4/28 Silver AMPS 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-27-silver-amps-257-pmps-232.194751/#post-2179665

ETA: you could do a modified curve... a +2, +4...if nothing showing do a +8 and +10 - or something like that.

Well actually I can't. I do have a life outside this diabetes and cannot chain myself to the house every Saturday to do a curve. I need a break from all this stress before I have a breakdown. My parents are also sick and there's only so much I can take.

I will get a few extra tests in as time permits. What I meant by excessive testing were those spreadsheets where testing is done every single hour when the cat is nowhere near green. I do not believe that is necessary or kind to the cat.

I'll get some extra tests today where I can. I do have to go out. But it's a little pointless when his depot is unsettled and I already know he does inverted curves. This is fact. His preshots are his nadirs. So getting in tests that show him increasing into higher yellows seems a waste of time and strips.

Will be buying more insulin today to rule that out as being a possibility for the higher numbers.
 
I understand how stressful the recent events with Silver have been and we all need a break sometimes. I understand that you think you know exactly what is happening where you don’t test, but my point to you yesterday was that having a dental could change what you think you know because it could change what is happening in Silver. It has been the case for many cats before him after getting a dental.

However, I don’t think it’s fair to pass judgement on how someone else monitors their cat, you don’t know their cat or their situation, despite how it may look to you on paper. I don’t think any of us enjoy pricking our cats at all, ever, but it is part and parcel of diabetes management.

Speaking as someone who tests a lot, Asia can go from red to green in 3 hours, :nailbiting: if I had the luxury of knowing when she would do that vs not, it would be a great thing, but it’s not my reality. Since I am trying to keep her tightly regulated (which requires closer monitoring because of low greens) it is my responsibly to do that safely.

Titrating insulin is usually done by a vet. The reason we are able to do it well and safely is because we monitor. Part of that responsibility is knowing how low the dose takes your cat which while it doesn’t require monitoring every hour of the day, requires some attempt at finding out by doing a curve or two when you can. Finding how low a dose takes your cat is one of the few inflexible pieces of either TR or SLGS, it’s the basis for almost every move we make. If you choose not to do that, nobody can stop you, but it’s unnecessary to disparage the people that are.
 
I understand how stressful the recent events with Silver have been and we all need a break sometimes. I understand that you think you know exactly what is happening where you don’t test, but my point to you yesterday was that having a dental could change what you think you know because it could change what is happening in Silver. It has been the case for many cats before him after getting a dental.

However, I don’t think it’s fair to pass judgement on how someone else monitors their cat, you don’t know their cat or their situation, despite how it may look to you on paper. I don’t think any of us enjoy pricking our cats at all, ever, but it is part and parcel of diabetes management.

Speaking as someone who tests a lot, Asia can go from red to green in 3 hours, :nailbiting: if I had the luxury of knowing when she would do that vs not, it would be a great thing, but it’s not my reality. Since I am trying to keep her tightly regulated (which requires closer monitoring because of low greens) it is my responsibly to do that safely.

Titrating insulin is usually done by a vet. The reason we are able to do it well and safely is because we monitor. Part of that responsibility is knowing how low the dose takes your cat which while it doesn’t require monitoring every hour of the day, requires some attempt at finding out by doing a curve or two when you can. Finding how low a dose takes your cat is one of the few inflexible pieces of either TR or SLGS, it’s the basis for almost every move we make. If you choose not to do that, nobody can stop you, but it’s unnecessary to disparage the people that are.
I didn't. You clearly misunderstood me. Just because I disagree does not mean I am disparaging. Seriously. Everyone has the right to disagree. This is not a dictatorship here.

And when I say I've had enough and need a break that is not up for discussion. I know my cat and I know to take him to the vet when he is sick. The vet himself says I test too much.
 
I think Stacy. makes a valid point about our kitties patterns changing after a dental. I have seen it happen many, many, many times.
It's been two weeks since you last did a curve, so running a curve is overdue, I suggest this in the interest of safety. Silvers, safety. Especially in light of the dental procedure.

@Tracey&Jones suggestion is very reasonable, and would second that suggestion, we all have lives outside FD Juliet, your situation is not so different as you might like to think. Look at what she writes in her previous post, and it's plane to see that it comes from a good place, believe it or not she cares about Silver. She is not suggesting you 'Chain yourself to the house'. Seeing as the only time you can get any midcycle data is at the weekends, and in light of the recent Ketone episode, what she is suggesting is very, very reasonable (no need to jump down her throat). Last weekend you did not/ were not able to (I would check, but as you limit access to your profile it is too time consuming for me to check) get any extra tests in, in fact it's been 2 weeks since you last ran a curve, so in my opinion, it is long overdue. I am not unsympathetic to your situation, it is really hard to be the sole carer of an FD kitty especially when you are working long hours (you are not the only one in this situation), and I appreciate that there are times when you must just be screaming out for a break. In light of the recent dental/ketones, I just don't think this weekend is good timing for a break.

