4/28 Alice AMPS 231 / PMPS 467, dose increase 4u to 4.25u

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-27-alice-pm-vomiting-amps-231-2-488-hi-all-day.213801/

Shot 4u. I was too tired last night to review dosing by quarter unit increments to feel comfortable with it this AM. Will go up to 4.25u this PM?

What do you do when there's a tiny bubble stuck in the syringe? How does that affect the quarter unit dosing? I mean I could get a bubble out of NPH in a syringe without a problem, but with the Lantus they don't seem to want to move as easily.

She started begging this morning when she heard me up (I had to make her wait an hour!), and she was purring and chipper. Back to herself, had a huge bowl of water/food mix, about half a can of friskies total.

She's my happy miss again.
 
Yay Alice!!!!!!! Let us know if you're able to get a ketone test in. I hope you're able to rest today as well.

You can try pulling back the plunger and back to the top before you draw up insulin so any air in the syringe is squeezed out. As well, the proper thing to do is to draw up more insulin than needed and squirt out the rest quickly into the air to knock the bubble out. Also, flicking the syringe before doing that will move any bubbles to the top. Pulling back fast also helps give me a greater chance of not drawing up air.

But... I do the improper thing where I just squirt the insulin right back into the cartridge to get rid of the bubble. Not good because it can mess with the insulin's potency/longevity because the syringes have some type of lubricant in them. But I use such a large dose of insulin that if there's anything messing with the longevity of the cartridge, I'll have used up the insulin by the time anything happens and I try not to do it unless I'm having a hard time getting that darn bubble out! Do at your own discretion though :woot:
 
Last edited:
Yay Alice!!!!!!! Let us know if you're able to get a ketone test in. I hope you're able to rest today as well.

You can try pulling back the plunger and back to the top before you draw up insulin so any air in the syringe is squeezed out. As well, the proper thing to do is to draw up more insulin than needed and squirt out the rest quickly into the air to knock the bubble out. Also, flicking the syringe before doing that will move any bubbles to the top. Pulling back fast also helps give me a greater chance of not drawing up air.

But... I do the improper thing where I just squirt the insulin right back into the cartridge to get rid of the bubble. Not good because it can mess with the insulin's potency/longevity because the syringes have some type of lubricant in them. But I use such a large dose of insulin that if there's anything messing with the longevity of the cartridge, I'll have used up the insulin by the time anything happens and I try not to do it unless I'm having a hard time getting that darn bubble out! Do at your own discretion though :woot:
I feel like I have tried all of these things, but maybe too gingerly. I'll fiddle around. I think I'm always nervous I'll squirt out too much too. Then I don't want to reinsert the needle into the pen in theory and such, so??
As far as @ own discretion goes, though, I understand! Every situation is a different one. Different needs!
 
+2 241
was up 10 from AMPS

Happy alert purring chirping hungry, all food with added water.

Where can I find info for measuring out quarter increments? Will need to research between rest!
 
After her increase last night her +2 was HI

Then, regrettably, I was sacked out exhausted and had trouble getting up much at night for feeds and check ins and I didn't end up getting another test.
 
Back
Top