under 50) will show us a lot. If you shoot again, we all need to discuss together the amount because she definitely doesn't need anywhere near what you've shot. Just my opinion....that and $2 gets you a McD coffee...
 
If you didn't get them, while you're out shopping, pick up a bottle of 'ketone test strips'. It's a good idea to test daily right now - no biggie, dip strip in fresh urine and read at 15 seconds. Any brand works, usually about $10/bottle of 50. Right now it's just for 'insurance'.
 
Sorry I missed earlier posts, but do you have a spreadsheet for Aurora? It's really important for giving informed dose suggestions. However, I wouldn't give insulin tonight.

Hi! No I have not made the spreadsheet yet, hopefully will do that tomorrow. So based off her numbers you don't think she's in remission? The numbers are in normal range just because the insulin at 3 units was too much and she's still normalizing from that? I wonder what tomorrow's morning number will be.
 
time will tell.....

I suspect she's got a very high probability of making it to remission but I don't think she's completely there.
You also have been making food changes and that can make a difference as well.....

we'll be able to help re-determine the dose after you get that ss up..... and we start to see some patterns.....

Glad you did good with your race.....
 
I just checked the cans of wet food pride by instinct and it says in savory gravy I have been feeding that daily was one of the few that I could get them to eat but I'm guessing the gravy will make this a no go anymore? Says 8% crude protein and 5% crude fat. The other ones are new by tiki cat it's the aloha friends tuna with pumpkin and shrimp and tuna with pumpkin and tuna with tilapia. These say 11% crude protein 1.8% crude fat. There is a third brand wild calling that I am feeding those say 9.5 crude protein and 8% crude fat
 
I see some members have a spreadsheet tab for lab numbers as well I will have to get that added as well. Will work on all of that tomorrow, momma pooped from this mornings event.
 
Do you like the foods so far? I'm guessing I'll have to cut the pride ones with the gravy? Even if Aurora continues to have good numbers? I'm really guessing that for a short time I switched from the nulo gold medal series to another brand of dry that they said might help her dandruff it was Fromm game bird recipe and once she was diagnosed I looked and saw that was super high in carbs I wonder if that triggered her diabetes? I immediately switched her back to the nulo it says it's low carb. I'm horrible with the food stuff and knowing what's good or bad but slowly trying to learn.
 
I'm pretty sure the pride is higher carb than you want. Tomorrow take a look at the foid chart Rhiannon posted. You will want some low, medium, and high. Fir high you can also add a few drops of Karo to mc food.
 
Thanks! Aurora is sleeping out cold. She's been very frisky last night and today since we have been home. I will leave her alone for the night and post another amps tomorrow morning. I'm hoping it's another low one! Wouldn't that be amazing if she was somehow normal again?
 
When you start tmw's post, instead of 'AMPS' (pre-shot), use 'AMBG' (blood glucose) - that way we know you haven't shot. If you do end up giving a little bit (doubtful... :) ), you can change it.

Sleep well!
 
Fingersand paws crossed for a good ambg tomorrow. Going from three units to OTJ would be rare but stranger things have happened.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top