4/27 Max amps 281, +5.5 98, +6 78, +6.5 103, +8 127, +11 237, pmps 283, +2 356

MindyC

Member Since 2019
Of course Max is going to be a hard one to figure out with dosing. So using SLGS, we dropped his dose from 1U to .75U because he dropped below 90. That dose failed, his numbers went up quite a bit, so now we’re back to 1U.

We had a lovely walk through the blues yesterday before bouncing back up to the pinks yesterday evening.

Today is the 6th cycle on 1U, and he just tested at 98 at +5.5. I’ll be home for another 2-ish hours before I have to take daughter to her soccer game and ref, so conceivably will catch it if he goes below 90 again...but what do I do? How low should I let him drop before feeding him?

And most importantly, what do I do about his dose? I’m guessing we need to switch to TR, which makes me nervous, but good grief, I’d really like to get him to a point where he can just cruise in the blues and greens. I can’t imagine that the bouncing feels all that good for him.
 
When are you going to be leaving and how long will you be gone? He's not directly in danger right now, but if you aren't going to be home, it wouldn't hurt to give him either a higher LC (7-10%) while you're gone or a teaspoon of a MC (10-17ish%) with a LC snack.
 
It is currently 12:04pm. I'll need to leave about 1:45pm, I think. Game starts at 2:30, should be done by 4, and we should be home by 5. So I'll be gone for about 3 hours, and shot time is 5:30pm.

I just checked the food lists for the carb rating on the random cans of gravy foods I grabbed when we first started the insulin (I know, should have checked that sooner..). I have 2 cans of 14%, one can not listed on the chart but it is "extra gravy", and then I have some Pounce treats, which I assume are HC.

I also have freeze-dried chicken and salmon. So should I mix some 14% with some freeze-dried treats? His normal food is 4-5%.
 
As of right now, I would let him cruise (feed him whatever normal meal you would have fed now) and check him at 1 or 1:30. If he's lower, I would give him a tsp or so of 14% with a LC normal snack (I'm not sure how big his meals/snacks are), depending on how low he is. I wouldn't give any Pounce treats, as those dry carbs stay in the system longer and can be slower to take effect. If you're really worried about going too low, then give a bit more of the higher carb food before you go. Obviously it's better to be too high for a bit then too low for a second.
 
I just checked the food lists for the carb rating on the random cans of gravy foods I grabbed when we first started the insulin (I know, should have checked that sooner..).
One trick I use when I have different carb foods is to mark the can with the food percentage and if I consider it "MC" or "HC" (I did the MC/HC labeling more for my husband's benefit). So when I'm in a hurry, I just look at the can (I mark the sides and the top for easy viewing), and go from there. Helps in a pinch, haha. We only recently starting trying to utilize higher low carb food options (7-10%) around here. I'm not sure if it totally works, but Lou loves the food, so we'll take it.
 
Thank you. I just checked him again (+6.5) and he was 99/105/106. I tested 3 times to be sure the meter wasn't too far off since it went UP. I gave him some freeze dried salmon and nothing else. I'll check him again at 1:30 before we leave and feed if necessary.
 
One trick I use when I have different carb foods is to mark the can with the food percentage and if I consider it "MC" or "HC" (I did the MC/HC labeling more for my husband's benefit). So when I'm in a hurry, I just look at the can (I mark the sides and the top for easy viewing), and go from there. Helps in a pinch, haha. We only recently starting trying to utilize higher low carb food options (7-10%) around here. I'm not sure if it totally works, but Lou loves the food, so we'll take it.

LOL, I did just mark the cans when I looked them up just now. The "extra gravy" is probably 14-ish%, so I'll have to look through the list and pick some that are 7-10% the next time I'm at the store (which should be soon as we're running out of dog food...). I knew the Pounce were probably not the best, but figured in a pinch if he wasn't eating a lot, I could get him to eat one of those since he hasn't had them since he was a kitten. :D
 
If you are using Purebites chicken it is 0 carbs. If you are using freeze dried chicken from Walmart and the ingredient list has vegetable glycerin it is a preservative & sweetner that is higher in calories than table sugar.

Simply Nourish freeze dried chicken is also 0 carbs from Petsmart.

