4/28 Walter PMPS 178 / Mandarin PMBG 232 - home from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

I am incredibly relieved that my baby boy is back home with me and that his dental went well. Mandarin lost all of his remaining teeth though. Sixteen in total. His mouth was a mess. Lots of gingivitis. Several teeth were loose. One of his canines was fractured. There was significant gum recession. Three molars had furcation exposure. He had several resorptive lesions. I can't believe that he never even showed that he was in pain.

He is pretty pathetic at the moment though. He hasn't shown any interest in food. I will give him Bupe in a little bit and I hope that he will feel well enough to eat after that.

I also haven't started him back on Insulin yet. At this point, I will make sure that he is eating consistently before I give him any juice.

What a week! I am physically and emotionally exhausted. So glad that tomorrow is Saturday!!!
 
Glad to hear the dental went well. I'm sure that's gotta be painful and pain can elevate BG.
BK ran low during his first dental (30!). Although he was 335 at +24 I waited until +35.5 to shoot-and then it was slightly over 1/2 dose. I too wanted to make sure BK was was eating consistently before resuming insulin.

Sending speedy incident free recovery vines Mandarins way :cool:
 
Tons of healing vines for Mandarin! Poor baby!! I think that at one time in his life before us Rusty had 10 teeth removed at one time, and then there were more extractions. He has 5 teeth left. I guess that's 5 more than Mandarin!
We hope he will heal swiftly and learn how to eat without teeth.
Here's to your brave boy:cat:
 
Ah poor Mandarin! That's amazing that he had all those bad teeth and didn't show any discomfort!
Happy that he's back home and hopefully the bupe makes him comfortable enough to eat.
 
I was going to suggest baby food - Harvey found that easiest to eat after extractions - but if he's eating moist food you're good. Did you add a little more water than usual to it?

Cinco had basically no teeth left his last year or so - most of them were lost through resorption. It didn't slow down his eating one tiny bit! I'm sure, once the pain is gone, Mandarin will be eating like a champ and his BGs will come down.

Sending healing vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top