? 4/28 Yum: safe to sleep? PMPS+4 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJW

Member Since 2017
Yum's alphatrak2 numbers are mostly high normal [IDEXX normal = 72 to 175 or Catalyst DX normal =71 to 159]. She is in her 5th cycle at 4.25u. Should I push her to 4.5u tomorrow morning?
I guess the TR protocol pushes them to very low normal [alphatrak2=68, human_meter=50], which is lower than the SLGS protocol [human_meter=90], in the belief this will make remission more likely.
Is my understanding correct?
Thanks! The next dose increase will be scary.
 
Hmmm. Her +9 is lower than her +6, and this cycle 5 is lower than cycle 3. Maybe she is still gaining something on 4.25u.
Also, the progression from 4u to 4.25u went so smoothly, after I held the 4u for 5 days: I would like to see that easy slope again.
Now I think I will give her cycles 7 and 8 at 4.25u.
I still have my questions from my earlier entry. And I still worry that the path to a minimum matters---going slow delays improvement of course, but does it also doom recovery?
I hope not.
 
With the blues, I would definitely hold at least 8 cycles on this dose. Looking good Yum!

The more time in green, the greater the chance of regulation. You need Regulation before remission. Lowering the reduction point to what is still a safe number, as long as you can monitor, means the cat sees more healing greens. But having said that, we do see cats following SLGS get regulated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Yum just gave me a 109 at PMPS +4 on my alphatrak2. This would be a "healing green" on a human meter. Can I go to sleep? 68 is a lot lower than 109. Or should I try to test her again in an hour?
 
I do give her treats, every time. Just now she didn't run away and I got the test done (169). I guess it's just the AMPS where she freaks out and won't let me get near her. Maybe she feels anxiety when her BG spikes in the morning.
 
I do give her treats, every time. Just now she didn't run away and I got the test done (169). I guess it's just the AMPS where she freaks out and won't let me get near her. Maybe she feels anxiety when her BG spikes in the morning.
Could be possible. Glad she's at a safe number. Sleep well!
 
Congratulations on Yums entering the 'healing numbers' zone - its the place to be :cool:
I guess the TR protocol pushes them to very low normal [alphatrak2=68, human_meter=50], which is lower than the SLGS protocol [human_meter=90], in the belief this will make remission more likely.
Is my understanding correct?
The way I see it, the TR protocol seeks to have kitty below 120 ( the top end of kitty normal) as soon as safely possible and keep the BG in the normal range ( 50-120) as much as possible. In this way healing can take place and if its in the cards - remission.
Also, the progression from 4u to 4.25u went so smoothly, after I held the 4u for 5 days: I would like to see that easy slope again.
During the course of your journey together Yum may have other ideas. You may have heard the term "sugar dance" in reference to treating FD. It is indeed very much a dance, one that Yum is leading.
And I still worry that the path to a minimum matters---going slow delays improvement of course, but does it also doom recovery?
I hope not.
Why tempt fate?
Being newly diagnosed (less than 1 year) is an advantage - make the most of it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top