4/28 Oren; AMPS=277;+4.75=424;PMPS=441;+4.5=207;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
I can't rule out a bit of green in the am yesterday, but can't prove it either. Still, it's been several days at this reduced dose, and I'm wondering if its time for an adjustment back up? :(. He was responding so nicely.

On top of it, i don't know for sure, but suspect i may have oopsed again w/ a partial fur shot. I don't know how, at his last vet visit she shaved two patches for me on his sides and since then I haven't missed any until recently. He didn't feel wet, but i definitely smelled a bit of lantus; not super strong, and it doesn't linger long, which makes me wonder if i just didn't get it under the skin quite enough. Ugh, I should never become complacent that I know what I'm doing. Because I most obviously don't. :blackeye:
 
Last edited:
snuck home for an early lunch and think i confirmed a blasted fur shot. SIGH. :banghead::banghead:.
But now I also realized his breakfast and the 3 small meals this a.m since I left were 7%,
higher than his usual <=5%. (chunky chopped grilled feast(7%) is not the same as chopped grilled feast(4%) in FF!!). So, who knows, maybe it's a bit of both?
 
Last edited:
I shaved Polly's shot spots, I concentrated on every little movement of the injection, and I still had a run of fur shots that had me banging my head against the wall. Happens! (But I do hate the smell of Lantus!)

Oren will get back on track. Give it six cycles or so for the effects of the fur shot to mitigate. We've all "been there, done that."

Marilyn and Polly
 
@pollydoodle Marilyn; thanks for the consoling words, I do appreciate a sympathetic ear! I can't believe i managed to do it. I had such a good run of months, then all of a sudden, 2 close together again. It's so very frustrating!! I know i got some in, maybe even most? but i don't think it got absorbed correctly or something. But anyway, yes, just have to keep on keeping on! sure wish it was possible to just administer insulin as drops on the food or something!
 
only saving grace is PMPS was only 17 pts. higher than 4.75. So he didn't zoom, and maybe some of the problem was the slightly higher carb food? Tonights shot was good. Hope he starts to come down, but I think this is a pokey break night until bedtime....
 
I've gotten on the habit of burying my noise in kitty's fur after her insulin injection just to be sure of a good shot. She always pauses when I do that to give me that "you're a weirdo" look ;)

Fur shots stink but I'm finding out it's not the end of the world, which is nice :)
 
yeah, i ALWAYS smell the site after. Even when I'm confident. Which I probably never will really be! unless he was a mexican hairless, and even then, i'd find a way to give a 'furless' shot!:rolleyes:
 
phooey; glad he's down, but maybe too much too fast? might trigger a bounce? I meant to feed at +2 but missed, and so it was an hr. late; another meal after the 4.5 test and one more coming at +6.
 
Easy does it Oren! There's no prize for first across the line.

Even when I'm home, I feed Neko her mini meals out of the autofeeder. It reinforces that food is there, plus I don't have to remember to feed her.

And don't ask me about fur shots! They come in threes here. :oops:
 
@Wendy&Neko ; given the 2 possible fur shot fiascos recently, what do you think about going up in dose at some point though? I can't prove green yesterday morning, but I wouldn't rule it out either..(pretty much after the first possible missed shot cleared)... its been 6 days since proven green...? but now I have to reset because of today's screw up?
 
The PM shot on the 25th and this morning do look like at least partial fur shots. But you did get 7 shots in a row when you first started this dose. He started green but didn't go back to it. I think you could call it a failed reduction and go back up to 5.75 U if you are able to watch him closely. Normally when we are evaluating a dose, we want to make sure there are at least 6 good cycles in a row.

You might want to edit your subject line and add "dose advice" to see if you can get more thoughts on this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top