4/28 Champ AMPS 367, +6 141, +9 254, PMPS 379, +2.5 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I'll be honest...not a fan of the color pink. In fact, I'm completely sick of it. It really looks like he's going nowhere. I increase the insulin, his numbers pretty much stay the same, or get worse. I really wish he would at least show gradual signs of improvement so I could see a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel.

But, he was one hungry little kitters this morning. I didn't have to get up until it was time to feed and shoot at 6 this A.M., but he was hungry at 4:30 and, therefore, I wasn't allowed to get any more sleep. He wouldn't just lie down next to me and give me a kitty cuddle, oh no, he had to walk around my head, smack his tail in my face, and just basically make a nuisance of himself!! :lol: :lol:

Two days ago, my daughter was home and had opened her bedroom window which looks out into the front yard where there's a big tree. Champ sat in front of that window all day just smelling the smells and listening to the chirping of the birds. We don't normally open windows in Las Vegas because we have two temperatures, boiling hot or very cold. Intermixed with that are gale force winds (rarely just a gentle breeze). Well, it's been perfect weather here for opening the window. I noticed yesterday that Champ was sitting for hours in front of that window. He couldn't lie down because then he would be below the window. So I set up a little viewing area that was exactly windowsill height so he could lie down and watch the action and smell the smells. That is his new favorite place. Unfortunately, we all know the ugly hot weather is right around the corner and I'll have to close that window, but, for now, Champ is one happy kitkat.

I hope everyone has a fantastical fursday!! :-D

I posted the following paragraph last night, but put it in today's condo so I could vent about it once again:

Well, time to find a new vet. When Champ was diagnosed, I was told to start him on 3u b.i.d. and then after three weeks do a "curve" (AMPS, +4, +8 - some curve) and call in with the results. I started him on the 3u b.i.d., found this message board, and reduced him down to 1u b.i.d., gradually building up by 0.25 to his current 2.25 (still needing to increase), while doing BG checks multiple times a day. So the three weeks were up last week. I called on Tuesday of last week and was told Champ's vet was on vacation that week. Kind of hard for me to call with any info when she's on vacation, huh? So I leave a message for her to call when she's back at work the following Monday, which was Monday of this week. I didn't receive a phone call. I called on Tuesday and was told that I was on her schedule to be called that day. I didn't receive a phone call. I just knew (!!) she would call yesterday. I didn't receive a phone call. So she told me to inject my cat twice a day with 3u each time, not check his BGs at any time during the day except for one day to do a "curve," and she can't call me back to ask how he's doing? Hmmmmm, yeah, I'm ticked off.
 
Re: 4/28 Champ AMPS 367

Open windows are lovely! We have a screened in lanai (porch) and that is where Zoe hangs out most of the time - except when it gets too cool. 100 degrees - she LOVES it!! :cool: :cool:

I hate that pink color too - it is just a very pretty color on these kitties of ours.

I would be ticked off too - our current vet is wonderful. We email every couple of days and she checks Zoe's spreadsheet out on-line, returns phone calls the day I call - yeah, she's wonderful! I hope you are able to talk to the vet today or maybe start looking for a new one! Good Luck!
 
Re: 4/28 Champ AMPS 367

Hi guys .. I know the color pink is rough to see, especially on what seems like a long term basis .. we have all felt that frustration so you aren't alone ... Yeah, definitely sounds like time for a new vet .. I just wish I could read more stories on vet's that are right on target with this board, it just doesn't seem to happen very often ..

That is funny about champ checking out the window .. We had a cat bed thats in a basket we bought the girls for Christmas several years ago .. they never touched it, not once .. then one day I was vacuuming and picked it up and set it on top of their cat condo (also never touched) it somehow is the perfect height for the window in here, right next to me and the computer .. well, all of a sudden the basket became the best thing ever invented for these kitties and it is almost always occupied by one of the kitties .. and if the other one wants in and it's occupied they look so lost .. not sure what to do with themselves when they can't just lounge in their bed all day!
 
Re: 4/28 Champ AMPS 367

Isn't it funny about baskets with cats! I had a huge basket that somewhat had given me with a bunch of christmas goodies in it. I had emptied it out and left the basket on the floor of my office. It didn't take Champ five minutes to curl up in that thing and make it his. That basket finally fell apart and it took a long time for me to be able to find another basket that was big enough for him cuz he's so huge. I bought him a cat bed...he wouldn't touch it. Thank goodness the basket he has now is very heavy duty and should last him his lifetime. His avatar picture shows him in his "cat tree" perch. In our old house, I had the cat tree sitting next to the window in my office which was on the second floor of the house. He had this wonderful view of everything that went on in the neighborhood. In our new house, my office window looks out to the side of my neighbor's house...nothing exciting to look at there!! I've tried to convince my daughter to let me put the cat tree in her room by the window, but she refuses!! I guess it just doesn't go with her decor. :lol: :lol: At least she let me put up a little cat perch by the window for Champ.
 
Re: 4/28 Champ AMPS 367

There is something so peaceful about the places cats choose to spent their time. Billy used to have a cat perch that looks like the one in your avatar! It's so nice that Champ can have his own little spot by the window. Nothing beats a window! :lol:
 
Re: 4/28 Champ AMPS 367, +3 238

So...any eyes wanna take a look at Champ's SS? Was that a mini bounce last night, kinda high and very flat?
 
how have you not had any posts since this morning? i guess the chatter was on your question regarding insulin ordering.

i looked at champ's SS - i don't see a bounce - looks to me like a new dose wonkiness, but i am definitely not the Master of The Bounce or the Reader of the Spreadsheet. how long are you supposed to hold a dose when you're increasing?

thanks for your help today re the new vet - i appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top