4/28 Ella 6+3.5=201+6=118+7=91+8+9=91+11=55

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Last night, I was thinking 0.25, since that is half of the 0.50 we tried last time.
You can go with the 0.10, but I think you'll have to do increases from there, but maybe not.
Since it's the weekend, and you will be home to monitor, I would think you'd want to do the 0.25,
because I (myself) wouldn't want to have to be increasing the dose during the week, next week, while having to leave the house for work everyday.

What do you think?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

eek...you make a good point. i'm nervous dosing her with anything these days. today might be ok with .25 but we know what she does when she clears the bounce. you think .25 will be ok?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Like I said, it's half of the dose of what we tried yesterday, and you skipped the shot last night, so for today, I think it will be okay.
You can also try 0.20, which I also think is a good choice.
You may have to press the Next Picture 9 times to get to the image shown in this picture
http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/ Tell me if the link doesn't work.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

would there be harm in dosing her low and keeping her there regardless of the number all week until we could safely increase next weekend?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

You could do that. She may be in the higher numbers for a week. I would encourage you to get ketone tests daily, if she does. You want to go with the 0.10?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

I dosed her with.25 (what I thought was .25) but depending on her numbers tonight can I decrease or will this make it difficult to see what's going on?
I think she will be ok today but I'm not sure about tonight.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Good Hooting.
You can always do a BCS dose tonight, if you feel like it. Especially, if it looks like she is dropping down from a bounce. It will make it harder to see what's going on with a dose, if you change it again tonight, but at this moment, we haven't had many days of the same dose lately, anyway.
Hopefully, the 0.25 will settle in nicely, and she won't drop as low this time.

Today, get some sleep, while you can, and stock up on different flavors of LC and MC and HC. At least, that's what I would do :-D

I think you can test at +2 to see how this cycle's going along.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Yes, I would consider anything around 10% carbs to be MC. Like the Fancy Feast Medleys are around 10%
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Good Morning and lots of luck with this dose and many vines to you and Ella today. I just wanted to step in real quick and wish you well. I was keeping up, as so many of us are, but didn't want to get in the way, so glad I stopped in early. Ella is one amazing kitty and you and your DH are doing great under the guidance of the wonderful helpers. Hugs.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Awe..thanks Ann:)
We appreciate your kindness and concern. Thanks so much for checking in :-D
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Good Morning Tamara, Greg, and Ella,
I hope all will go smoothly today as Ella clears her bounce. Yes, the FF Elegant Medleys are around 10-12% and are good choices for mc. All the kitties seem to love this food. Stu, my GA kitty, liked the "Turkey Florentine" the best.
I'll be around off and on all day, keeping an eye on you, but also keeping out of the way when/if guidance is being offered by your great team.

Try to get some rest in today and all weekend. You all are doing a fine job. I think that the dose of .25 is a good, safe choice.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Thanks Ella:) I will take advantage of this day to go stock up on some FF. I finally found a store close by that carries everything I need:)
Thanks for checking in on us...greatly appreciated :-D

Hope the weather warms up for you and Rusty today!

T & E

ps: you are part of my great team:)
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

Another suggestion for this weekend: I would try to get her shot time to a place where you can do an AMPS and a +2 before you have to leave for work in the morning. Meaning, if you have to leave at 8:00am, then try to get her shot time to at least 6:00am (or even 5:45am, so you have some play room built in), that is if you can be home by 6:00pm for PMPS.

This is how I figured my shot schedule (but we're using Levemir, so the +2 isn't the same for us). The latest I get home from work (usually) is 6:00pm. So, I choose 6:00 for AMPS and PMPS, which gives me an opportunity to do a little stalling if needed, and if not, room for a +1 and/or a +1.5 if needed before I'm out the door at 7:30am.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403

I do have to move the shot times back. I was planning on shooting at 6:15 today and should of known that I would have to fumble with the air bubbles ect.
Moving the shot time to 5:45am would allow me to get a +2. My only concern is that there aren't always people on the board at 5:30am to advise if needed and these last few days it seems like I need a bit of direction:) At this moment in time, I think I'd rather wait until you and others are around for support if needed. If I have to leave a bit later on some days..well so be it:)

Is it safe to move shot times back by 15 min regardless of the number?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

+2=484 Boo hoo!!!! Poor Ella:(

Good thing I shot .25 u

Edited to add: is it safe to keep feeding her breakfast when she is so high?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

I can be on the board at 5:30am, for you (most of the time - some weekends, I need to sleep in, but can always get up to check on you before going btb). I generally like to get a PM +11 or so, on J.D. especially on days I have to leave for work, so I can log on at that time.

