4/28 Simon PMPS 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
DH and I went out of town over the weekend for his birthday. I was really nervous leaving Simon in the hands of our pet sitter so soon after he had a flare up of pancreatitis. She was able to give him fluids and insulin, but couldn't test his BG. I reduced his dose for the weekend and I think that went ok because he was only 89 when we came back. I was expecting numbers in the high 300's at least. She was not able to pill him and put his meds in pill pockets. Unfortunately, he did not always eat them so did not get all of his cerenia, Pepcid, and ondansetron pills. For the most part, he did well up until the day we were coming home. Then his appetite decreased and he didn't eat his food. Luckily, that all resolved itself when we came home and I got everything put back in place as far as his meds. He is now doing really well and looks good and is eating everything. Yay! I am keeping the cerenia going every day for another week and then will go back to once every other day. Ondansetron and Pepcid will stay at 2x/day indefinitely.

One thing I learned is that unfortunately, I don't think DH and I can go anywhere longer than a weekend right now. My baby just gets too upset and stressed.

Things are good this morning. Simon got fluids and he is happily sitting in his bed next to Missy.
 
I'm glad you were able to get away, even though it was for a short weekend. That's more than I have the courage to do! It sounds like Simon is very happy to have his beans back home, too. I'm so happy to see he's feeling much better!! Have a great day, Georgia!
 
Hi Georgia,
I'm glad that Simon did OK while you were away. It certainly sounds like he is happy to have you back home!
We don't go anywhere unless Rusty goes with us. Fortunately our set-up is such that this is possible. But we no longer are able to travel as we did in the past (probably just as well, since travel is so much more expensive now:p).

Have a fine day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Morning Georgia :coffee::coffee::coffee:

I am so glad you were able to get away for the weekend, and a celebration with DH. All in all it seems like it went well. I was grateful just to be able to get away for a day. it is hard when he have FD kitties at home. For me, that day was enough. I hope you guys had a great time. It is nice too that you had someone that could come and care for him. and Missy.

Simon, looking good this morning. You surf well today. 'K?

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Glad you got away. I haven't even been gone a night in 7 years due to a cancer kitty and now Max. It's okay. You learned that you can. I also suggest that you give gelcaps a try to see if your pet sitter will be able to give them. It sounds like more trips are in store for you. :) You also learned it's too soon to stop the support meds for pancreatitis. Valuable info. Have a great day.
 
It is good to hear that you were able to get away if only a short time! Tiger has chronic pancreatitis as well, the pill pockets work for us, for the most part, but if I ever have to board her again, (which I will need to do this summer) I will see about injectible famatodine and cerenia. You might look into it since Simon is already getting fluids. I didn't realize this before but even ondansetron comes in an injectible form and it supposedly lasts longer as well.
 
Thanks everyone for the words of support and also knowing that I am not alone being nervous about leaving my kitty for more than a couple of days. The last time DH and I went on a week vacation was right before Simon was diagnosed 4 1/2 years ago. Thank goodness that I have DH because I don't know what I would do when I have to travel for work or go someplace with my mom. We make a good team. My family thinks I am nuts revolving my life around Simon, but that is ok. I have no problem being known as the crazy cat lady in my family!
 
You've earned that crazy cat lady badge - be proud! :):) Glad to hear Simon is feeling better. It sounds like he did pretty well while you were gone and it was good for you to get away, even for a couple of days. :bighug:
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top