Stacy & Asia
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-26-asia-pmps-162.194739/
We had an unexpected guest come from out of town and she bought us all tickets to see a broadway show for her birthday yesterday. I wasn’t sure what to do, I didn’t want to leave Asia right after giving her a shot, even though she is usually okay for a couple hours because of onset, but she’s been unpredictable as usual and I just didn’t feel good to shoot and leave knowing I would be back late and the trains often have delays at night. I also really, really didn’t want to skip. I have a hard time accepting that for me to go out, she has to suffer for that cycle and potentially subsequent ones too (and I consider higher numbers suffering, at least to her organs).
In the TR protocol (on the Tilly’s page) it mentions several options to try when first faced with a low preshot, it even discounts that they probably won’t work as well as regular dosing, one of them is giving most of the dose and waiting an hour or two and giving the rest. Well this wasn’t a low preshot situation, but I liked the idea of giving her a temporary reduction and then adding the rest when I could be home to monitor. So yes, I cheated a bit, but for some reason it worked in this situation! I gave half (0.3) at shot time and the other half (0.3) at +4. She was higher for the first half of the cycle (to be expected with the reduction plus extra food I left for her every hour), but then she came down slowly with the second half of her shot and gave me the best AMPS in a month. And now an active cycle...that may call for potato flakes even.
The furry potato is usually napping through the morning hours at this time, but she’s green, she’s awake and active. What a difference! It’s the little things!
ETA Public safety announcement: This was a special circumstance and if Asia’s numbers had been lower, I would have been terrified to try this as the two shot nadirs could potentially overlap. Please don’t try this unless you really know how your cat reacts to insulin and you are able to monitor closely.
We had an unexpected guest come from out of town and she bought us all tickets to see a broadway show for her birthday yesterday. I wasn’t sure what to do, I didn’t want to leave Asia right after giving her a shot, even though she is usually okay for a couple hours because of onset, but she’s been unpredictable as usual and I just didn’t feel good to shoot and leave knowing I would be back late and the trains often have delays at night. I also really, really didn’t want to skip. I have a hard time accepting that for me to go out, she has to suffer for that cycle and potentially subsequent ones too (and I consider higher numbers suffering, at least to her organs).
In the TR protocol (on the Tilly’s page) it mentions several options to try when first faced with a low preshot, it even discounts that they probably won’t work as well as regular dosing, one of them is giving most of the dose and waiting an hour or two and giving the rest. Well this wasn’t a low preshot situation, but I liked the idea of giving her a temporary reduction and then adding the rest when I could be home to monitor. So yes, I cheated a bit, but for some reason it worked in this situation! I gave half (0.3) at shot time and the other half (0.3) at +4. She was higher for the first half of the cycle (to be expected with the reduction plus extra food I left for her every hour), but then she came down slowly with the second half of her shot and gave me the best AMPS in a month. And now an active cycle...that may call for potato flakes even.

The furry potato is usually napping through the morning hours at this time, but she’s green, she’s awake and active. What a difference! It’s the little things!
ETA Public safety announcement: This was a special circumstance and if Asia’s numbers had been lower, I would have been terrified to try this as the two shot nadirs could potentially overlap. Please don’t try this unless you really know how your cat reacts to insulin and you are able to monitor closely.
Last edited:


