4/28 Minnie PMPS 227 +2 319 "I had a great day surfing! Now BOING"

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-27-minnie-call-me-pinkie-today-pmps-251.246692/

She vomited (hairball) at +11 and diarrhea. More vomit as I was poking her for AMPS, didn't see any hair in it. She is hungry and well otherwise. Double checked the AMPS number and got 125. Stalling. Why doesn't the melting ondansetron dissolve in my cat's mouth?? And now she refuses all pill pockets after the spiro. Tried dissolving in water, will see how that goes.
 
If you can monitor, you can shoot. You have shot these levels before.

Is the vomit at AMPS on account of acid build-up from an empty stomach? When did she last eat?
 
Still at 116 after 30min so fed and shot. I can monitor. It wasn't the number that worried me so much as the number + vomit + diarrhea, but she is super hungry and seems well. I suppose it could be empty stomach because I don't know who ate out of the autofeeder but I left small amounts of DM for release at 130, 3, 430 and 6 and it was all gone.

Is plain canned pumpkin ok for settling the stomach for her with the diabetes, or too many carbs? She is eating like a crazy thing again the last couple of days like she did when she had numbers in the 400s. Wondering if pumpkin would have double purpose, settling stomach and fill her up a bit.
 
Definitely worth trying. Start with 1/8 teaspoon twice a day. I have mixed it in food. When I first read about pumpkin many years ago I put out a plate of it for my two cats at the time. Fortunately for me they didn’t eat it. :rolleyes:
 
Still at 116 after 30min so fed and shot. I can monitor. It wasn't the number that worried me so much as the number + vomit + diarrhea, but she is super hungry and seems well. I suppose it could be empty stomach because I don't know who ate out of the autofeeder but I left small amounts of DM for release at 130, 3, 430 and 6 and it was all gone.

Is plain canned pumpkin ok for settling the stomach for her with the diabetes, or too many carbs? She is eating like a crazy thing again the last couple of days like she did when she had numbers in the 400s. Wondering if pumpkin would have double purpose, settling stomach and fill her up a bit.
Hi Liz. How about that Blue AMPS! I'm so glad to hear that Minnie is hungry! Darcy said she should take her Ondansetron. He takes it every day (twice a day). How many carbs are in the DM? I have a little of that on hand here from when the vet tried to get me to feed it to Darcy when he was first diagnosed. If it is palatable then maybe he would eat it. I don't know what the phosphorus level is for it, but I am using phosphate binder with every meal anyway so it probably would not matter. Does Minnie recommend this food for Darcy?
 
I've purchased the freeze dried pumpkin to mix in my cat's food. Some of them like it and some don't (of course, Ginger, who is the one I wanted to eat it, does not like it). We are currently using it on three tiny kittens that we just rescued on Sunday morning. They have diarrhea which is not at all surprising since all they were eating before was rice that somebody from a Mexican restaurant put out for them. Of course, they still need worming, too and I've been too busy to do it. Ugh. Last thing we needed right now is kittens, but they needed us (no mom in sight either).
 
So much to answer!! :) Thanks, everyone
Definitely worth trying. Start with 1/8 teaspoon twice a day. I have mixed it in food. When I first read about pumpkin many years ago I put out a plate of it for my two cats at the time. Fortunately for me they didn’t eat it
Why fortunate - what would a plateful of pumpkin do to them?!

One time diarrhea or has it been there for a few days? You could also start her on S. Boulardii.
It's been a few days - I think the spironolactone started it. It was gradually improving, yesterday was up to 80% solid then this morning they both had it. Not sure what happened though I did give them a mix of foods yesterday. Can you tell me more about the S Boulardii? Dosing recommendations? I started looking and found Amazon had "Premo Pet – Digestive Aid Plus Prebiotic" which is tasteless and mixes in food but no idea of the quality etc of this. Tasteless/mixing into food is my top criteria for Minnie.

