4/29 A2 Gizmo - Curve Day! AMPS 516 | +3 381 | +6 242 | +10 356 | PMPS 470 | +3 404 | +5 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

tobakett

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-316-7-5-267-pmps-303-4-308-10-5-363.194800/

Oof, this morning was rough. At +10.5 Gizmo woke both of us up being super beggy for food and starting to destroy things (knocking things off shelves, trying to chew on anything plastic, clawing on stuff) and even bringing him on the bed for snuggles didn't quell him, so I decided to run a blood test to see if he was sky high, building on my theory that A-Hole Gizmo = in the black.

363. Hrm, nope. His +4 was before that was in the 300s also so I decided to take a couple PureBites chicken and hide them in their mousies and puzzle, since Widget was being a bit whiny too. Went back to bed, a bit grumpy I had to be up in an hour and a half and had only gotten to sleep an hour and a half prior....

Less than 30 minutes later he was back causing hell. I was exhausted and wasnt thinking about today being curve day and so when BF said he was going to go shut him in the bathroom I just thanked him and went back to sleep.

Gizmo HATES being locked in rooms. Stresses him out almost as much as the vet. But I was tired, dumb, and not thinking straight.

So there we get our 516 this morning at AMPS. I tried to snuggle with him and give him pets and brushed him to calm him down but he was pretty peeved. Gave them breakfast (day 2 of all LC food!) and they cleaned their plates and I went back and guiltily took in another 3 hours of sleep.

Now we are at 381 at +3. Hopefully the rest of today will be a nice easy curve and I can chat with the vet tomorrow about increasing his dose, since it's been a week now and we haven't been under 200 once, so he probably needs it.

Still no idea what the heck possessed him this morning. Might be the spring weather finally coming in since before the +3 they both were blissfully lounging in the reptile room soaking in the perfect giant sunbeam that was coming in that window.

I did get quite the compliment about him Friday night though. When I was testing him 2 of our houseguests wanted to watch and he was being so good and one of them was like "that's gotta be hard for him to be diagnosed so young" and I was like, "hes turning 11 in about 3 weeks". They were absolutely flabbergasted that he was that old, they thought he was about 5.
 
Sorry, but I had to chuckle at Gizmo’s antics this morning. Kinda sounds just like my Gizmo when he was a kitten ... thankfully he outgrew the need for people time all night long. He was never really deStructive, just didn’t really like us humans to sleep at night. :rolleyes: I hope you got some rest today and that you are able to increase his dose tomorrow.
 
I got some, kinda catnapped throughout the day. Our game ended getting cancelled so had time to nap.

Got some catnip bubbles today and played tonight. Not sure if that would raise numbers. Hes tolerating the testing really well though so that's an improvement. Probably going to stay up late enough to get a +5 which will be just over 18 hours if you count the early morning test before the AMPS today so hopefully that is good enough data for the doc. I'm bummed his numbers are so high, I'm worried she will dose him too much and I'll have to worry about him going hypo while I'm at work. Still haven't found an automatic pet feeder, think I found the model I want but Amazon will take a few days to get here. I hate going back to 3 meals per day on him but until I get that in it's the best I can do sadly.
 
I got some, kinda catnapped throughout the day. Our game ended getting cancelled so had time to nap.

Got some catnip bubbles today and played tonight. Not sure if that would raise numbers. Hes tolerating the testing really well though so that's an improvement. Probably going to stay up late enough to get a +5 which will be just over 18 hours if you count the early morning test before the AMPS today so hopefully that is good enough data for the doc. I'm bummed his numbers are so high, I'm worried she will dose him too much and I'll have to worry about him going hypo while I'm at work. Still haven't found an automatic pet feeder, think I found the model I want but Amazon will take a few days to get here. I hate going back to 3 meals per day on him but until I get that in it's the best I can do sadly.
When my previous vet wanted to increase Gizmo’s dose from 3 units to 5 units, I decided to just increase it slowly following TR. We eventually got to 5 units and beyond, but I felt much safer increasing in small increments. Just a thought I’m throwing out there.
 
Looks like Gizmo has earned an increase to 1.25 units tomorrow, if you are following SLGS. Good luck with the new dose.
 
Ending the curve ar +5 with 320. At least today looks like a curve which is better than it has in the past.

Food dish wont get here until Wednesday unfortunately so tomorrow and Tuesday will be 3 meal days since I have no way to feed while I'm at work, harumph.

Gizmo was such a pro today with testing. The first time we tried to do a curve last week I had to fight him and get help all day. Today we did each one just the two of us and he just played there calm. Did have 2 instances where he twitched his ear while I grabbed the meter and we had to squeeze out a new drop but not bad. :)
 
@Wendy&Neko I am supposed to report the curve to the vet tomorrow, I'm gonna also send her the SLGS info and see what she thinks. I suspect she might try and go higher but I might go up gradually anyways just to play it safe since I don't have anyone to check on him while I am working.

I'm just happy his curves are starting to look like curves and not defective roller coasters!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top