4.28 Bella amps 107,+2 82,+3 48,+3:15 58,+3:45 73,+5 90,+7:20 169, pmps 221,+4 134

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm glad you'll be home to keep an eye on him today-- this is exciting! That +2 is a bit lower than the pre-shot, so if it were me I'd do a little "helicopter mom" this morning, at least until you figure out where he is on the bounce-breaking trajectory.
 
Adding a bit of detail to the above: I'm being aggressive on this because it is only +3. What we're seeing is probably still mostly bounce-breaking, but this morning's shot is or will soon be kicking in, and we don't know how big an overlap there will be. (eventually, he will of course bounce again from these numbers and things will take care of themselves).
 
I agree with Nan. Once you see a lime green then some HC is in order. You can add honey, Karo, etc. to his regular food. I put a few Temptations on Teasel's LC when this happens - works well for him.
 
I agree with Nan. Once you see a lime green then some HC is in order. You can add honey, Karo, etc. to his regular food. I put a few Temptations on Teasel's LC when this happens - works well for him.
I put honey on my fingers and rub in his mouth, he won’t eat honey on his own
 
Unfortunately, I can't be around this morning, I have to leave in a half hour :(. I'm sure someone else will be along soon to keep you company with this [edit: and here's Kris, yay!].

Yes, re-test in 15-20 (it takes a little while for the food to have effect). You're doing great (as is he!). As Kris says, don't over-feed right now-- he doesn't need all that much, and you may need him to eat "on command" for a while yet today.
 
Only gave 6 tt treats and little bit of honey, nothing else
Is there something in his body that says hey we r getting low and his body is supposed to react to that??

Yep-- same thing as the "bouncing" phenomenon you are all-too-familiar with! That will kick in eventually, we just want to be careful and not count on that reaction when there's insulin on-board.
 
Only gave 6 tt treats and little bit of honey, nothing else
Is there something in his body that says hey we r getting low and his body is supposed to react to that??
If you mean what causes a bounce, then, yes. His body will go get glycogen in his liver and turn it into glucose and dump it into his bloodstream. That's what causes the high bounce number after a lower BG. It's not a perfect process. They sometimes overdo it and bounce way too high and if they stay very low too long they can run out of the stored glycogen and can't prop themselves up. That's what can lead to a true hypo. Bella will be fine because you're there helping him with carbs. He doesn't have to deplete his body's glycogen supply.
 
I'd keep in lime green, so you can look back at a glance and see that this was a time he went "low".
I agree with Nan. Leave the lime green so it's very visible. What I've done before is to change the colour of the number itself - ie., colour the 58 a dark green within the lime green cell. Not that important but niggley details like this are something I like to fiddle with.
 
Now the question is... like yesterday if his amps is around 100, test, shoot, test before I leave, if going lower give temptations and he should be ok? I don’t want to worry at work
 
Now the question is... like yesterday if his amps is around 100, test, shoot, test before I leave, if going lower give temptations and he should be ok? I don’t want to worry at work
You'll learn today how long those HC treats help to prop him up. Unfortunately these numbers are only a guide and another cycle could play out differently. Patterns are easier seen when you have a ton more data in similar situations on your SS. Your autofeeder will help.
 
You'll learn today how long those HC treats help to prop him up. Unfortunately these numbers are only a guide and another cycle could play out differently. Patterns are easier seen when you have a ton more data in similar situations on your SS. Your autofeeder will help.
I’m working real hard to get him used to it, he’s scared of it, I put his fav. Rabbit treats in it, any suggestions on training him?
 
I’m working real hard to get him used to it, he’s scared of it, I put his fav. Rabbit treats in it, any suggestions on training him?
I'm not an expert but maybe try taking him to it multiple times when it's not doing anything and rewarding him. Then take him when it's open but not moving many times and finally as it opens. Stay with him and reward him. Eventually let it open with something he loves in it. It could take dozens of tries over a few days but you'll get there in the end. Right now my friend and I are working on getting one of my stable owner's horses to accept having a halter put on her. That's exactly the approach we take: break it down into teeny tiny steps and work at each step individually until it becomes "OK". Like treating diabetes, going slow will get you there in the end. Rushing just doesn't work.

Also - check out YouTube videos on training a kitty to an autofeeder. I'm sure there'll be something to look at.
 
Congrats on the reduction! Great week with doing TR!

Here's what I did to get my guys used to the auto feeder. I programmed it to the times that I would feed them. Then I took them to it with food on a saucer right before the auto feeder would open up. They started to associate the sound with getting fed. I did that a few times then I put food into the feeder and they jumped right on it.
 
Congratulations on the reduction, I had a feeling he was heading that way (hence my concern yesterday morning) I'm glad he had an active cycle and earned his reduction today when you were home.:)

(sorry I wasn't around this morning, busy trying to tame our garden!! the weeds are growing like triffids)

I'm glad you got a break last night, he's clearing those bounces quickly.
I haven't really got any suggestions about training, George is so food obsessed that it was plain sailing when it came to the autofeeder. I like @Bobbie And Bubba suggestion, if he can associate the noise with the reward of food, I can imagine it will override his fear.