Hi Liz. How about that Blue AMPS! I'm so glad to hear that Minnie is hungry! Darcy said she should take her Ondansetron. He takes it every day (twice a day). How many carbs are in the DM? I have a little of that on hand here from when the vet tried to get me to feed it to Darcy when he was first diagnosed. If it is palatable then maybe he would eat it. I don't know what the phosphorus level is for it, but I am using phosphate binder with every meal anyway so it probably would not matter. Does Minnie recommend this food for Darcy?
Suzanne! I know! If I look at her s/s, this doesn't shock me and I am pleased with the trend...I think she likes the 5u but obviously have to wait and watch the numbers. I like the 5u for ease of dosing! Just the combo of lower number with hairball/vomit (I gave her a good brushing yesterday) and diarrhea made me concerned. [Ooh, time to recheck her BG]

The DM pate is 6% and 279 mg P/100 kcals according to Dr Lisa's list. Minnie says she likes it until she doesn't. She preferred the savory selects which is chunks with gravy but unfortunately just over 10%. She is currently a big fan of the Truluxe Peking Ducken which is 9% carb, 29% fat and 195mg P/100kcal. And ssh but right on Amazon they are charging the same amount for the 6oz can as the 3oz can (boo, out of stock til 10May)

Minnie is frankly being a bit of a pill with taking meds. The K powder is easily hidden in food and she LOVED the antibiotic more than anything I've ever given her but everything else is an epic fail. I think my hands are a bit too small to get her jaw in the right position to force it open. Perhaps Darcy will serenade her with "Just a spoonful of sugar" to persuade her to cooperate?
 
I've purchased the freeze dried pumpkin to mix in my cat's food. Some of them like it and some don't (of course, Ginger, who is the one I wanted to eat it, does not like it). We are currently using it on three tiny kittens that we just rescued on Sunday morning. They have diarrhea which is not at all surprising since all they were eating before was rice that somebody from a Mexican restaurant put out for them. Of course, they still need worming, too and I've been too busy to do it. Ugh. Last thing we needed right now is kittens, but they needed us (no mom in sight either).
Suzanne, you are some kind of kitty angel! Are either of your kids thinking of becoming a vet - you are giving them such excellent exposure! And thanks for the idea on freeze dried pumpkin, I will look into that. Amazon loves me.

ETA - is your freeze dried pumpkin "The Poop Fixer"?! Just the name makes me want to get it!
 
Minnie is being quite the diva. Does this mean I have to reduce her tonight to 4.75u? (I know what the rules say....just wistfully hoping some expert will tell me we can hold the 5u)

Feed HC.

And you hold the dose. Minnie is now a long term diabetic (diagnosis over a year ago). So to earn reductions, it is either:
(a) A single drop below 40 OR
(b) 3 drops on 3 separate days (not cycles) between 40 and 50.
 
I've purchased the freeze dried pumpkin to mix in my cat's food. Some of them like it and some don't (of course, Ginger, who is the one I wanted to eat it, does not like it). We are currently using it on three tiny kittens that we just rescued on Sunday morning. They have diarrhea which is not at all surprising since all they were eating before was rice that somebody from a Mexican restaurant put out for them. Of course, they still need worming, too and I've been too busy to do it. Ugh. Last thing we needed right now is kittens, but they needed us (no mom in sight either).
Your a good person Suzanne to take in those kitties. Wish I could foster some kitties but I think my foxhound would go nuts. It took her a while to get used to Susie. Sorry to hijack your post, Liz.
 
Feed HC.

And you hold the dose. Minnie is now a long term diabetic (diagnosis over a year ago). So to earn reductions, it is either:
(a) A single drop below 40 OR
(b) 3 drops on 3 separate days (not cycles) between 40 and 50.
Thank you!

At the 44 I gave 1tsp each of HC, MC and LC. After 30min she was at 53 so gave 1tsp MC (12%). Was going to get another test in 30 and see what's going on (I thought 50 was the magic number for switching?) Is that right, or should I mix in some HC still?
 
