4/27 Rory AMPS 342, +3 241, +6 185, +9 196, PMPS 387!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Var-ee and Rory

Member Since 2013
4/27
AMPS = 342 ~ 1u Lantus
+3 = 241
+6 = 185
+9 = 196
PMPS = 387 ~ 1u Lantus

Rory seems to be all over the chart today and I was wondering if this is normal. I thought Lantus was going to smooth out the numbers better. I'm a bit worried again :sad:

he ate well this morning and right before pmps but slept most of the day.
condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=94139
 
Nice to see those blues in the morning cycle! :-D He's probably "bouncing" where the liver reacts to lower than usual numbers and sends the BGs back up. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear and numbers to come back down. This is where you have to be patient and keep the same dose, even though he's high. You don't want to be in a position where the bounce breaks AND the dose is too high because then the numbers can drop too rapidly for you to control.
Liz
 
I dont understand.. the dose I am giving him is an increase started yesterday.. is it too much ??? :((( I will be up tonight checking him NOW. I am worried about it. I guess I will check him at +2, +4 and +6 to be safe and maybe even a +8 if I can stay up that late
 
There's no need to worry. What you're seeing is normal. I agree with Liz. This is most likely a bounce coupled with some New Dose Wonkiness (NDW).

A bounces are a normal response by the liver and pancreas. Because Rory is more used to diabetic numbers than normal BG numbers, his body overreacts to either normal numbers or a fast drop in numbers. Today, Rory dropped almost 200 points by nadir. As a result, his liver and pancreas panicked and pumped out a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) along with counterregulatory hormones. These cause numbers to spike back up. As Liz noted, it can take some cats up to 72 hours to clear a bounce. As Rory spends more time in more normal numbers, these bounce will occur less often and/or will clear more quickly.

There is also a phenomenon called new dose wonkiness. It's not clear why this happens but in some cases, when you raise a dose, rather than numbers coming down as you would expect, they go up. This doesn't usually last for more than a cycle.
 
You are not likely to need all those tests tonight. Get your regular +3 and if he's still high, you can go to bed and get a good nights sleep. There may be nights when he is low that you will need to test to keep him safe. You have to take care of yourself too.
Liz
 
PMPS 387, +2 295, +4 310

Yes he did go down only a little and up again so I wont micro test him tonight. I got +2 = 295, +4 = 310

goodnight ;) and thanks for all your help I really appreciate it all!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top