4/27 Tyler AMPS 344 +4 236 +6.5 262 PMPS 291

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/27 Tyler AMPS 344 +4 236

Brian, you do what you can. i slept through 2 alarms last night and woke up to a 400 point drop in 6 hours! :o Tyler is coming down nicely, you don't want them to drop back too fast or you could have another bounce on your hands. :roll: Anything more than 50 points in an hour is considered a fast drop.

Regarding some of your questions from yesterday:

I took the general advice and did a reduction, but to a fat 1.0, basically the plunger was at the bottom of the black 1.0u mark, instead of centered.
I agree w/ Chris, quarter unit adjustments in dose are best until you are really homing in on the "best dose". And the best dose can change, the pancreas can heal and start producing a little more insulin or "sputter" and produce fluctuating amounts of insulin. You just have to watch the numbers.

If you look at Tess's SS her best dose seems to be .4U, but sometimes we need to shave it to drain the shed, then usually increase to get back to greens and then back down again to the original .4U because she gets a little too green! ohmygod_smile then we start the whole thing all over again. @-) :YMSIGH:

Also, (and you can start banging your head against the wall here) the markings on the syringes are not terribly accurate at the small doses used for cats. Take a look at this photo, these 2 syringes have the plunger pushed to the end of the barrel. They came from the same box of syringes.
syringe+lines.jpg

This is why you see a lot of us using calipers to measure the dose ( and how we come up w/ those weird decimal unit readings!) We also use a magnifying visor to be able to see those tiny increments. The syringes are made for humans, who get much larger doses, (30 units isn't uncommon) and that variance doesn't matter for them.

Speaking of variance:
+2 is 308... Higher than PMPS... Did we do the right thing by reducing? I dunno. We'll see...
Remember that the meter is only accurate to within 20% +/- of the actual BG. Your PMPS was 303, the 308 was virtually the same number. What that means is that the preshot was actually somewhere between 242 and 363, the 308 is right in the middle of that range. You could expect him to be going down later in the cycle, since, as Marje said, a +2 that is the same or lower than the preshot indicates an active cycle. A +2 number is typically higher than the preshot, the insulin hasn't kicked in yet and his preshot meal is still influencing the numbers.

There is so much to take in all at once, don't worry you are doing a great job taking care of your buddy!
 
Re: 4/27 Tyler AMPS 344 +4 236

Hi Brian:

One of the hardest lessons I've had to learn during this dance, and one I'm still trying to teach my DH, is not to react to every number (except something under your lower threshold - 50/40). There are so many factors that influence their BG, that you a have to stop and look at the bigger picture: ie is it a bounce; is the shed draining; is it food influenced; did I vacuum or have a worker in the house, etc. That's why Chris placed so much emphasis on data, data, data. It really is important. I don't know what you're studying in school, but perhaps data matters in your major subject, too. Try to look at it that way, and it will make more sense. The reason this board exists is because this is not easy, and none of us figures it out right away (some of us never do, and that's why we thank God every day for these wonderful people). There's always someone who can help you, and what they do is step back and look at your data (there's that word again). Okay, I'm done lecturing (sorry, but I so understand what you're going through). I hope that helped a little.

That said, you're doing a wonderful job and I just know Tyler is going to continue to improve under your loving care. :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Tyler AMPS 344 +4 236

Don't feel bad Brian..we ALL do it!...and most of us aren't on the kind of crazy schedule you're on!!

When they start that high, the majority of the time it's safe to not test quite so often anyway. Even if he'd dropped 100 points an hour for those first 2 hours, he still would have only been at 144 (but that would set him up for another bounce too)

Looks like he's gently sliding down and that's what you want. Too fast and they're just set up to bounce again....gently down is the way to go!

Both you and Tyler are doing really well...and all you have to do to prove it is look at where you've been, and where you are now. From 7 units twice a day and no testing, to earning a reduction to 1 unit and testing frequently enough to know he's safe ....and you're learning more and more about this disease and how to deal with it.

Hang in there!
 
Hello all, real quick I wanted to update all the way to his PMPS. I am at work... shhhhh!

I will drop back in with another BG when I get home :-D

I hope you all are enjoying your Sunday evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top