Re: 4/28 Jenks AMPS 197 +5 244
i saw your question just now about why you might hold the dose longer when it didn't seem like it was doing much. How handy that Zeke kinda answered it this morning! And WOOT that you got a blue preshot!!! I sure wish i knew where he was a couple of hours before then - not that any of us would automatically have gotten a middle of the night test like that. i'm just saying.
The general strategy with our newly diagnosed kitties is to increase the dose fairly quickly, using the shorter number of days in between increases until the cat starts seeing blue numbers. then we slow down. you don't want to miss a good dose by going too fast, and some cats seem to settle into doses.
The tricky thing is that you don't want to hold a dose too long either. Holding them too long if a cat isn't getting good numbers just allows the cat's body to get used to higher numbers, and then it takes even more insulin to bring their numbers down. So it's a balancing act.
When we make suggestions, like i did last night, you are always free to do what you want. the guidelines are based upon experience on this site with what has worked with most kitties over the years. they aren't written in stone. we have seen that sometimes once cats start hitting blues, they just need a little more time on that dose, which is why it's suggested like that.
there's something wrong on Jenks' spreadsheet - i think 4/26 is missing, and that might have thrown the the data off. The 4/28 on his ss data doesn't match what you've got here - an amps 197 and +5/244. Can you peek at it and see if you can fix it?
With that amps and the +5 higher, it looks like he might be starting a bounce. Was he even higher at pmps?