I've purchased the freeze dried pumpkin to mix in my cat's food. Some of them like it and some don't (of course, Ginger, who is the one I wanted to eat it, does not like it). We are currently using it on three tiny kittens that we just rescued on Sunday morning. They have diarrhea which is not at all surprising since all they were eating before was rice that somebody from a Mexican restaurant put out for them. Of course, they still need worming, too and I've been too busy to do it. Ugh. Last thing we needed right now is kittens, but they needed us (no mom in sight either).
Your a good person Suzanne to take in those kitties. Wish I could foster some kitties but I think my foxhound would go nuts. It took her a while to get used to Susie. Sorry to hijack your post, Liz.
 
At the 44 I gave 1tsp each of HC, MC and LC. After 30min she was at 53 so gave 1tsp MC (12%). Was going to get another test in 30 and see what's going on (I thought 50 was the magic number for switching?) Is that right, or should I mix in some HC still?
Yes. Usually we switch to lower carbs once they come above 50. But so early in the cycle, she may continue to need intervention with higher carbs. Unless she bounces from here!
 
Re: the diarrhea, the link that @Bandit's Mom gave you has all the info, but get Jarrow's brand S boulardii with MOS and give small doses of it to Minnie every few hours until the runny stool resolves itself. If she's eating up a storm you can put it into her food, my kitties don't detect it. I found making a ball with the slippery elm bark powder mixed with George's aloe to be really helpful with nausea (even better than zofran or cerenia IMHO) AND it should firm up her stool like the pumpkin would. Double duty! I use the chopstick method described in the link to make the ball and then swipe it into Ruby's mouth--it's a pasty and mushy so easier to get her to chew it up and swallow than a pill. If she won't take it that way then syringing but Minnie might not like that right now.

Good luck with it, Liz, and up up up, Minnie! :bighug::bighug:
 
Good catch today!
Minnie is now a long term diabetic (diagnosis over a year ago). So to earn reductions, it is either:
(a) A single drop below 40 OR
(b) 3 drops on 3 separate days (not cycles) between 40 and 50.
One additional way to earn a reduction, is a week in mostly green numbers.

If pumpkin is not to Minnie's taste, some cats will go for babyfood squash instead. Or you could cook your own. Neko loved pumpkin, always came into the kitchen when I was making pumpkin scones.
 
Thanks, everyone. Funny how this seems so much less stressful in the daytime. She had a teeny bit of frickazee after the last test, she's getting a bit grumpy so I wanted to keep her cooperative but will hold off after the next test.

SURFING, Minnie?! That adds a whole new world of songs to her karaoke repertoire....
 
Re: the diarrhea, the link that @Bandit's Mom gave you has all the info, but get Jarrow's brand S boulardii with MOS and give small doses of it to Minnie every few hours until the runny stool resolves itself. If she's eating up a storm you can put it into her food, my kitties don't detect it. I found making a ball with the slippery elm bark powder mixed with George's aloe to be really helpful with nausea (even better than zofran or cerenia IMHO) AND it should firm up her stool like the pumpkin would. Double duty! I use the chopstick method described in the link to make the ball and then swipe it into Ruby's mouth--it's a pasty and mushy so easier to get her to chew it up and swallow than a pill. If she won't take it that way then syringing but Minnie might not like that right now.

Good luck with it, Liz, and up up up, Minnie! :bighug::bighug:

Thank you! I have been spending the time between pokes surfing myself, and had just narrowed down to Jarrow's - trying to find where I can get it sooner than delivery on Monday. I still have my notes on slippery elm with aloe but haven't bought it yet. I asked about pumpkin mostly because I have it in the cupboard (behind 15 stacks of peking ducken...) but I think I'd like to try these options instead. About to read up on the chopstick method. HA - keeping in theme with the peking ducken.

Minnie is a full time job! Diva. I think I might start calling her Mariah... but it does look like she listens to @SashaV. You are the Minnie-whisperer!
 
Minnie is a full time job! Diva. I think I might start calling her Mariah... but it does look like she listens to @SashaV. You are the Minnie-whisperer!
I'm glad to be of help! :D:D:D
However this wasn't what I meant, maybe I'll go easy next time! :p
Welcome to the LT group o_O

Wasn't Minnie just at the vet's? Both your cats have the runners? Just a thought, but isn't that a bit suspicious? I'm thinking she might have picked something up at the vet's office?
 
