4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update** PMPS/383

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
4/28
Micro Meter
AMPS - 374; No shot

I have one hungry boy. Around 5:30am, he threw up a little stomach acid which I would assume it is because he has not eaten. So off to the dentist in about 15 minutes.
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today

Good luck! We will be sending positive vines your way today!
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

I just got a call from the vet and they are not going to do the dental today. The initial tests show kidney disease; something about BUN and creatinine elevated? Also he saw a little blood and pus coming from his nose (which could be from one of his teeth) or something else, they are not sure. I am to pick him up in three hours after they do a urine test and feed him (I gave them some of my food). He also says that the diabetes need to be under control. He said something about a change in diet and with a probably kidney disease, he will need low protein. I told him that he was on higher protein and low carb for the diabetes but I guess with kidney disease you need lower protein. They are going to try first with Clavamox for two weeks. Not sure what else but will find out more later this afternoon. (I posted this update on the health forum too)
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

Not what we were expecting...I'd definitely get his test results and post them on Health. We have lots of people dealing with kidney/diabetes and they can help you interpret them.

And this is a great site for kidney disease with diet etc.

http://www.felinecrf.org/
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

Oh, my goodness, Cindi, you poor love.

Seconding everything Sue said.
There are lots of folks here dealing with kidney issues, and the felineCRF site is truly excellent.

Please update us when you have more news.

Sending you a huge hug,

Eliz x
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

Oh gosh! It just keeps coming huh? There is a lot of support for kidney disease here. I never dealt with it, but I am here to support you! We are all here! Sending healing vines your way.
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

Thank you all for your well wishes. They helped tremendously. I have read quite a bit on Tanya's website already. Great information.

Merlin has a few things going on that concerned the surgeon hence no dental work today. Looks like Merlin falls into the Stage 3 category for CKD. He also has some sort of infection going on in his sinuses which could be caused by a broken tooth and he has a small wart size tumor on the top of his paw. The doctor says that it is definitely not benign (which right now is the least of our concern).

So right now and for the next week, the doctor wants to focus on two things; clearing up the infection and lowering the BG numbers even more. He has requested me to stay on his current diet (no changes), give him Clavamox to clear up the sinus infection and he would like for me to give 1U BID for one week and then perform a BG curve on Sunday (at home) and call him on Monday with the results. After looking at the SS numbers, he feels that 1U is safe and he would like me to administer consistent doses during this trial. He does not want me to test at all until the blood glucose curve on Sunday. Then on Monday, we will determine if there needs to be any more changes or go for one more week doing the same. After two weeks, then we will go from there and possibly make some diet adjustments, blood work and whatever else. He just would like to try this to see if this helps with the CKD indicators alone. BJ on the health forum suggested Friskies Special Diet (low in phosphorous) in which I have given that to him before so I may just get a few more cans of that.

And one more thing...I found out that Merlin is one year older than what I thought according to the vet's record.

So dental work in the near future is out of the question until blood work results improve.
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

I know it's hard to hear advice that contradicts your vet, but with Merlin's unpredictable numbers, I don't think it is safe to stop testing. Stick with the same food, stick with one unit, but please test him. (the vet doesn't have to know you are testing - we wouldn't tell :mrgreen: )

I would never give insulin without testing first. I've seen too many kitties throw unpredictable numbers. And what will you do if he runs in the 500-600s for the next 6 days?

I'd also be sure to test for ketones.
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

I agree with Sue. Testing is really important just in case. My Gypsy was consistently in the 200s and 300s and one morning she threw a 90. If I had given insulin, she would have hypoed. You can definitely do what the vet said, but I would also test just for safety.
 
Re: 4/28 Merlin AMPS/374 - Dental Today **Update**

Yeah I know what you mean - I really don't know what the reason is not to test when especially when it is not a big deal for me or Merlin. I saw a different vet last week and she said the same thing. Not sure but maybe they don't want me to be persuaded to change the dose??? I don't know how I couldn't test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top