4/28 Rocky PMPS 119 +2 125 +3 102 +9 150

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon!

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117913&p=1236342#p1236342

Not a whole lot going on here on the Rocky front, but A LOT going on here otherwise.

His liver wore a red cape for a lot of hours last night signaling it's 'save Rocky' BG. He may have switched to Batman's black cape for a little bit in the overnight hours but I wouldn't know because i went to bed at 12:30am. I didn't wake up until 6am.


I think Rocky and I might be riding out a bounce in this AM cycle but I'm really not sure.

Rocky spent A LOT of hours down here in green on the Earth Plane from about 12pm on 4/25 through at least 11am on 4/27. :mrgreen:

This morning's shot will be 3 shots with the (f)1.0u.

Something interesting happened last night before his PMPS shot last night though, but maybe it was just a 'wobble' from the bounce. On 4/27 at AMBG +23 his BG was 460. Then, one hour later at PMPG (before his shot) his BG went down on it's own to 415. Maybe that was just a meter variance. Then I fed him and gave him his shot. His BG came down slightly more, to 409, and then it zoomed into outer-space, again.

I probably won't test him much today as he it looks like he is riding the wave of this downward BG pretty slowly, which means I don't need to worry about a sudden drop.

Yesterday's SS recap. Not a lot of numbers to look at:

AMBG 73 +13 83 +18 223 + 23 460
PMPS 415 +1 409 +3 492 +9 365
 
Re: 4/28 Rocky AMPS 361 +2 321

Thank you for the kind words yesterday. This process is hugely stressful -- especially at the beginning. I once commented to someone that sleep was vastly overrated. If you look at Gabby's SS from our first year, you'll appreciate just how little sleep I was getting.As you get to know Rocky's patterns, it will be easier to not test as frequently.

In looking at Rocky's SS, I'm not sure that you should have taken this last reduction. Here's what I'm seeing:
  • 4/24 - shot 1.75u in AM with drop to 39
  • 4/24 - BCS dose of 1.0u in PM
  • 4/25 - shot f1.50 in AM, drop to 39 during PM cycle
  • 4/26 - reduced dose to f1.25u in AM
  • 4/26 - reduced dose to f1.0 in PM
  • 4/27 - skipped AM shot
  • 4/27 - shot f1.0u one hour early
  • 4/28 - shot f1.0 in AM
You've had several frequent dose changes. This may be contributing to some of the swings in numbers. In evaluating a dose, you want to try to avoid back to back reductions since the depot needs time to adjust and you need to be able to evaluate if the dose is working. What may have been a better strategy is to take the full 0.25u reduction when you saw numbers dropping below 40. Jill noted the following in the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky:

Jill & Alex said:
Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.

  • If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

At this point, hold your current dose let's see how the f1.0u does. If it's looking like the reduction isn't holding, then increase the dose back up.
 
Re: 4/28 Rocky AMPS 361 +2 321

Thanks Sienna. I tried really hard to give the 1.25u dose on the evening of 4/26, but then I looked at the syringe again after I had give the shot and realized what I had actually give him was the (f)1.0u dose. So, I decided to keep it at that instead of raising him back to the 1.25u for the morning's shot.

NOW I DO think I know where to put the plunger to achieve the "straight' 1.25u. I don't think I could make a (f)1.25u as I'm not experience enough with the syringe and plunger to know what that dose would look like. There isn't a marker line on the syringe that helps me with that.

I agree with you, I wish I could have kept the dosing more consistent. My guess is that i will probably be raising him back to the 1.25u at some point in time.
 
Re: 4/28 Rocky AMPS 361 +2 321

Hi there :cool:

Tina & Rocky said:
i went to bed at 12:30am. I didn't wake up until 6am.
Excellent. Fingers crossed you can do that more often.
Tina & Rocky said:
This morning's shot will be 3 shots with the (f)1.0u.
Remember, when counting cycles, if you skip a shot the clock starts over.
Tina & Rocky said:
I probably won't test him much today as he it looks like he is riding the wave of this downward BG pretty slowly, which means I don't need to worry about a sudden drop.
The cycle is still young. . . . ;-)

Thanks for the kind remarks you posted yesterday.
Many were the days and nights I was the beneficiary of the wisdom, advice and kindness of those in the 'class of 2008-2009'
We all know that dealing with FD is no walk in the park. It would probably challenge the patience of Job.
 
Re: Oh no. 4/28 Rocky AMPS 361 +2 321 +9 116

I'm off to feed my four colonies of feral cats right now. And Rocky's BG has just reached a blue number. nailbite_smile :? I thought I'd check before I left the house.

I think lately he hasn't surfed the blue, but has instead thrown me a few blue numbers and then goes to green. However, this could also the be LOWEST number that he shows me on this dose of insulin if it's not enough insulin for him. I think that the blue number means that he has broken the bounce spell though, right? :roll:

I'll be back home in about 2 hours. I hope that he hasn't taken a dive. nailbite_smile

Shot time is about 2 and 1/2 hours from now.
 
Re: Oh no. 4/28 Rocky AMPS 361 +2 321 +9 116

Paws crossed for safe surfing. :cool: Excellent recovery for Rocky. :-D :-D He is both getting over his bounce and his depot for the new dose is filling after that skipped dose.

Glad you got sleep last night. I cherish those nights.
 
Re: 4/28 Rocky PMPS 119

Things look so good for Rocky. He has one or a few high numbers and then goes right back down. You are doing such a good job with him!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top