? 4/28 Dave PMPS 304, +6 135, +7 131 - Should I be worried about drop after food?

Status
Not open for further replies.

panda28

Member Since 2017
Hey there, Dave and Jacqui again. I'm a bit worried about his numbers, seeing as he got 70g of 3% carb at +6, but has still dropped since then. I have school in 5 hours, so I won't stay up if it turns out I'm just being overly cautious, but I'd rather ask now instead of panicking in the morning. Basically, is it worthwhile me giving him some more LC now?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-yet-pmps-4-277-6-205-amps-214-dosing.176990/
 
Last edited:
Hey there, Dave and Jacqui again. I'm a bit worried about his numbers, seeing as he got 70g of 3% carb at +6, but has still dropped since then. I have school in 5 hours, so I won't stay up if it turns out I'm just being overly cautious, but I'd rather ask now instead of panicking in the morning. Basically, is it worthwhile me giving him some more LC now?
Hi,
are you talking about drop 26/4 PM cycle +6 = 135 to +7 =131 after 70g meal?
No snacking is needed now.
You may want to take +8 test - it'll be more revealing as to where Dave is going, but I would let the food to be absorbed for a little longer. If he has eaten his 70g after the +135 reading then is is all right.
And I strongly advice to take the +11 and, of course, the AMPS tests.
There were some posts from your fellow Aussies; I will tag them to this post - time wise they are better advisers.
I like that blue nadir. :) Someone may need to be ready for tomorrow testing during the day - you might see some good number and it's good to monitor since you and Dave a new to it.
 
Hi @Tara & Ivana
@Bron and Sheba

Apologies for the middle of the Australian night tag THIS is NOT AN EMERGENCY but apparently none of you could get in touch with Jacqui who is concerned about tomorrow test times, food and mostly the dosage.
Her shoot time is about 7 am/pm Australian time (?! sorry I am bad with time zoning:oops:) and she then goes to school for the day. It was my understanding that her mum could test/post but I am not sure if it was a permanent arrangement.

Would you be able to be online to help Jacqui at around her preshot times?

Dave, her kitty's dose was recently increased to Fat 1U and he was seen Blue nadir along with Yellows. Jacqui was also worrying about dosage since he went too low (43) once and that he is now completely on low card wet food. They are new, and patterns are not very well known yet and some experienced close-to-home guidance would be extremely helpful for them.

Again, apologies for tagging you both in the middle of the night. I might not be online later on. :) On top of that, I am new here myself.

Jacqui, here is Tara's reply to your older post:
Thanks for the tag @@Bobbie And Bubba, sorry I'm so late to see it! @@panda28, if you haven't already, check out the second link that Bron posted in the previous message. I personally contacted all of the food manufacturers to get accurate up-to-date data about a year ago, I don't think much would have changed since then. Some manufacturers never got back to me after multiple messages, so I guess they don't really want the diabetic business... but there is still ample choice available :) Hope it helps!

Whereabouts are you? I'm on the Central Coast of NSW, just north of Sydney. You're welcome to message me anytime if you need :)
 
Okay, at 40 minutes after the +7 (7.6?) he's 140. I'm guessing that means he'll be fine until +11, and there'll be someone at home with him tomorrow to test as often as needed. I'll probably come back in the morning to get dosing advice.

Edit: Mum will be able to test him during the day long term, it's just hard for her to get AMPS +1 and +7.
 
Great, and good plan for tomorrow.:)
I think that tiny lowering you saw @+6 - +7 has something to do with the fact that digestive works slower at night. I always thought it was true for humans, but my kitty Ducia has proven me wrong - I noticed it only a couple of days ago. Dave might be the same but ECID.
I tagged someone from Australia - hopefully they will see your post in case no one here in the US is online.
Good night!
 