I am sorry that your parents are not well and that the whole situation is adding to your stress, I have been there.

Of course it's your right to disagree, and you do what you can, when you can. But I do have to say that it's not kind of you to pass judgement on other folk who test their cats more frequently, in the same way that we do not perhaps know the ins and outs of your situation, neither do you know the ins and outs of their situation, so perhaps you can take a deep breath from time to time (believe me I often do) before passing comments that might be construed to be hurtful (none of us are doing what we do to be hurtful to our kitties).

I could go on........ but I won't.

I hope that you can see that the reason I comment is
1) Because I care about Silver
2) Because I care about this community (it has been a life line for me)

Take it how you will
 
I'm so reluctant to post this but going to anyway. Yes it is all very very stressful, I think everyone here has had their breaking points and it becomes all too overwhelming. That is one reason we lean on each other to get through those tougher times and everything in between;). No one in my circle ever understood the FD dance and what it took to keep Beenie safe. The time it took, the lost sleep, the stress which sometimes was so unbearable.
I don't follow every day but just looking at Silver's SS a curve hasn't been done in 2 weeks. Just something to consider; take one of the weekend days all to yourself but try and commit to the other day to get a curve in. I'm all for skipping this once in a while because life happens and we all have other commitments. In Silver's case with ketones present and her levels on the rise I think that time is not right now. Just my 2 cents. You ultimately make the decisions but I like you turn to this board for help and guidance and I think that is all @Stacy & Asia was trying to give, sound advise and guidance. :bighug:
 
I am unable to do a curve either day due to prior commitments. And once again my comment about testing was entirely misunderstood. People are so quick to judge and jump down my throat. I am now unfollowing my own thread.
 
Everyone does what they can and they feel is right.

I don't get a perfect curve in every weekend and I really don't do PJ parties either for my own health reasons.

I have a commitments on the weekend too! That is why my curves are really never complete curves. When you work all week you have things that need to get done on the weekend. Being alone makes things harder.

Hope you have a good Saturday.
 
Last edited:
@Juliet you do what you can do. We all need breaks at times. Everyone reaches a point that they must step away or change up the routine for whatever reason. Its how we beans need to recharge. Just know, we here, can be your sounding board, shoulder to cry on, person to lean on. Only we who live through this can truly understand the amount of stress and dedication it takes. And when a wrench is thrown in how it all can change in a nano second.

Hang in there. Recharge.
 
Everyone does what they can and they feel is right.

I don't get a perfect curve in every weekend and I really don't do PJ parties either for my own health reasons.

I have a commitments on the weekend too! That is why my curves are really never complete curves. When you work all work you have things that need to get done. Being alone makes things work.

Hope you have a good Saturday.
I poat d a comment about cartridges in the main forum. Can you take a look? I think you know the Canadian style and could help.
 
I'm sorry things are so stressful right now. All we can do is the best we can do to take care of our kitties and still have a life. Just get tests in when you are able and take care of yourself too. I hope Silver's ketones come down soon. His body has been through a lot lately with the ER and the dental. It may just take a little while for him to get back on track. I hope things get better with your parents soon. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi @Juliet
I'm glad you were able to get some tests in yesterday, seems he was high and flat yesterday. I hope Silver is doing well after the dental. Is he still eating OK? How is he in himself?

I'm raising all this because after reading @carfurby post I noticed that on 4/26 ketones were at 4.7 (moderate), I hope that they have come down, while he is still running relatively high and flat as he is, and as we can assume that there will still be some residual inflammation from the dental, just wanted to remind you to keep monitoring those ketones closely. If it were me I would do it daily until they disappear, staying on top of the monitoring is especially important
  • if he is showing signs of inappetance and not getting enough calories (possible if his mouth is sore)
  • If he is off
  • if he has infection or inflammation (probable inflammation after the dental)
  • If BG is running high (though bear in mind that ketones can develop even when BG is in relatively low numbers)
As you know when a cat has had a problem with developing ketones previously they are more prone to developing them again and they can go from moderate to high in a blink of an eye, so if you can stay on top of them, all the better.

I'm sorry this is in yesterdays post, being in europe I'm up very early your time, and as I am going to be busy the rest of today, I didn't want to miss Silvers next condo, and not mention the above.

I hope that you were able to decompress yesterday and are feeling less stressed today. Hope your little one is doing well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top