4/28/14 Max Good News PMPS 223+3=199+5=155

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S

AMPS 153 +2 226 +4 209 +6 203
PMPS 266 +3 260

Is he going to need even more juice? Or is the depo still filling? We have had only one green cycle. He woke me at 4:30 a.m. again for food. I gave him about 1/4 can of ff. I just read a comment Julie made about most of the food needing to be given in the first 4 hours of the cycle. That works during the day usually for Max but not in the early morning hours.He starts meowing and won't stop. Do I just have to let him meow until he wears himself out? I have tried that and it can last for an hour. Suggestions???? Thanks.

Our cardio appointment is this morning. No grunting last night. I do have it on video and figured out how to get to the spot.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117897
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257

HI guys .. no dosing advice from me .. but fingers crossed this sunny yellow turns into a nice blue for you! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257

I hope the appt is/has gone well for you guys. Paws crossed on good results and maybe some blue numbers later! Have a good day :-D
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Good News

Hi Elise, I hope that he vet visit is going well and that they have pinpointed the cause of that grunting noise. I want them to find the solution to it so that he isn't in any kind of pain.

About feeding Max, what time does he get his last meal in the AM cycle, and how much food is he eating at that time? At what time does he start meowing for more food in the middle of the night, and how much do you feed him?

What food are you feeding him at the last AMPS meal? What food are you feeding him when he meows in the middle of the night?
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Great News

Thanks for stopping by Rachel and Tricia. I just brought Max back half an hour ago. I really liked the cardiologist from the moment I met her. We discussed everything and she watched my video of Max grunting and heard it. Another vet, probably a resident examined Max before she came in and took his history. I brought a copy of his first US done many years ago and they made a copy. When she came in she had already reviewed everything. I left Max for an echo. She had said she would do a EKG and doppler bp check if she felt it necessary. She didn't. Kudos for her for not trying to jack up the bill. The best part is all checked out okay and no follow up is necessary. His murmur is caused by a benign condition called DRVOTO. So we still don't know why the grunting but perhaps related to upper respiratory disease, congestion, or pain. Hopefully it won't happen again and the antibiotic got rid of whatever it was. I don't know what else could be done to figure it out.

So back to his BG which is not cooperating. Maybe his vet visit caused stress there. I hope not because usually that would cause a panc attack. I'm just going to think the new dose hasn't kicked in yet. Are you listening Mr. Max?

Thanks for all the prayers. They worked!
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Good News

Great report from the cardiology appt!!

Usually, it takes 3 days for the depot to stabilize after a dose change. You've given this dose 5 days to prove itself. I think you can raise Max's dose at any point that's convenient for you.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Good News

Fantastic news! :-D :-D :-D Sounds like Max's reason for a heart murmur is the same as Neko's. I never did have the name of it, but just looked it up and my vetty cardiologist said it was fairly common in older cats. Whew! Nice to have that peace of mind. I'm so happy you found a cardiologist you liked. Mine was the same, would only do the EKG if needed and didn't. Did they take Max's blood pressure while there? How long since you last heard that grunt?

Now about those numbers Max! Flat yellows today, maybe he has plans for tonight?
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Good News

Wonderful!! Trix is a mild murmur, too....we haven't seen a cardiologist for it since it so minor right now.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Good News

Max has had a murmur since 2002. It sounded more pronounced to my vet and with the grunting he thought it best to get a diagnosis. The cardiologist felt that based on what she saw with the echo that the BP is well controlled and didn't feel it necessary to check again. My vet got 176/134 on Thursday and that was after lots of other stuff was done. I last heard the grunt Saturday night.

Tricia, unless there are signs of a potential problem I wouldn't go to a cardiologist either. We never even did another US until now.

It's funny but he is more active since getting back from the vet and that happened last week too.

He got a compliment as well. She felt he looks like a 10 year old!!

