4/28/16 Lemmiwinks PMPS 415 +1 435"NEW NEED HELP"

Status
Not open for further replies.
Great job. Took me for ever to get this far. Okay now get your meter set up and try it on yourself. You will need a Google account for the spreadsheet.

While your doing that, I'm going to add some links for testing and spreadsheet instructions.

BTW, what is your name?
 
@Marje and Gracie ,

Can you help Jennifer with a ss if she needs it. I know some tablets can be difficult. Very newly diagnosed. Her first test and shot is due 9pm EST. I been getting her set up all day.

If you can tag experienced Lantus peeps to help with dose. Vet wants to start at 2u. The initial curve was today. She just got him home. Vet doesn't want her to test. She is going to test anyway.
 
Jennifer,

BTW, I'm Paula. It's my pleasure to help you. We have all been here. You and Lemmiwinks are now family. Interesting name.

Congrats on home testing against vets instructions. Please know human meters run lower, and you want to make sure your vet knows that is what you are using.

Also when you have time read the sticky notes in the Lantus condo about insulin, protocols, hypo. Remember not to change food yet.
 
How many times a day do you home test? Do you test more in the beginning or test the same amount through the duration? It is not letting me create a SS.
 
Are there certain meters that are better for animals...I wasnt aware...what would you suggest? Where do you purchase...again, you are seriously a lifesaver! I was in tears this morning...
 
How many times a day do you home test? Do you test more in the beginning or test the same amount through the duration? It is not letting me create a SS.

I tagged Marj regarding the ss. She will contact you.

Testing.

You test before each shot. Then if possible before you go to bed so you know she is safe for the night. With lantus the dose is based on how low it takes them. So mind cycle test are good.

Then while she is eating you give the shot. So you will test at 9, feed her and give headshot. Tonight might test a little early so you have time to post here and get some advice.

With Smokey I know Lantus kicks in 3 hrs after giving it. I test at 7 and then 3 hrs later. Actually any time I walk out the door I test. He can be unpredictable.

What were his tests at the vet ? Can you take a picture of it and post it here? Do you know if she will be easy to test?
 
Hi Jennifer and welcome aboard. Lots of reading for you on the Sticky Notes on the top of this board. Don't worry about getting it all at once - I still reread some occasionally. And feel free to ask questions - we love to help here.

What food is Lemminwinks eating now? You will eventually want him onto wet food, but as others have said, only once you are successful testing. Have you managed any home blood tests yet? A lot of us use the Relion Confirm or Micro from Walmart, because they are easy to get most hours of the day and the test strips are fairly cheap. The Aviva is a good meter too if you want to continue using it. Try Ebay for cheaper strips.

There are "animal specific" meters, but the majority here use human ones. The test strips are cheaper, easier to get in an emergency and our methods for determine how to change doses is written using human meter values.

By the way, how much does your kitty weight? If a kitty is on dry food, we typically would start them on 1 unit of Lantus, twice a day. We've had too many cats start overdose and it's rather a lot to handle when you are first new to testing.
 
Are there certain meters that are better for animals...I wasnt aware...what would you suggest? Where do you purchase...again, you are seriously a lifesaver! I was in tears this morning...

There are pet meters, I started with one. Switched to human because the pet strips are expensive. I do test quite often. You can search on line to find best price for your strips. I've learned to have many many on hand.
 
Hi Jennifer and welcome aboard. Lots of reading for you on the Sticky Notes on the top of this board. Don't worry about getting it all at once - I still reread some occasionally. And feel free to ask questions - we love to help here.

What food is Lemminwinks eating now? You will eventually want him onto wet food, but as others have said, only once you are successful testing. Have you managed any home blood tests yet? A lot of us use the Relion Confirm or Micro from Walmart, because they are easy to get most hours of the day and the test strips are fairly cheap. The Aviva is a good meter too if you want to continue using it. Try Ebay for cheaper strips.

There are "animal specific" meters, but the majority here use human ones. The test strips are cheaper, easier to get in an emergency and our methods for determine how to change doses is written using human meter values.

By the way, how much does your kitty weight? If a kitty is on dry food, we typically would start them on 1 unit of Lantus, twice a day. We've had too many cats start overdose and it's rather a lot to handle when you are first new to testing.

Thank you Wendy, glad you joined us. Jennifer is very new and doing great so far. I've been taking it one step at a time. Hopefully Marje will be able to get the ss set up.
 
Oh crap!!! I forgot the copy! I was so overwhelmed and they were busy...I can get it Monday. The shots dont phase him at all. I havent tested yet, does that seem to bother them more or about the same? He is a super mellow kitty. He seems hungry...do you only feed when its time for a shot?
 
Lemmi is 17lbs. My Mom is a lab tech so she can get me human testing strips. So it is ok to use a human meter? They said they gave him 1 unit and it went way too high, 3 took it way too low, so 2 was his sweet spot...this over a 3 day period inpatient.
 
He is on purina one urinary tract health. Vet said give him 1/2 cup at 9am then shot. 1/2 cup at 9pm then shot. I gotta recharge this thing...I shall return...you guys are the best!!! One hour til his shot is due.
 
I usually get the blood work emailed to me, your vet might be able to do the same. Lantus is a depot insulin, it takes about 6 cycles or 3 days for any one dose to build up to it's full potential to see what it does.

