Re: 4/27 Tyler AMPS 344 +4 236
Brian, you do what you can. i slept through 2 alarms last night and woke up to a 400 point drop in 6 hours!

Tyler is coming down nicely, you don't want them to drop back too fast or you could have another bounce on your hands. :roll: Anything more than 50 points in an hour is considered a fast drop.
Regarding some of your questions from yesterday:
I took the general advice and did a reduction, but to a fat 1.0, basically the plunger was at the bottom of the black 1.0u mark, instead of centered.
I agree w/ Chris, quarter unit adjustments in dose are best until you are really homing in on the "best dose". And the best dose can change, the pancreas can heal and start producing a little more insulin or "sputter" and produce fluctuating amounts of insulin. You just have to watch the numbers.
If you look at Tess's SS her best dose seems to be .4U, but sometimes we need to shave it to drain the shed, then usually increase to get back to greens and then back down again to the original .4U because she gets a little too green! ohmygod_smile then we start the whole thing all over again. @-) :YMSIGH:
Also, (and you can start banging your head against the wall here) the markings on the syringes are not terribly accurate at the small doses used for cats. Take a look at this photo, these 2 syringes have the plunger pushed to the end of the barrel. They came from the same box of syringes.
This is why you see a lot of us using calipers to measure the dose ( and how we come up w/ those weird decimal unit readings!) We also use a magnifying visor to be able to see those tiny increments. The syringes are made for humans, who get much larger doses, (30 units isn't uncommon) and that variance doesn't matter for them.
Speaking of variance:
+2 is 308... Higher than PMPS... Did we do the right thing by reducing? I dunno. We'll see...
Remember that the meter is only accurate to within 20% +/- of the actual BG. Your PMPS was 303, the 308 was virtually the same number. What that means is that the preshot was actually somewhere between 242 and 363, the 308 is right in the middle of that range. You could expect him to be going down later in the cycle, since, as Marje said, a +2 that is the same or lower than the preshot indicates an active cycle. A +2 number is typically higher than the preshot, the insulin hasn't kicked in yet and his preshot meal is still influencing the numbers.
There is so much to take in all at once, don't worry you are doing a great job taking care of your buddy!