@rhiannon and shadow (GA)

I am sorry to bother on your very special day for Shadow Rhiannon,
but here is young girl from Australia who has to go to school in a couple of hours but keeps testing her kitty Dave who is at +7 and +8 shown some lowering AFTER being fed.
Both her and I are new and would appreciate experienced view on things.
When should Jacqui get her next tests?
Should she be keeping the same increased dose for the morning?
She is at school all day and it's her mum who tests, email the results to Jacqui and then Jacqui posts it here for advise.
The time difference with Australia complicates things a little.
 
You are good to catch some sleep.:) Beautiful surf, Dave, way to go buddy!
Make sure, please the +11 and +2 are in tomorrow.
The dosing seems to be working well!
:bighug::bighug:
 
@rhiannon and shadow (GA)

I am sorry to bother on your very special day for Shadow Rhiannon,
but here is young girl from Australia who has to go to school in a couple of hours but keeps testing her kitty Dave who is at +7 and +8 shown some lowering AFTER being fed.
Both her and I are new and would appreciate experienced view on things.
When should Jacqui get her next tests?
Should she be keeping the same increased dose for the morning?
She is at school all day and it's her mum who tests, email the results to Jacqui and then Jacqui posts it here for advise.
The time difference with Australia complicates things a little.


where is her link?
 
i just posed on yesterday....

here's what i said....


Dave is looking good.... always good to have blues....
no need to panic..... its not low green.....

try not to feed anything for the next 2 hours before shot time..... you want it to not be a food influenced number.

if he's green by then ( i don't think he will be) post the preshot.....
I'll be around to stay with you if needed....
 
Ok. :)
Higher than PS so might be a quiet cycle. It is still the food number though..
@Kris & Teasel I would take the +4 as well but probably you are all right till +6. I understand it's not you to do testing.
Let's see what others think about test timing.
 
I assume you mean he's 223 after that AMPS? If the +2 is higher and there's no other issue going on, I generally test again around nadir and then PMPS. I think you can give the ears a break during an uneventful cycle.
 
OK :),
thank you for posting this.
I hope you will get a chance to put it all in Dave's SS :) when you have the time.

Please do not feel discouraged by this Yellow cycle, I think that the dose is good, really!

Keep posting here and in Dave's SS (!!), it's very important. We are watching and cheering for you, guys! :) And are worrying if we do not hear from you :).

Jacqui, pls post any questions you might have, or concerns on the LL forum, either start a new one (date first) or re-write you title and keep the old one if it's more convenient. I will be getting off line soon and would fell better if you know how to operate here.

If you do not get replies you need just do reply to your own post (not to be mistaken for updating your original/old post, it DOESN'T work!) . Type whatever you want in the empty Reply window underneath your original post and hit the "post reply" button @ the bottom of the right corner. This way your post will go up on the Board and the ppl who are available will see it. Make the ? your prefix - this way you get more attention.

I hope your day isn't too tiresome after all that testing/ worrying you had to do.

Best wishes for you and Dave.:bighug::bighug:
 
OK :),
thank you for posting this.
I hope you will get a chance to put it all in Dave's SS :) when you have the time.

Please do not feel discouraged by this Yellow cycle, I think that the dose is good, really!

Keep posting here and in Dave's SS (!!), it's very important. We are watching and cheering for you, guys! :) And are worrying if we do not hear from you :).

Jacqui, pls post any questions you might have, or concerns on the LL forum, either start a new one (date first) or re-write you title and keep the old one if it's more convenient. I will be getting off line soon and would fell better if you know how to operate here.

If you do not get replies you need just do reply to your own post (not to be mistaken for updating your original/old post, it DOESN'T work!) . Type whatever you want in the empty Reply window underneath your original post and hit the "post reply" button @ the bottom of the right corner. This way your post will go up on the Board and the ppl who are available will see it. Make the ? your prefix - this way you get more attention.

I hope your day isn't too tiresome after all that testing/ worrying you had to do.

Best wishes for you and Dave.:bighug::bighug:


I really appreciate all the support you've given Dave and I. I'll make sure to post here if I need anymore help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top