As for feeting, it's OK to spread out the feeding, and in fact easier on the pancreas. Try not to feed much in the last half of the cycle when the Lantus is wearing off and don't feed in the last two hours, as the carbs in the food can make the preshot test higher and you do wnat to know it's safe to give insulin. Feeding just at shot time is what vets did with the older fast acting insulins. Sounds like your vet (like the majority out there) is not as familiar with Lantus. That's OK, we can help you with that.
 
Oh crap!!! I forgot the copy! I was so overwhelmed and they were busy...I can get it Monday. The shots dont phase him at all. I havent tested yet, does that seem to bother them more or about the same? He is a super mellow kitty. He seems hungry...do you only feed when its time for a shot?

If they are open tomorrow try calling them and see if they will email it to you. Most cats are stresses at the vets and they can and often have higher readings there.

Meals spread out during the day is better, it helps keep them safe and easier on them. FYI it also sounds as if they did 1u increments. It's safer to only change dose .25 u at a time so you don't pass the ideal dose. You will learn this soon.

You might want to try testing now in case you need help.
 
Here is a very important question. Did the vet show you how to draw up the insulin? The mark on the needle and you have u100 syringes?
 
He showed me with saline how to draw, how to and where to mark the 2 unit dose. They actually gave me 30 syringes to start...so I got to practice with the ones I have. I will definitely see if they can email his levels. I feel like such a dork...I forgot to get that. Ok so what I want to do now is a home test yes?...I'm writing everything down on a written ss until I figure the online one out. Once 9pm comes feed and shot...you think I should wait a spell after feeding to shot or shot while feeding?
 
We usually test, then feed, then shoot - all within 15 minutes or so.

Here is a post with lots of tips on home testing. Including videos. Speaking of which, the Syringe and Info Sticky Note here has a video on how to draw the insulin into a syringe.
 
Hey There Jennifer and Lemmiwinks and welcome to the best place you never wanted to be. You have been provided with lots of information and I am sure your head is spinning! Keep asking questions as that is how we all learned.
 
Once you use your first syringe. Mark it and practice with that.

I added links above for testing. Watch it if you haven't and then try testing. You don't want to wait til last minute until you got it down pact. You haven't done it yet an don't know how she will react.
 
Watched the video on home testing. I am going to try and home test...will let you know how it goes...I'm so stinking nervous! I have to calm down and be calm for my buddy. If I'm calm, he's calm.
 
Watched the video on home testing. I am going to try and home test...will let you know how it goes...I'm so stinking nervous! I have to calm down and be calm for my buddy. If I'm calm, he's calm.

That's right. They pick up on it. Give him 1 piece of kibble right after.

Since she gets dry food, you will follow the Start Low Go Slow Protocol. Here are the guidelines.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/
 
Well done. Now it's time to feed and shoot. Your vet said 2u. As Wendy posted above most cats start at 1u. I agree. Since your vet went from 1u to 3u then down to 2u. There wasn't time to see how each dose really affected her. You hold the syringe, you need to be comfortable.
 
Ok he ate about a thrid...walked away...I just gave 1.5 units...he went over ate 2 more bites and just went and laid down. Now what??? Gosh I hope I got this right, I hope I got it in the skin. I felt that little pop feeling. He turned and looked at me so I think I got it...now he's heading to liter box.
 
Just a few more things tonight. And what you do tomorrow. Then have a drink or chocolate better yet both.

At the title box, to the right you see "thread tools" click edit title. After his name put PMPS and his reading.

Test him before you go to bed and put that reading in title with the + and number of hours it's been since shot. You want to be sure he is safe for the night.

Tomorrow you will start a new thread with tomorrow date, name and his AMPS (morning test). Then copy this thread using the URL into the message box. Hopefully we can get the ss in tomorrow. If you have a desktop, you might try that. Most tablets are difficult with it.
 
It's ok to let them graze then? He use to be a eat everything at once cat...but not since this all started.

No food 2 hrs prior to giving insulin. It will influence the test. It's better to give the food spread out during the day. My guy is fed every 3 hrs but for other reasons besides diabetes.

Once you have a good handle on the testing, then can start transitioning to all wet. What you can do now though is maybe add a little wet in between his regular meal times so he gets use to it. BUT DO NOT STOP THE DRY YET. There is also a couple of dry options that are better if he refuses to give it up entirely.
 
His eating habits have definitely changed through all this. He also seems to want to be left alone. Usually he sleeps with us and he won't come in bed he wants to be under the dining room table. Is it ok for him to be away from me. I will do all that for tom. I can't even begin to tell you what a lifesaver you were today! I'm in tears over your generosity and commitment to helping us both!
 
Should I take the food away at night? So he doesn't eat at like 7am before testing and shot? Also I'm about ready for bed...lol!!! It's been a LONG DAY! Should I test now even though it hasn't been an hour?
 
I live in PA. 2 hrs east of Pittsburgh.

I'm 12 miles north of Scranton. He's hiding because he is not feeling well. Being how this was caught early there is a fair chance he can get into remission. FDMB is all about keeping these kitties safe. We help, lean and cry on each other's shoulders. We celebrate the remissions (I think there were 2 this week) and we grieve when one crosses the rainbow. And anything in between. You are not alone.

One thing, you mentioned how the info you added to your signature said there wasn't enough room. We tend to fill the line since a lot of people have multiple illnesses.

You can also view others spreadsheets. You just click the link in my signature called Smokey's Numbers.
 
Should I take the food away at night? So he doesn't eat at like 7am before testing and shot? Also I'm about ready for bed...lol!!! It's been a LONG DAY! Should I test now even though it hasn't been an hour?

You could leave just like a tablespoon or so out. Not much but some. Good night and again you did great. It will be easier now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top