4/28 TAFFY-AMPS 184/+2 158/PMPS 312/+3 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-24-taffy-amps-403.176871/#post-1947540] Last post

Have not posted in a few days. It's been up and down this week for both Taffy and me. taffy is okay, just his numbers up/down. It's been work and migraines for me and we are having crazy winds in SoCal that are KILLING me...allergies! I can't stop sneezing! Taffy got an increase and #s have been a little lower here and there but I have not been able to test frequently or feed on a strict schedule. He seems to feel ok. I also fed him his first whole quail (well, I gave half to see how it went first). He loved it! I fed him in the shower and he gnawed and chewed and crunched and gulped it down in no time!

I will go update his SS now, but I have a question. I saw a little blood on the needle tonight after I injected. Is this bad? I know some vets on YouTube say to inject and draw back the needle to make sure you don't get blood in the syringe (meaning you hit a vein, I guess) and then inject insulin, but I have never seen that mentioned here. It's no biggie, right? He did not feel anything, no reaction.[/URL]
 
Also, I can increase again soon, or should I get some more mid-cycle tests first? I am really sucking at this, lately, and I feel very guilty. I just cannot seem to wake up and test in the middle of the night and I am gone in the day. I hope next week I'll have a little lighter schedule.
 
Sorry you have been feeling less than stellar, hopefully those winds will die down soon and your allergies will subside.
Glad taffy loved the quail!!!
 
Also, I can increase again soon, or should I get some more mid-cycle tests first? I am really sucking at this, lately, and I feel very guilty. I just cannot seem to wake up and test in the middle of the night and I am gone in the day. I hope next week I'll have a little lighter schedule.
I got no advice for dosing or insight about the blood in the needle. Hopefully someone will come along who knows about this stuff.
You could change over to SLGS if you feel you can't get enough tests in. No point in feeling guilty and getting worn down isn't really a good option either. Every now and then I feel like I have hit a wall physically and emotionally. I think a lot of these feelings come from lack of sleep.
I have considered changing to SLGS at times, as long as I can keep Uncle safe I will have to be good with it.
 
Sorry you have been feeling less than stellar, hopefully those winds will die down soon and your allergies will subside.
Glad taffy loved the quail!!!
Yes, ugh, the winds are really kicking up the allergens! I am trying to avoid taking Zyrtec or Benadryl bcuz I recently read that they are bad for brain health, esp in middle age and up. I am taking every herbal and homeopathic allergy remedy in my cupboards!

Taffy did love the quail. It was fun to watch him. I took video, but it's on my phone.

Have you ever hit blood when injecting?
 
Oh, we cross posted. I was over reading Uncle's updates.


My main problem. Lack of sleep and home stress.

What is the "main" diff with SLGS??
I would need to read up on it again, but my recollection is that you are keeping them in higher numbers. Holding the dose when nadirs are between 90-149, in general alleviating the need to test so much throughout the day and night. I think SLGSers do weekly curves instead of obsessive testing we do because we are trying to keep their nadirs lower. Of course ALWAYS testing befere each shot.
Here is something straight outta the SLGS sticky:
"We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90, so there is no need to push a cat into numbers lower than that."
 
I'm here. Just was away from the PC for a while.

About the blood, Julie: You probably nicked a capillary. It doesn't happen a lot, but it does happen. If you'd hit a vein (very unlikely), you'd see a LOT of blood, not just a drop. No worries.

As far as the dose goes, that's a tough one. With you not able to test more right now, I'm hesitant to suggest an increase. While we don't like to see pink numbers, Taffy is hitting blue about half the time. You might want to wait until you have a couple of days when you can monitor before increasing. Nothing wrong with switching to SLGS for a while - run a curve once a week and make your dosing changes then (unless Taffy says otherwise). Of course, if you're able to get a random test here and there through the week (in addition to AMPS and PMPS, of course), that will help clarify the picture.

Don't stress yourself out too much - you have to be able to have some quality of life, too.

I don't officially have allergies, but I've had nasty post nasal drip which has caused coughing the past couple of days, and I'm gonna blame it on the wind (which is really bad today) and the pollen! That's my story, and I'm sticking to it!
 
I'm here. Just was away from the PC for a while.

About the blood, Julie: You probably nicked a capillary. It doesn't happen a lot, but it does happen. If you'd hit a vein (very unlikely), you'd see a LOT of blood, not just a drop. No worries.

As far as the dose goes, that's a tough one. With you not able to test more right now, I'm hesitant to suggest an increase. While we don't like to see pink numbers, Taffy is hitting blue about half the time. You might want to wait until you have a couple of days when you can monitor before increasing. Nothing wrong with switching to SLGS for a while - run a curve once a week and make your dosing changes then (unless Taffy says otherwise). Of course, if you're able to get a random test here and there through the week (in addition to AMPS and PMPS, of course), that will help clarify the picture.

Don't stress yourself out too much - you have to be able to have some quality of life, too.

I don't officially have allergies, but I've had nasty post nasal drip which has caused coughing the past couple of days, and I'm gonna blame it on the wind (which is really bad today) and the pollen! That's my story, and I'm sticking to it!
Thanks for the reassurance about the blood. I honestly was not too worried.

I really wish I could get Taffy regulated better and was hoping for remission possibilities, but I do need my life (and my sleep) and he is older and maybe I just have to keep him safe and happy. As log as he is eating, peeing/pooping, and rolling over and purring for me, I think we are doing ok. When this all started back in October, I was trying to make some major life changes (move) and that has all been on hold mainly due to Taffy ($$$ and time of FD). I don't "blame" the FD completely, but it has def been a roadblock/detour. (I also help an elderly friend who has increasing dementia, so that is another reason I have stalled.)

I hope the winds here are letting up. I literally could not stop violently sneezing for about an hour today!!! I hope your "non" allergies let up, too!!
 
I took Cinco to see a noted endocrinologist at UCDavis, who was the head of the Internal Medicine department at the time. One of the things he told me was to remember not to get so obsessed with the numbers that I lost sight of the whole cat. If my kitty was happy and feeling well and his numbers were in a reasonable range, then that was good and no need to stress. There was a lot of value in that comment, I think.
 
Wow, +3 = 326
I was kinda expecting lower #s tonight, but it is higher than PS. I wonder if it was the poke? Maaaybeee he got some kibble, but I don't think so. I also let him have a little more quail earlier. I think I need to make sure he does not get too constipated from the bones before I feed more.

I hear the winds picking up outside again. Ugh.
 
Awesome YOU TUBE!
Very impressed by both of you. Taffy is so cute! I wish Ozzy's mom could see this.
I love it how he takes a break and just when you think he's finished he starts eating more :p
 
Sorry, I was on my desktop and a thunderstorm came up suddenly. I had to shut it down and switch to my tablet. With SLGS you don't test as much and your reduction number is higher (90) so you shouldn't have to worry about him going too low if you can't test during the night. I used SLGS because I couldn't test at night during the week and stay awake for work. I got my night time tests in on the weekend. If you need a break you can switch to SLGS for a while and then switch back to TR later.
 
Adorable video! And Taffy is beautiful, his avatar doesn't show how handsome he is! What a great idea to have him in the shower for easy clean up. He is really enjoying himself. :cat: I love the way the music hesitated and resume when he did! Thanks for sharing such cute video.

It's a good idea to not increase until you can be sure to by able to test.
 
Oh, how did you get the music put to your video? I figured out how to do a UTube video but don't know how to get music to it.
I have an app on my phone for editing video and adding stuff like music. It's called "VideoShow". I am not very good at using that either!
 
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top