That's enough Ella. Turn around, little girl.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

It's OK, Tamara! The shed has to be refilled (with an amount approximating the new dose: .25) before insulin can be utilized to bring down the bg. Also, at +2 the Lantus is just beginning to kick in. So we'll see today how much insulin was left in the shed after it was supposedly depleted by skipping the shot last night. And we'll also see how long it takes to break the bounce. Keep in mind that this will not be a "typical" cycle (but then, nothing has yet been typical!). Take good notes, especially on what you feed Ella and when you feed. I hope she likes some of those foods you chose for her! :smile:

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Yes, it certainly is safe to give her all of her breakfast. She needs to eat.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

Tamara, I have been trying to get up to speed on what is happening with Miss Ella and it certainly seems like you have had your hands full lately. You and DH are doing an incredible job and so many people are giving you great advice. Good job on shooting the .25 this morning.

Now, Ella...you are also doing an incredible job but you can start coming down some now.

I think it is important to continue giving Ella her normal amount of food even though her bg is higher. Just make sure it is lc.

I also use the Elegant Medleys for mc food for Simon. He loves it and wishes he could eat it all the time.

Hope you have a wonderful, calm day!
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

That's sweet of you Dyana but I don't want to put any pressure on my angels...especially on our precious weekends:) Perhpas I can get the insulin ready for what I think the dose should be and then adjust accordingly if needed when you hop on?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

Hi Georgia,

Thanks for answering my question regarding food:)
There's definitely a lot to catch up on...my condo has been extra long the last three days due to all of the excitement on this end.
I'd like Ella to come down too. Here's hoping she was listening to me read her the protocol before bed :-D
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

Sending lower number vines down hwy 401 from Cambridge!

Sure does seem like Ella and Lucy are on a mission! You're doing awesome!
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

Morning all
Wishing you much luck with the new dose. I too think .25 was a good choice. What Ella wrote about the shed is on target: She will come down from those high numbers today. You've done great with Ella. I look forward to seeing what she will do with the new dose.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

i agree with the choice of .25u. good call. she's writing her own book, so we're just trying to learn from her at this point.

about the 484 - consider that this is the number she'd have been at at this point if you hadn't shot her anything. the lantus would just beginning to onset about +2, she should start her curve down soon. and yes, you probably won't see the full action from this dose until the next shot or so.

this wouldn't be considered a bounce, just a lack of insulin from having skipped the shot.

enjoy your day!

ps, i'm glad you read her the protocol for her bedtime story last night! :lol:
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

Well let's see if she was paying attention to the bed time story!
I thought she was listening but when I asked her to summarize what I said she just stared at me :smile:

I don't want to poke her too much today and I'd also like to conserve the strips if she's going to be 'high" for a while. What tests would be helpful to see today?

Wishing you and Punkin a great Caturday:)
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

i'd probably get a +4, +6 and depending on what you see a +9 (or something late afternoon around then) maybe. if the +4 is still over 400, maybe go to +7 instead. if we knew more of her patterns and thought she'd be high all day, i'd probably have a "save a strip day" and just check once and preshot tonight.

in ella's case, she seems to come down rather dramatically, so . . .
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

we're almost at +5 so I'll do one in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

good call...+5=327
next test still 3 hours?
Geez...if she goes lower than this at pm it may be too high of a dose. Just thinking back to what she's thrown us the last couple cycles after her shed starts filling up again.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484

tpr said:
good call...+5=327
next test still 3 hours?
Geez...if she goes lower than this at pm it may be too high of a dose. Just thinking back to what she's thrown us the last couple cycles after her shed starts filling up again.
But, the last three times you shot, you gave her 1.00, 0.75, and 0.50. This time you are giving way less insulin, so she shouldn't dive as much as before. Please make sure you tell Ella, she is getting way less insulin, so she shouldn't dive as much as before.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327

+7=347...

