4/28 Tarragon AMPS 320 - INSULIN QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Tarragon has been hanging out in the 300's for the last day. He tinkled outside of the box in the night, which he hasn't done in months. He was very restless last night and couldn't quite get comfortable. Hoping it is just a phase from the dose reduction.

I have a question about the insulin. I know there is a sticky about it, but I just wanted to make sure with all of you. I have had the bottle of Lantus for 45 days. It has always been refrigerated. How long will it actually last? It is still clear, with no floaties.

Thank you for all of your help! Hope you all have a great day!
 
Good morning.
I am wondering if Tarragon has a UTI? Going outside the box and being restless may be symptoms.

I saw noted on your ss that your vet suggested you lower the dose. I do not want to go against your vet I am not sure why that was suggested.

Some people discard their insulin after 30 days but others use it longer. You might want to start a new one to make sure the higher numbers are not from the insulin loosing it's potency.
 
There isn't an answer to your question. The manufacturer will tell you to discard after 28 days. Beyond that, you need to evaluate if the insulin stops working.

I also gotta tell you, reducing the dose is not the way to deal with bounces. You can evaluate the dose reduction but I will be very surprised if you'll see numbers improve. I would give this dose a full 4 cycles and if Tarragon's numbers are still above 300, I would suggest increasing the dose back to 0.75u. Some of the behaviors you're describing sound like Tarragon isn't getting enough insulin. Please test for ketones.
 
Thanks guys! I tested for ketones this morning and he was clear. I agree with the dose though. She was convinced he was on too high of a dose. My DH and I have decided that we are going to go with the protocol and put him back up to the .75U. He is on antibiotics right now for tummy problems and has his last dose tonight. However, it was an antibiotic specific for that. I am betting he also has a UTI from the way he acted last night. He has been on and off antibiotics for UTI twice over the last 2 months. I will call the vet this morning and see if I can get an antibiotic for that.
 
Before you throw more ABs into the mix, was a cytocentesis (needle inserted into the bladder in order to get a sterile sample) and culture and sensitivity (C & S) done? Just giving a cat a random antibiotic can contribute to antibiotic resistant strains of bacteria. Also, many cats have cystitis which causes pee problems but is not treated with ABs. You might want to take a look at Dr. Lisa Pierson's info on urinary track health.
 
The last two times he was antibiotics they did insert the needle into his bladder to draw out urine and tested it. He was shown to have bacteria in his urine. I have a call into the vet and will talk with her about it. He did go about 2 - 3 times last night in the box, in very large quantities. When he was first diagnosed, he was just going small amounts all the time here and there, but nothing substantial. Since he has been on insulin, he only goes about 5 - 6 times a day but it is a good full flow. His behavior last night was almost back to the prediagnosis days, where he was very jumpy and couldn't get comfortable. I wonder if it has more with the dose decrease than any bladder issues.
 
It may be dose-related. For some cats, they get "adjusted" to higher numbers. As their numbers start coming down, they get comfortable in the lower ranges. If they jump back up, for whatever reason, they are then uncomfortable at higher BG levels. If they could only talk!
 
Hi guys .. I'm sorry tarragon wasn't feeling his best last night .. you got a lot of good advice here about maybe raising the dose .. I will say that with mocha we rarely ever got more then 28 good days out of a pen .. her numbers would always creep up .. sometimes we did not even make it the full 28 days before we switched .. have a great day guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top