The temptations are a useful tool if you need to bring his BG up in an emergency, on TR though you really want to be using HC wet (sorry to be a nagging nelly, but it is a prerequisite of TR that he not be on any dry, the main reason being is that dry can, in some cats, take rather long to clear the system, so it could cloud his BG patterns)

Well Done Bella and Bellasmom (sorry don't know your name)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Nice to have an on the line dose for a change:)
 
Congratulations on the reduction, I had a feeling he was heading that way (hence my concern yesterday morning) I'm glad he had an active cycle and earned his reduction today when you were home.:)
:D Me too. I just had that feeling. It is why I posted that I suspected the bounce would break and she would be shooting a low(er) number!

Congrats :bighug::bighug:

Job well done.

With the reduction tonight and shooting it again in the AM hopefully it will be enough to drain the depot a bit and bring those numbers up above lime green.

Need to get yourself some wet MC & HC food.
 
Congratulations on the reduction, I had a feeling he was heading that way (hence my concern yesterday morning) I'm glad he had an active cycle and earned his reduction today when you were home.:)

(sorry I wasn't around this morning, busy trying to tame our garden!! the weeds are growing like triffids)

I'm glad you got a break last night, he's clearing those bounces quickly.
I haven't really got any suggestions about training, George is so food obsessed that it was plain sailing when it came to the autofeeder. I like @Bobbie And Bubba suggestion, if he can associate the noise with the reward of food, I can imagine it will override his fear.

The temptations are a useful tool if you need to bring his BG up in an emergency, on TR though you really want to be using HC wet (sorry to be a nagging nelly, but it is a prerequisite of TR that he not be on any dry, the main reason being is that dry can, in some cats, take rather long to clear the system, so it could cloud his BG patterns)

Well Done Bella and Bellasmom (sorry don't know your name)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Nice to have an on the line dose for a change:)
So I reduce tonight? My name is Jamie
 
:D Me too. I just had that feeling. It is why I posted that I suspected the bounce would break and she would be shooting a low(er) number!

Congrats :bighug::bighug:

Job well done.

With the reduction tonight and shooting it again in the AM hopefully it will be enough to drain the depot a bit and bring those numbers up above lime green.

Need to get yourself some wet MC & HC food.
Doing that today, that’s why I need to go out
 
Yes, the drop below 50 on a human meter earns him a reduction on TR.
So tonight's dose would be 1u.:)

Just a reminder, make sure you check his BG two hours after you gave the HC treats, in some cases, once the effect of the HC has worked its way out of the system their number can drop again. (the 2 hour thing is with wet HC, given that it was dry treats, it's a little bit more of an unknown)
 
Congratulations on the reduction, I had a feeling he was heading that way (hence my concern yesterday morning) I'm glad he had an active cycle and earned his reduction today when you were home.:)

(sorry I wasn't around this morning, busy trying to tame our garden!! the weeds are growing like triffids)

I'm glad you got a break last night, he's clearing those bounces quickly.
I haven't really got any suggestions about training, George is so food obsessed that it was plain sailing when it came to the autofeeder. I like @Bobbie And Bubba suggestion, if he can associate the noise with the reward of food, I can imagine it will override his fear.

The temptations are a useful tool if you need to bring his BG up in an emergency, on TR though you really want to be using HC wet (sorry to be a nagging nelly, but it is a prerequisite of TR that he not be on any dry, the main reason being is that dry can, in some cats, take rather long to clear the system, so it could cloud his BG patterns)

Well Done Bella and Bellasmom (sorry don't know your name)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Nice to have an on the line dose for a change:)
Omg, I did get fancy feast with gravy, didn’t even think about it, so used to temptations or other dry food as the TR is so new to me, I got it last night, just told DH we had to get some ff gravy he said I did last nite and I did!
 
Yes, the drop below 50 on a human meter earns him a reduction on TR.
So tonight's dose would be 1u.:)

Just a reminder, make sure you check his BG two hours after you gave the HC treats, in some cases, once the effect of the HC has worked its way out of the system their number can drop again. (the 2 hour thing is with wet HC, given that it was dry treats, it's a little bit more of an unknown)
I did and we are at +5 now, it was 90
 
Omg, I did get fancy feast with gravy, didn’t even think about it, so used to temptations or other dry food as the TR is so new to me, I got it last night, just told DH we had to get some ff gravy he said I did last nite and I did!
I remembered you saying you were getting some yesterday, thought maybe the store had been out of stock LOL
Don't sweat it, there will no doubt be a next time.
I did and we are at +5 now, it was 90
upload_2018-4-28_16-19-2.jpeg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top