Now about that BG Max, hmmmm!!
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Good News

Great news from the cardiologist. I am sure you are feeling better after this report.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+5.75=260 Good News

I'm sure that is a huge relief to you. Now you and Max can concentrate on getting his BG into better numbers. C'mon, Max - no more vetty visits for a while, so let's work that jus!!
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+6.75=250 Good News PMPS 223

Thank you so much everyone for all the support. I'm hoping the grunting was due to congestion. I never heard a cough or sneeze out of him but maybe his nose was congested?? I just hope it remains a mystery.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+6.75=250 Good News PMPS 223

Great news!!!
I am so happy to hear that all checked out OK!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+6.75=250 Good News PMPS 223

Hi Tina. I am only feeding Max fancy feast classics. He gets fed before his AMPS about 1/3-1/4 a can and a tablespoon of baby food to wash down his med. If he finishes it by +2 I give him a little more and then a little more at +4. Then I feed him the rest of the can around +6 or +7. Sometimes he doesn't finish it by then so he doesn't get that last feeding. At PMPS he gets 1/4 a can. If he finishes it he gets a little more at +2-+3. I try to get the rest of the second can finished by +6-7. He gets his insulin at 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. I can't figure out how to give it at a different time and guarantee I will always be home. I hope this isn't confusing you.

He wakes me begging for food between 4:30-6:00 a.m. Sometimes I just give him some freeze dried chicken. Sometimes if he didn't eat all his food the night before I give him 1/3+1/4 a can of ff.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+6.75=250 Good News PMPS 223

Can I ask which cardio you ended up going with?

glad to hear the good news about your kitty :smile:
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+6.75=250 Good News PMPS 223

Absolutely you can ask which cardiologist I saw. I went to ASEC and saw Carley Saelinger. Dr. Lessor in Lawndale was the front runner but he wasn't available until Friday afternoon. The most expensive was VCA Sepulveda. They charge $168 for the consult and $550 for the echo. City of Angels and Lessor were both a total of $595. I paid $636. Dr. Saelinger is a doll. She didn't rush any part of this. I saw her before and after the echo. I left Max there for the echo and they called to ask me to come 15 minutes later rather than just having me go there and wait. I was really impressed.

Thanks for stopping by.

Mariko, how is Lucy today? Did the cerenia help? I'll stop by your condo later.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max AMPS 257+6.75=250 Good News PMPS 223

I think I've asked you about what you feed Max before, or maybe at what time you feed him. Did you know that all of the Fancy Feasts are pretty high in phosphorus? In fact, Julie told me that the FF cat foods have some of the highest phosphorus amounts, more than any other canned cat foods.

I also wonder if the dried chicken cubes that you feed him area also high in phosphorus? I wonder if you could find out the phosphorus content from the manufacturer?

Over time, a large amount of phosphoric acid can damage the stomach and esophageal lining. It can also cause acid reflux. I wonder if that grunting noise coming from Max might possibly be acid reflux? :roll:

I know that Max is not CKD, but have you considered feeding Max a rotation canned food diet, where sometimes the phosphorus content is much lower?

Here is a list from Dr. P DVM that focuses on phosphorus levels, but also lists the carbs as well, if you wanted to try reducing for awhile the amount of phosphorus that Max gets in his diet:

http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPh ... -22-12.pdf
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max Good News PMPS 223+3=199

Hi Tina. The dried chicken is a human product that is 100% freeze dried chicken without anything added. So the phosphorus content would be just like eating plain skinless chicken. I have Lisa Pierson's food list. Most if not all the low carb foods are high phosphorus. I know you feed NV. Max would not eat it. He is a picky eater. I have tried most of the premium foods. He was eating the lower phos Science Diet and some of the Soulistic pouches but they are high carb foods. His creatinine was 1.6 last week and his USG 1.057 so his kidneys are doing well. My other cats did end up with kidney disease and so I was trying to feed lower phos foods. FD ruined that. Thanks.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max Good News PMPS 223+3=199

the Fancy Feast chicken classic feast was what i fed punkin most of the time until he started into the beginning of his kidneys being compromised. on that list, it's in the 500+ range of phosphorus. the fish ones i gave punkin were 700+, although those weren't very often. so it isn't good.

what i did was print out that phosphorus list, then went through the foods that were under 200mg phosphorus, and circled everything that had less than 10% carbs in that section. I took the list and went to 3 stores locally to figure out which stores carried what and wrote it down on the list where i could buy them. i got one can of several different kinds to try out on punkin and anya, then settled in on the ones that fit my budget and he liked.

however, if max doesn't have ckd, you might not need to worry about it too much, but there are several foods, including Wellness and Friskies, that are low carb and lower phosphorus if you did want to make a switch.

but mostly, i don't want to get sidetracked on the food issue cuz i want to say WOOT! Great news on the vet report! I'm SO GLAD for you to have the good news. I thought the best thing you posted was that the vet said he acted like a 10 year old - that's just great.

you deserve the good news!
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max Good News PMPS 223+3=199

Julie, Max was eating Wellness when he blocked. At that time it was a small company and both my cats loved it. Then they sold the company. When he got pancreatitis and my vet said to feed him canned food again and he didn't need Hills CD any more, I tried Wellness.He hated it. His urine has a high normal pH and I've been told it isn't good for cats with high pH so that one is out. Did I mention how picky he is about food? Getting him to switch from the sliced ff to classics took a lot of coaxing.