Ella and I are napping the day away...
Getting up to be somewhat productive now:)
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347

Good afternoon Tamara, Ella, and Greg!

What a team!!! I'm very glad you shot the .25u given her numbers today.

One food I really like alot that Gracie does also and works super for managing her curve is Wellness Core chicken, turkey, and liver (or maybe it's chicken liver)...anyway...there are only two Core flavors..one is this one and the other is salmon. It's a really great 8% food. Comes only in a 5.5 oz can.

Wishing you lots of rest today. Thanks for the night off last night :lol: :lol: :lol: I'll be rested for tonight ;-)

And that Dyana IS an angel....any hour of the day.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347

Thanks for the top Marjorie!
You'd think I'd be out and about taking advantage of these high numbers but I'm pooped! I'm having a super lazy day so far but will have to get up and at em soon.

OT: The other day when I was poking Ella, she shook her head and a bit of her blood managed to get into my mouth...yuck!
I put water in my mouth and then spat it out...I hope!
I tried searching the internet to see if there was any harm in that and didn't find anything but I thought I'd post here as I'm sure I'm not the only one that's ever happened too...or am I?
Does anyone have any info on this?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347

Ooh and another question: If Ella is not eating as well as she used to and carbs have a direct affect on insulin, then would it be beneficial for her to be on a higher carb diet (more than 4%)?

Just thinkin' over here:)
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306

+9=306

I am heading out. It seems Ella is in the pinks today so I'm going to get some stuff done. I will try my best to do a +11...if not I'll be doing PMPS at around 6:15pmand would like to shoot at 6:25 (15 miuntes earlier) so I can get back on track:)
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306

haven't had that happen (blood in the mouth) but i doubt there's any concern, especially since you rinsed out.

i would keep her on the LC diet for the rest of her life.

unless something entirely weird and crazy happens, like she's under 100 at shot time, you would stick with the same .25u as this morning. "normally" in following the protocol you don't reduce unless the cat goes under 100. barring that, you repeat the dose. of course, this past week with ella has been anything but normal. so, never say never!

it's fine to move your shot time up a few minutes.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306

Hope you enjoy your time out!

Questions:
1. There are very few diseases transmittable between cats and humans (I'm thinking Toxoplasmosis for one). I've gotten Gracie's blood on my lips before and I'm still alive and kickin! I think you are fine :-D

2. What is most important when you are giving insulin is being sure the kitty gets food. Some cats do fine on the super low carb food like those that fall in the 0-3% range. What you are looking for is the calories and to make
sure she gets ample calories. The % of calories from carbs is important in food management. Some cats do not require alot of food management; others do depending on how carb sensitive they are. You would increase the %carbs
to control the curve.

The best example I know to give is Gracie because I know her so well. When we started out and she was on lantus, I was giving her 1-3% carbs and she was diving like crazy. I increased the %carbs to 4% and added a feeding schedule
to slow the dives and it helped alot. Now on the levemir, I give her 4% as her standard food and use 8 and/or 10% to manage her curve when she is dropping or I need to bring her up.

If you increase the %carbs for Ella, then what you would most likely see is raising the curve overall. This would be something we would suggest for a cat that we need to get just a little more insulin in to flatten out the curve. We might suggest that for someone whose kitty needs less than .1u but can't go without insulin quite yet. By giving a little more carbs and raising the curve, the caregiver can keep them on insulin a little longer. I'm not convinced we are there with Ella. And it's difficult to know if her high numbers now are solely due to lack of insulin but also have a bit of a bounce in them.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306

Ella pmps 291

ok so we've seen a high number at pre shot before and that last few doses have gone down hill. I'm a bit nervous to shoot her the .25. Is it wiser to slowly decrease the dose or increase the dose?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

The 306 is pretty much the same number as the 295, so she's pretty flat.

Good, your ss says you shot. Good Hooting!

I think, it's better to see how the new regular dose of 0.25 goes with Ella this weekend when you can be home to monitor
than to reduce the regular dose once again to 0.10 this weekend, and worry about having to do an increase in dose all week, while you'll be at work and won't be home to monitor.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

ok something strange just happened. i just got a urine test and it said she had neg glucose in her system. I thought my meter might be wonky so I used the alphatrak and it said her bg was 243. I thought the AT was supposed to run 20% higher?! Why is the urine test telling me she has no glucose when she has been in the pinks all day? I'm having a hard time trusting my tools here.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

Yay Ella has a shootable number!!!!

