? 4/28/19 Olive AMBG 164 DO I SHOOT; +6.5=301; PMPS 360

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Ollie is nauseous, vomited 4 small foam amounts. Not eating, sniffs but doesn't eat. Gave cerenia.

Do I shoot? How much? Or skip? I can be off schedule by 2 hrs if need to.
 
Last edited:
Can you stall and keep trying to get her to eat? Hopefully the cerenia will kick in soon and she'll be able to eat. I'd be nervous about giving insulin with her not eating.

Same here. Especially with her dose, She is always a chow hound, very food motivated.
 
Okay coming up on 2 hrs and still not eating anything. So skipping AM shot. Is drinking however, strangely. She is dipping her foot in it to make it move and then just drops her face in the bowl, sometimes she drinks it other times it looks like she fell asleep with face in bowl.
 
I’m sorry Olive is no better Paula.
Do you have any ondansetron? They can be given at the same time as cerenia and help with nausea.
Do you think she needs to see the vet?
Have you tested for ketones?
 
I’m sorry Olive is no better Paula.
Do you have any ondansetron? They can be given at the same time as cerenia and help with nausea.
Do you think she needs to see the vet?
Have you tested for ketones?

Will see vet tomorrow if not better. The ER isn't going to do anything more than what I've done and charge me a fortune. Of course if she worsens I will go immediately. I will give subq fluids in a little while. Blood ketones 0.2. Ondansetron 4 mg given. I upped her bupre to 0.27 ml what she was on last flare. I think I can go higher but need to look up her original amount.
 
On the up side, she isn't doing the typical meatloafing, but you can tell she is feeling yucky, she purrs when I pet her but doesn't give her usual chirp greeting when you approach her. She seems to be alert and bright eyed.
 
When you have a chance, can you update Olive's SS?

It does sound like this could be the beginning of a p'titis flare or constipation. I hope Olive feels better.
 
Sorry about Olive. I hope she eats for you soon. Ming also does the water thing when he's feeling nauseous. Hope the ondansetron kicks in soon.
 
Btw, have you tried the common tasty tips? Fortiflora? Bonito flakes? Baby food? Etc.

Tried her test treats which she loves, even clean protein dry kibble. Freeze dried raw sprinkle on top. Parm cheese, every flavor of food I have, hc gravy. Shoot even the maple syrup that she loves. Nothing so far. She is now coming into kitchen to look at the bowls so hopefully soon she will have more than a nibble.
 
Sorry to hear Olive isn't feeling well !

Day of HEALING.jpg
 
She is nibbling but not enough of anything yet.

Anyone know of a fiber powder or flakes to add? Already gave some pumpkin in addition to the lactulose. I think fiber would be better than miralax right now. She didn't go yesterday but it normal for to skip a day every so often.
 
I agree with Jill, ham baby food is almost always a hit for Tucker when he's not feeling so great. I hope Olive starts feeling better soon!
 
Anyone know of a fiber powder or flakes to add?

I used to give Colin psyllium husk powder. It’s the same stuff that’s in Metamucil, but without all the additives. I got it at Walmart in the fiber supplement section. Hope Olive feels better!
 
I worry about her heart & the subQ. You’re doing everything you can and hope she eats soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi, how are you? Leo is so adorable in the pics. How is Moo doing? Have missed you.

She had her annual echo last month. Cardio said it was okay and put a limit on amount she can have in a week (vet wanted to give 300 ml at a time, if course I wouldn't allow that). I barely get 65 ml in her twice a week. Last week she had some of her noisey gurgley breathing so I skipped giving any for the week.
 
Back
Top