? 4/27 Marvin amps 403 4U, pmps 403 4U - Vet = increase to 5U Big Cat aprox 19 pds

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
Hello All,

Got Marvin UTI results back, as it looked like the antibiotic were not working, vet did a culture. culture confirmed UTI gone, original results detected some bacteria, however culture confirm trace too low therefore no UTI. Since last night his BS was 443, and his BGs appear to stay in in the low to mid 400's, Vet suggested to move to 5U.

I know that I have not done alot of mid cycle BG lately, it does look like he is pretty much flat lined in that area, except for the one day he was sick. What do you guys think. I was planning to increase to 5U in two intervals, 4.5 U for 3 to 4 days, then to 5U depending on his BG of course.

I will try and test him tonight at + 3 and + 6 if I can. He doesn't always cooperate :) I think he got into the dog food (couple kibbles :(..) 30 minutes ago, didn't notice dog didn't eat his breakfast.
 
HI Marvins mom (what would you like us to call you?). Glad the UTI has cleared!
Sorry you didn't get an answer last night, bumping you up!
 
Hi there! Sorry your post was missed yesterday. We recommend increases in .25 of a unit increments. That way you won't miss a good dose. Some more testing through the day would be good data to have to see how low the insulin is taking him through the AM cycle if you are home during the day. If you aren't then if you could at least get a +2 to see how active the cycle is going to be. If the 2 is the same number or lower then it's going to be an active cycle.

If you are going to increase today, I would only take him up to 4.25 and get a mid cycle test in so we can see how that dose looks. And as long as he doesn't go too low ( below 68 on the AT2) I would hold that dose for at least 3 days or 6 cycles if you are following TR or 7 days or 14 cycles if you are following Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) . If you know which one method you are doing, could you add that to your signature along with AT2 meter. That will help people help you better.
 
Hi there Natalie:cool:

There seems to be something off with the us tab of your spreadsheet. Hopefully someone with technically knowledge on that will come along and help you get it sorted.

Lantus dosing is based on how low a dose takes your kitty, not on the preshot number.
The lowest point of a cycle is the nadir, which generally happens somewhere mid cycle. Nadir is not fixed it can and will vary over time.

The preshot BG number helps you determine onset, which is the point in a cycle where the insulin kicks in and starts to work on pulling the BG down. With Lantus onset is generally 2 to 3 hours after shooting.

To get on the road to safely and successfully treating Marvins diabetes you must get to know onset and nadir.
The only way to do that is by testing in between shots.

Is your difficulty testing due to Marvin not cooperating or is it work constraints ?
 
Hi, mostly work is the challenge in getting the BG during the day, I work on projects so right now it's even hard to get home in time for his evening shot. Boss looks at me funny when I leave after a 9 or 10 hour day :( .... and sometimes it's just me the problem, fall asleep on the couch lately. Marvin is on and off about being difficult. It is sad to say, but the only reason I am able to check him is because of his Neuropathy, once he is mobile, I know he won't let me at all. There was just a couple days so far that I gave up, partially cause of his behavior, and I was having difficulty with the strips... they weren't absorbing the blood for some reason.

I am not sure how to do .25. I am guesstimated at .5, I did read an article that sort of explain how too, but my eyes are bad as it is, so not sure I can. With him being such a large boy, was hoping .50 would be ok, and his BG trends fairly high even the few times I tested mid cycle. I will check if I can get hold of smaller needles, I think I may need a prescription for it, the vet office only has the full unit ones and not sure pharmacy will provide without a prescription.

I increased his dose last night to 4.5, did a + 4 (+4.5 about) and BG was only a little lower 403 to 355 , unfortunately I couldn't stay up any longer to be a bit closer to +5.

As for the method, I would love to do the TR, but probably have to use SLGS. Is there much of a difference between AM and PM cycle in regards to nadir and onset?
Active Cycle, what does that mean other than number going down or remaining the same?

The errors values you see in the spreadsheet in the US, is because I use the World TAB, and you see those errors values where I entered text in the world table. I corrected most of it....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top