What do you think about raising his dose yet again? He had one good night.Thanks.
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max Good News PMPS 223+3=199

i agree with sienne, i think you could increase his dose any time now. i don't think he's bouncing much if any. i'd go up 0.25u.

did you see marje's video on using the calipers?
 
Re: 4/28/14 Max Good News PMPS 223+3=199

I'm sorry Elise.. I'm not trying to bum you out about his food, honestly. I am just having this funny thought that maybe Max's grunting noise is an acid reflux burp, kind'a like the one Rocky has. :lol:

I believe that Rocky may have a peptic ulcer in his stomach, or ulcers in his throat, from eating so much junk food high in carbs and phosphorus before I took control of his care. Apparently you can tell if there is an ulcer from an x-ray and sonograms of the stomach. I would really like to have this done for Rocky but I just don't have the money to do it. I think I will do it though, when I can. In the meantime I could give him like 1/2 pepcid about 1/2hr or longer before the start of his 4 (mini-meals) in his AM and PM cycle, which would at least reduce the stomach acid. And, I am going to begin rotating Rocky's food so that he gets some of the low phosphorus foods as well. The other thing I would like to do, if he has an ulcer, is to give him the Sulcrafate because it will coat his stomach to help it heal. One thing I know for sure is that SOMETHING is giving Rocky acid reflux and it most likely IS causing his stomach lining some problems.

I was feeding Rocky the NV for the past 5 months but have recently begun feeding him the Artemis Turkey Formula. I also switch it once in awhile between that and the FF Classic Chicken. I'm not certain but Artemis may have changed their 'Turkey' food because they no longer call it 'Turkey and Giblet' but instead call it 'Turkey Formula.' The Artemis Turkey on Dr. P's list has phosphorus as 409, so I think it is kind of high too. I was trying to avoid the fish added to the so-called "chicken' and "turkey" foods and Artemis has no fish in their recipes. I do still use the NV Venison 0% carb canned when Rocky is in red or black numbers at AMPS or PMPS time. So, this morning I did feed him the canned venison.

That link I posted for Dr. P is different than the one she created for FD. This list has the lowest phosphorus canned foods listed first on the list, and then the phosphorus values get greater and greater as you go down the list. It also has the "as fed" carbs on it so you can use it for the FD too.

Rocky didn't like and wouldn't eat the Nature's Valley Instinct Canned Venison for me either. But, I played a trick on him. ;-) One of my vets, a DVM as well as trained in cat nutrition and acupuncture, told me that *IF* a person just had to feed their cat fish for some reason, that sardines FOR HUMANS (not cat food) would be OK. She said you could give a cat (1) sardine a day from a can packed in spring water with nothing else added to it. So, I took 1/4 of a sardine and hand fed it to Rocky first to see if he even liked it or would it eat. Lucky me, he DID like the sardine and did eat it. So, then I crumbled 1/4 of a sardine on top of the 1/4 can of the NVIV, and Rocky ate it all!!! :shock: :lol: I did this for every meal for about two weeks, and then I slowly, slowly started tapering off the amount of sardine I would put on top of the venison until there was nothing on top of it at all. Guess what? HE STILL ATE THE VENISON! :cool:

You might buy one package of sardines in spring water and see if Max like them. It might be a trick that you can play on Max too, to try to get him used to eating foods that are lower in phosphorus. I don't believe that the sardine has any significant amount of carbs to it.
 
Thanks for the tip. Helen's list in Tanya's site has the foods listed by phosphorus level as well. I helped her create it. She is in the process of updating it. This time she refused help and it is taking forever. Good luck with Carafate because it tastes nasty and you can't give the pill form because it's not as effective. If you think he has an ulcer I would try it though and not bother with an US.

The thing you gave to remember is that animal protein is where phosphorus comes from as I understand it. A good lie in carbs needs to get the calories from protein which means high phos. The foods lower in protein contain grains or other carbs and thus are lower phos. If Max can get his BG down and keep it there I would consider a higher carb food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top