This is helpful info if you are stalling for a low preshot because if your kitty is starving at lower green you can tide off their hunger a little without making their BG food influenced or like in the morning when you need to keep that 2 hours before shot time clear of food but kitty is yowling for food. :)
 
If you are using Purebites chicken it is 0 carbs. If you are using freeze dried chicken from Walmart and the ingredient list has vegetable glycerin it is a preservative & sweetner that is higher in calories than table sugar.

Simply Nourish freeze dried chicken is also 0 carbs from Petsmart.

This is helpful info if you are stalling for a low preshot because if your kitty is starving at lower green you can tide off their hunger a little without making their BG food influenced or like in the morning when you need to keep that 2 hours before shot time clear of food but kitty is yowling for food. :)

Thanks! We have freeze-dried chicken with catnip, and freeze-dried salmon, both PureBites.
 
At +8, he's 127. So...hold the 1U dose? I suspect we're in for a good bounce...
After Bear has earned a reduction I always take the one time shoot through the bounce next cycle and take the reduction the preceding cycle.
Getting a +11 will give you more info to make your decision.
If Max BG has risen higher from +11 to PMPS then you will know he is trending up and at what rate.
More experienced eyes are always beneficial.:)
@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Marje and Gracie
 
Thank you! He just had 237 at +11. I’m hesitant to reduce because of how badly he did with it before. I kind of want to see if he’ll level out to blues and greens with this dose...if we can get him to stop bouncing.
 
I was looking at your condos and I think I misspoke.
Bear is on TR and from what Wendy had said on 4-17 that with SLGS you always take the reduction if Max goes below 90.
Sorry, the one time hold the dose to shoot through the bounce must be for TR only.
 
He is doing much better on this dose.
I know it is early but TR might work best for him.
From his SS it looks like you can test often enough.
 
Well that’s the thing...I’m wondering if I need to switch to TR. We’ve got an idea of how he handles two doses now, and over a few weeks. I didn’t want to attempt TR right off the bat with no data.
 
No, we’ll be home tonight and them off and on tomorrow. He’s high enough already I’m not toooooo worried about tonight, but we’ll give it a go and see what happens.
 
For myself I find that knowledge always helps lower my anxiety because I know I have the right tools to handle the situation.
You are probably right in that Max will probably bounce tonight since green is so new to him.
That said I would still recommend you refresh on How to handle lower #'s and make sure you have plenty of strips, High Carb Wet, Med Carb and honey or Karo available, just to be cautious. :D
 
A +2 which is usually the onset of Lantus will give you an idea if you need to test more often or less.
I will keep checking on you to see how things are going. ;)
 
Ugh, bounces. I'm glad he worked with you for the game, but this is taking it to the extreme, haha. I hope he doesn't bounce for too long. Have a good night Mindy!
 
LOL, I know, right? It was nice to see his BG come up on its own, tho...gives me hope that we can get his cycles to flatten out a bit once he has a few more greens and can get used to them. I'm going to get a +4 in about 10 minutes, so we'll know if he just bounced or decided to jump on a trampoline. ;-)
 
LOL, I know, right? It was nice to see his BG come up on its own, tho...gives me hope that we can get his cycles to flatten out a bit once he has a few more greens and can get used to them. I'm going to get a +4 in about 10 minutes, so we'll know if he just bounced or decided to jump on a trampoline. ;-)
Definitely a good plan. My buddy Lou rarely showed anything at +2, so I usually checked at +3. Of course even that wasn't always a strong indicator of what he was going to do. In his case, it's probably the IAA talking, which has always made him take longer to get started (even when we were on a quick-acting insulin). So I've learned it's never a bad idea to double-check! You never know when these rascals will surprise you!
 
Definitely a good plan. My buddy Lou rarely showed anything at +2, so I usually checked at +3. Of course even that wasn't always a strong indicator of what he was going to do. In his case, it's probably the IAA talking, which has always made him take longer to get started (even when we were on a quick-acting insulin). So I've learned it's never a bad idea to double-check! You never know when these rascals will surprise you!

Well, I think we're in the clear for tonight. +4 was 323, so we're at least not going to bottom-out (not that I thought we would). Hopefully he has a nice amps in the 200s, tho. I'll be up for a while longer, so will probably get one more test in before bed. Have a good night Amanda!
 
Back
Top