Had to stop in quickly and see what she was up to. I had a thought about her yesterday for the wiseones to consider. I don't think this call is ready to be made just yet but the next few cycles might make the picture clearer on whether this is something to consider (i.e. if she goes too low again on .25 tonight and then does the same again on a 0.1 dose). Since the lantus seems to last such a long time in Ella I am wondering whether she would be one of the very unusual cats that would do well on caninsulin. This is not usually a good insulin choice for a cat because it doesn't last long enough (all action usually finished by the 8 hour mark) but in Ella it might last through the whole 12 hours...
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

i don't know about the urine - that is strange, because it measures urine that's been collecting in the body for the previous several hours. the timing on reading strips is pretty precise - maybe that was an issue if you waited to read it? or maybe the strip is just a bad one. sometimes we get bad blood glucose strips.

the AT seem to vary. i've heard 30 points higher for an AT, but people who have compared the human meters and the AT don't necessarily see a consistent difference. Amy/Ruby recently did a large comparison and found the AT was usually higher, but there were a lot of variations in how much higher.

i use one meter and just stick with it. you can make yourself crazy trying to compare them, because it seems to be common for them to not read the same, unfortunately.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

tpr said:
ok something strange just happened. i just got a urine test and it said she had neg glucose in her system. I thought my meter might be wonky so I used the alphatrak and it said her bg was 243. I thought the AT was supposed to run 20% higher?! Why is the urine test telling me she has no glucose when she has been in the pinks all day? I'm having a hard time trusting my tools here.

AT should run about 30pts higher but there is an acceptable variance (to the manufacturers not us!) of 20% for meters and the two tests weren't taken at the same time so I don't think there's cause for concern there. The urine strips on the other hand I would be concerned about. If I recall there has been another occasion in the past few days where you got neg glucose when she had been running higher. I would get some new urine strips while you're out getting food today - from a different chemist and a different batch number in case there has been a problem in transport and/or storage.

You haven't been storing the meter or urine strips in the fridge or let them get too hot yourself have you?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

I'm worried that the AT reads higher and that Ella's bg is acutally lower than it says on the human meter. I will get a +1.
I did a urine test earlier and it showed high glucose so perhaps it was a bad strip although it showed neg ketones. If the AT is right than she has begun to swan dive within 20 minutes of her shot. I wasn't able to get her shot in earlier tonight as greg and i were trying to figure out if we had .25
I'm still finding out a way to be consistent with the dosing. Should i just count the drop from .5 to what I think .25 is? I mean , even the drops can be inaccurate.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

No the strips are in a dark place at room temp. I did a test earlier and it showed me high so I think they should be ok. I can test them using a coca cola and water mix.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

Good idea to get a +1 I was just thinking that myself :-D

You just try to be as accurate and consistent as you can with the dose, you are never going to be able to get it perfectly right every time. So just pick your method and stick with it - for 0.25 I just did it by eye.

Good that this batch of urine strips has showed something before so more likely a bad strip than the whole lot is bad. Next time you can get a urine test use two or even three strips to test the urine, particularly if my recollection was correct and you previously had a negative that should have been a postive.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

I agree with you Serryn, she does seem to get a long duration from Lantus.
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

I'm getting down to the end of the bottle and before I was on the board I was told to agitate it slightly before use. Is it possible that there could be a concentrated amount of insulin left in the bottle? Can you tell I'm thinking of all the possibilities here:) ?
 
Re: 4/28 Ella amps 403 +2=484 +5=327 +7-347+9=306pmps 295

tpr said:
I'm getting down to the end of the bottle and before I was on the board I was told to agitate it slightly before use. Is it possible that there could be a concentrated amount of insulin left in the bottle? Can you tell I'm thinking of all the possibilities here:) ?

No, if anything agitating it would have lessened the effectiveness. I did that with my first bottle and it pooped out halfway through. Lantus isn't a suspension type insulin - like caninsulin which you do need to roll before using.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top