4/27 Noodle AMPS 273 +3 333 +5 170 PMPS 391 +3 289 +5.5 339

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...73-9-319-pmps-149-1-198-3-201-4-5-232.136826/

Had a busy day yesterday and never made it to the board. Noodle and I went on a visit to my parents for my brother's birthday. She hopped on the trampoline for longer than ideal, but we had a nice blue evening for the most past--she didn't seem thrilled by all the hubbub at my parents', so I'll take it! She woke me up after I'd gone btb after her late night check with a truly startling hairball episode. She hasn't coughed one up in a while, so it really scared me in my half asleep stupor. She then honored me with a scarf n barf halfway through her breffis, lovely.

We've got a little dive happening now, I need to head out so I added an extra LC meal too her feeder for +6.5 since she's dropping pretty quickly and is eating her +5 already. I was thinking about a dosecrease in the next couple days since we haven't seen green in a few, but I'll see where this goes at PMPS first. I can't increase til Tuesday PM anyways. Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!
 
For me hungry kitty means lower numbers so I think the dosecrease threat might not even be necessary. Have a great day
 
Looks like Noodle might have an "interesting" evening planned for you today! And she does look to be bouncing for a shorter time now - if she could just learn not to bounce I think her spreadsheet would be looking good...she's getting some nice runs of blue numbers on there in between bounces. :cool:
 
For me hungry kitty means lower numbers so I think the dosecrease threat might not even be necessary. Have a great day
Actually, between the hairball and the scarf n barf this morning her appy wasn't the greatest. She needed a decent bit of prodding to eat her fuds in an acceptable time. She's still eating the increase calorie amount I've been giving her since DX to put weight back on. I'm wondering if it's just time to let her eat less if she wants, or if I should still be trying to get the extra 50-100 cals into her because she's not regulated. I need to swing by the vet to weigh her since my own scale gave me readings off by 3lbs when I tried twice holding her on there.

Looks like Noodle might have an "interesting" evening planned for you today! And she does look to be bouncing for a shorter time now - if she could just learn not to bounce I think her spreadsheet would be looking good...she's getting some nice runs of blue numbers on there in between bounces. :cool:
I know! I do wonder if the bouncing won't be resolved until I can get her in for a dental. Alas, it just doesn't feel safe getting one then having to leave the country for a trip in 4 weeks. She doesn't have many available reductions on this dose and I don't want to leave her with her Grandmabean in a situation where she's only getting .5 or .25u! Not much room for a vacation dose there!
 
Looks like Noodle might have an "interesting" evening planned for you today! And she does look to be bouncing for a shorter time now - if she could just learn not to bounce I think her spreadsheet would be looking good...she's getting some nice runs of blue numbers on there in between bounces. :cool:
You might want to think about getting a baby scale for weighing her. I like the Salter 914. I got mine from Amazon.
 
I do wonder if the bouncing won't be resolved until I can get her in for a dental. Alas, it just doesn't feel safe getting one then having to leave the country for a trip in 4 weeks. She doesn't have many available reductions on this dose and I don't want to leave her with her Grandmabean in a situation where she's only getting .5 or .25u! Not much room for a vacation dose there!
I completely understand why you wouldn't want her dose to be reducing quickly while you're not there to monitor her yourself. We just managed our first weekend away since Rosa was diagnosed - we used to be away overnight at a show about once a month all of last year. But we didn't want to leave Rosa while she was on insulin (though we don't have any family here to take over for us either which doesn't help). As Rhiannon says, it's possible she might get herself to a lower steady dose or OTJ if you did the dental now, but then it's the "what if she doesn't" question and I guess once the dental's done it's too late to worry about that if she does start coming down the doses quickly. Tough decision, but you have to go with what feels right to you. :bighug:
 
if you hurried and got the dental, she just might work herself right off the juice... and then grandma would just have feeding to do....
I've thought about doing it ASAP... But realistically it will be at least two weeks considering I'll have to talk it over with the vet, research options (go with someone at the hospital or a specialist, etc), and get the actual appointment. I just don't feel comfortable doing it that close to the trip when she won't be able to call me with immediate concerns. I am already dreadfully worried to leave her... I just can't add that factor to the mix.
 
unless she's getting all her teeth pulled, recovery is pretty fast. just a few days...
and don't know if you are in boonies, but I'm usually able to get things done fairly quickly in my little burg....
 
unless she's getting all her teeth pulled, recovery is pretty fast. just a few days...
and don't know if you are in boonies, but I'm usually able to get things done fairly quickly in my little burg....
Honestly, I just don't feel comfortable getting it done now and crossing my fingers that she will be at a dose where we can safely reduce for the trip in a few weeks. My mom doesn't have the experience with FD and had a really hard time getting tests other than preshots when she took care of her for a weekend. I'd worry the time would come for me to leave and she'd be at a dose like .25u where my mom couldn't get a smaller dose easily, or she'd be rocketing down the dosing scale, going low on a reduced dose, and my mom couldn't get in touch with me since I'll be in Italy. There's too many what-ifs for me to feel comfortable doing it ASAP.
I'm sure it seems like I'm making excuses, but I've considered a lot coming to this decision. She will likely need several extractions and with a very traumatic hospital stay under my belt already, I need some time to get myself ready for it that the looming trip doesn't allow for.
 
unless she's getting all her teeth pulled, recovery is pretty fast. just a few days...
That's actually what would worry me the most - that she'd recover quickly enough to be running down the dosing scale full speed by the time you're away. I know I wouldn't have wanted to leave Rosa with anyone, no matter how competent, when she was earning reductions every few days. If you had an extra month before the trip, it would most likely be worth getting it done now, but Noodle might be at full speed just at the wrong time for you to relax - and much as we want to give our kitties the very best, we can't do that if we can never get a break either.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top