4/28 Max amps 203, +4 66, +5 65, +9.75 149, shooting 1hr early, pmps 238

MindyC

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...8-6-5-103-8-127-11-237-pmps-283-2-356.213798/ Yesterday’s condo

So it appears that Max didn’t use a trampoline for his bounce last night. Amps was 203, which is really good, but means at +4 he was only at 66. We have to leave soon, so i gave him a tsp of 14% then. At +4.5 he was holding at 64. I’ll check him again in 10 before we leave and feed more if needed.

We’ll be back in a few hours (have tix for the new Avengers movie), but I need to give his pm shot an hour early again—poor planning on my part. I’m thinking half dose for tonight? Or if his preshot number is still low (like under 200), should I just skip this one?
 
Hi Mindy, good idea with the medium carb to boost him up. Hopefully, he'll just surf into the PM. When you check again before leaving, let the number guide you to if you need to give some more MC food also considering he is reaching nadir.

As far as shooting early tonight , any earlier than 30 minutes with the shot could act like a dose increase. How about you get a +11 and see where he is and post for dosing advice. Enjoy the movie!
 
Hi Mindy, good idea with the medium carb to boost him up. Hopefully, he'll just surf into the PM. When you check again before leaving, let the number guide you to if you need to give some more MC food also considering he is reaching nadir.

As far as shooting early tonight , any earlier than 30 minutes with the shot could act like a dose increase. How about you get a +11 and see where he is and post for dosing advice. Enjoy the movie!
Thank you! I’m not totally sure I’ll get a check in an hour before shot, but I’ll try.

I did feed a little more MC before we left. He was still cruising at 65, but I didn’t want him to drop more. He’s had some cycles where he hasn’t nadired until much later, so who knows what he’ll do? He’s keeping me on my toes for sure!
 
Mindy you are doing great with Max at green level. :)
When I have to leave the house and Bear is surfing green I leave a little food out for him.
I hope all is going well and Max hasn't kept you on your toes for too long.
 
At 9.75 we have 149, which looks pretty darn good to me. I do still have to shoot an hour early tonight though. We’ll be gone about 4 hours (tho hopefully less) after that shot, so should be home to catch him if he goes low again.

I will test him again in an hour in prep to shoot, but unless he goes up over 200, I’m thinking I should give him a .5U token shot. Does that make sense or am I being too cautious?
 
I am pretty cautious myself especially when I haven't had the same situation to compare data to.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) has a lot of experience with reducing for absences.
Shooting an hour early plus absent for 4 hours and Max's BG has been active lately surfing mid level green, would lean me toward cautious.:)
 
Well we’ve got 238 at +11. I’m going to give .75 since it’s early, but I don’t want him to bounce too hard from his earlier numbers and the MC food I gave him. I’ll keep y’all posted when we get home!
 
We’re home. He was 311 just now at +3.5, so we’re good for tonight. I’ll keep an eye on him anyway, but I think he’s looking pretty good.

Tomorrow morning we’ll go back to normal shot time, so it’ll be an hour later than tonight. My plan is to stick with the 1U dose unless someone tells me a reason to change it. I am getting hopeful that we’ll begin to see his curves flatten out a bit in the near future.
 
Hi Mindy. Since you are following SLGS, he actually earned a reduction from the 60 and 64 today. The reduction for following SLGS is 90. And that said, you are testing enough to follow TR which would not give a reduction until he went under 50. As long as there is no dry food in the mix, I would recommend to follow TR so that you can get him into better numbers faster and not have to lower the dose as soon as he gets into green numbers. Also, this is his 2nd time on insulin which makes getting them into remission again harder. TR gives you a better chance. JMHO.

If you decide to follow TR, hold the dose. If not then reduce to .75. But, as you can see, he is just starting to get into some green numbers on this dose.

But you know what is best for you and Max.
 
Hi Mindy. Since you are following SLGS, he actually earned a reduction from the 60 and 64 today. The reduction for following SLGS is 90. And that said, you are testing enough to follow TR which would not give a reduction until he went under 50. As long as there is no dry food in the mix, I would recommend to follow TR so that you can get him into better numbers faster and not have to lower the dose as soon as he gets into green numbers. Also, this is his 2nd time on insulin which makes getting them into remission again harder. TR gives you a better chance. JMHO.

If you decide to follow TR, hold the dose. If not then reduce to .75. But, as you can see, he is just starting to get into some green numbers on this dose.

But you know what is best for you and Max.
Thank you! I’ve actually switched to TR, just haven’t updated my signature. It’s been a crazy weekend!
 
Back
Top