I think some people use the Florastor brand? It also contains s. boullardi and might be easier to locate quickly.
Apparently that contains lactose and often cats have an issue with it? Have located a place nearby with the Jarrow's - steeling myself that they probably will only have a very large, very expensive size. Just need to find a safe window to go out. Ha, a window of time. I'll leave via the door as usual. Also that website has educated me, sounds like this is not frequent enough to be officially diarrhea. Thank goodness, otherwise I'd need all the windows open all the time. And will try the chicken breast poaching/blending method since they didn't like the baked version. The magic bullet has been the top Minnie-illness investment so far.
 
I'm glad to be of help! :D:D:D
However this wasn't what I meant, maybe I'll go easy next time! :p
Welcome to the LT group o_O

Wasn't Minnie just at the vet's? Both your cats have the runners? Just a thought, but isn't that a bit suspicious? I'm thinking she might have picked something up at the vet's office?
She's been back for (wow) 2 weeks now so I don't think it's that. The med she was on can cause diarrhea, and I just realized she's just finished a couple of weeks of antibiotics. I'm guessing I mixed up the food too much yesterday. All varieties they are used to but maybe not in the same day.
 
The pumpkin can't hurt if Minnie likes it. I've read about metronidiazole or flagyl disturbing the gut biome, so anything natural would be less disruptive to her system than the antibiotic route if you can avoid it. Antibiotics can just cause more diarrhea unless you follow it with some gut restorative probiotics like S boulardii. A more potent probiotic like Visbiome might be a good idea at some point in the future when her diarrhea is resolved along with a prebiotic like Healthy Gut.

The Food Fur Life website as well as the Raw Feeding for IBD Kitties FB group have become my guides for everything tummy related. Our puking is down to a minimum now and no more runny poops since I started following their advice.
 
Suzanne, you are some kind of kitty angel! Are either of your kids thinking of becoming a vet - you are giving them such excellent exposure! And thanks for the idea on freeze dried pumpkin, I will look into that. Amazon loves me.

ETA - is your freeze dried pumpkin "The Poop Fixer"?! Just the name makes me want to get it!
Yes... that is a great name... but I think the one I have is called "Diggin' Your Dog"
 
Thanks, everyone. Funny how this seems so much less stressful in the daytime. She had a teeny bit of frickazee after the last test, she's getting a bit grumpy so I wanted to keep her cooperative but will hold off after the next test.

SURFING, Minnie?! That adds a whole new world of songs to her karaoke repertoire....
Darcy is fond of the Little Surfer Girl song from The Beach Boys!

Little surfer, little one
Made my heart come all undone

Do you love me, do you, surfer girl?
Surfer girl, my little surfer girl

I have watched you on the shore
Standing by the ocean's roar

Do you love me, do you, surfer girl?
Surfer girl, my little surfer girl.....

he want to sing this to Minnie by moonlight!
 
Moon
Darcy is fond of the Little Surfer Girl song from The Beach Boys!

Little surfer, little one
Made my heart come all undone

Do you love me, do you, surfer girl?
Surfer girl, my little surfer girl

I have watched you on the shore
Standing by the ocean's roar

Do you love me, do you, surfer girl?
Surfer girl, my little surfer girl.....

he want to sing this to Minnie by moonlight!
Oh yes, she's gone all weak at the knees. And she will sing back "Moon River"
 
If she's eating up a storm you can put it into her food, my kitties don't detect it. I found making a ball with the slippery elm bark powder mixed with George's aloe to be really helpful with nausea (even better than zofran or cerenia IMHO) AND it should firm up her stool like the pumpkin would. Double duty! I use the chopstick method described in the link to make the ball and then swipe it into Ruby's mouth--it's a pasty and mushy so easier to get her to chew it up and swallow than a pill. If she won't take it that way then syringing but Minnie might not like that right now.

Minnie aka Mariah aka Princess and the Pea detected it in the food at first, so I added more food. I couldn't find mention of chopstick method in that link though. It talks about making the mix then sticking your finger in the cat's mouth - I'm guessing you just use a chopstick instead?
 
Back
Top