4/27 Mannie, dental update, +9 276, pmps 258, +2 318, +4 408

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good morning LL ! ~O) ~O) ~O)

Yesterday's Condo

Mr Drama is back :lol: We made 70, and :mrgreen: last night - two nights in a row. YAY!!! Of course that meant a trip to RBC this AM, with a 408. and per the norm, clearing that by +2.

today is also dental day - dropped him off this morning. nailbite_smile Poor guy was not happy: no breffus and then he went to that bad place.... I got him all checked in, gave them the authorization for an x-ray, did not opt for the sealant (just can't see me doing this on a weekly bases at home - reviews on that have not been stellar). I will discuss with them other oral treatments that i can do at home when i pick him up later today. Also clued them in that I wanted his BG checked - if only because he is clearing this rebound, numbers are dropping, and with the anesthesia, i expect they will go even lower. I gave him just short of half his regular dose this AM: 1.25 units. so - paws crossed that they do. I feel that he is in good hands, but I still worry. Aiyee!!!!

WCR: one unhappy dude! no breffus! and then the vet! he took in well, until they took him to "the backroom" - such hollering.... :lol:

so now we wait....
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, +2 371, dental day

((((Michelle)))) I am sure Mannie will be fine and he will have some pearly whites and some good breath! What time do you pick him up!? He will be so happy to be home!!!! Wishing you calming vines today!!!!
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, +2 371, dental day

I hope the post-dental goes OK. I was lucky with Shadoe as she was PETRIFIED and they all said she was a very polite and quiet little girl. I think she just turned to stone and that's their interpretation.
I made sure I just offered her tiny bits of food after she got home - spaced bits out so she would not be gulping down a bunch and making herself sick.
I also made sure that I fussed over her lots to try and make up for taking her back to the vet for dental because she had been there the day before for an ultrasound that got her a good belly shave!
Needless to say, it took a full day of fussing to start to make up for all this bad treatment that had been inflicted on her.

I am sure Mannie will come home and soon forgive you.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, +2 371, dental day

Hi Guys - and thanks for all.

I hope to be able to pick him up in 3-4 hours... as that is shoot time. so paws crossed that the timing of this all works, and that his evening dose is not late. I haven't heard from them yet though... and what is taking so long???? nailbite_smile

And poor Shadoe! Two trips in 2 days! Petrified is a good description - that would be my eldest civvie... well I am sure Mannie is fine, I am just not good sometimes at playing this waiting game. Thanks for the tidbits - I remember the small amounts of food from his last dental. sure don't want him barfing. The civvie that monopolizes my evenings will just have to give up some of it for Mannie tonight. :smile:

and where is that phone call..... i HATE waiting.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, +2 371, dental day

What you do is call THEM and say you are ON YOUR WAY with shot stuff in hand, so they best be ready for when you arrive!
Call now and get an update - tell them that you have no intention of having Mannie's scheduled shot and routine messed up by all of this.

I know that some times, it may get hectic at the other end, so we need to step in and shout from the rooftops on behalf of our kitties.

Don't wait; call now.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, +2 371, dental day

Michelle and Mannie said:
I hope to be able to pick him up in 3-4 hours... as that is shoot time. so paws crossed that the timing of this all works, and that his evening dose is not late.
hope you hear from them soon!
about tonight's shot...
you might want to think about shooting a reduced dose tonight. check out roni/moonie's ss on dental day (11/18/2009) to see the blood glucose lowering effect from the anesthesia. roni shot a reduced AM & PM dose and moonie still managed to drop into the 40s that night. this phenomenon does not occur with every single kitty, but it happens enough for us to notice.

moonie's ss: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=prH88IpHndjbcGPn3uEdaHw
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, +2 371, dental day

Mannie wasn't thrilled with going to the vet--especially going into the "back room"? Who can blame him!! Stu hated the "back room" when we lived in Brooklyn and went to a large clinic. But here in the "sticks" there is only 1 room. Much more comfortable, and we can be there to see what goes on. We hope that all will be ok with your guy and that he will enjoy his treats when he gets home.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, +2 371, dental day

Hi guys - and thanks!

Jill - will do. I called them and he is ready to come home - so I will have some time to work with here. Since I do not know how he will react to the anesthesia, as the last time he did dental i was not testing (yeah - i know: stupid me), I thought I would shoot a reduced dose tonight. I should have him home in time to do a couple of spot checks before shoot time.

Gayle - agreed! I did call them. Mannie has worked too hard to have all this messed up due to a dental... so yeah - called, and before I could give my "listen up", they said he would be ready at 1.

And thanks Ella! The food and the treats are all lined up and ready to so... Tell Stu Mannie understands his dislike of the "backroom". too funny, huh.

All I know: no extractions, did do an X-ray, and no issues shown there. One pocket area they "trimmed" (whatever that means) to eliminate food/plaque build up there. So - he did well. :smile:

And off to get my guy.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276

Mannie survived his dental experience... he is now sprawled out on the floor, where he can keep an eye on everything. :lol: In summation: no extractions, did do an X-ray, and no issues shown there. One pocket area they "trimmed" (whatever that means) to eliminate food/plaque build up there, he came home with samples of dental chews and toothpaste, and an oral rinse. This ought to be fun: experimentation! He is also sporting a nice pretty pink wrap where his IV was hooked up - looks cute - well green would have been better.

+9 spot check when he got home was 276. I will be able to do a few more before his shoot time. I did give him some small bites of food, will give a few more before +10, so hopefully I can see what his pmps will be without food interference.

yay! survived another vet visit. they did say he was a good boy - rubbed their legs, purred when petted, no fussin', did what they asked. wow... and amazing!
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276

Glad to hear all is good. My guess is that they trimmed his gum back. That area may be sore. I'd be careful with any kind of treat that's a little hard to chew for a few days, just in case. Like Jill posted earlier, keep an eye on his BG to make sure the numbers don't keep dropping.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276

thanks Sienne - that sounds right, and think it does bother him a little. no whimpering or anything, just seems a little sensitive. I believe she said it was one of his canines.

and yes - we will watch his levels this afternoon, tonight - so far:
amps +9 276
+10.5 244
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244

If you look at 3/20/10 on Shadoe's ss, you will see how whacked her numbers were after her dental. She did have one extraction, and we were likely on our way down in dose but we really dipped into all green pm of dental and the next morn I had to give no shot.
I think I should have gone with no more than half dose, just to be sure she did not go too low.

Next dental I'll do that for sure!
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244

Hi Gayle - I think I will do the same tonight. He is dropping some, not much, but even that is on such a reduced dose from this morning. Jill mentioned the same thing on Moonie.

Thanks for taking the time - everyone - to help me out over the past couple of days. Appreciated !!!

hey - this is a photo of Mannie after he got home today - sporting his pretty bye-bye IV wrap. :lol: I should have told them we aim for green, and pink is not his color. He was so funny when I removed it - just held out his paw, let me unwrap it, purred the whole time, and with a meow -took a bath. Things are returning to normal in Mannie-land
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1383.JPG
    IMG_1383.JPG
    2.8 KB · Views: 1,170
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244

Yay so happy Mannie is home and ok!!!! I would probably shoot a reduced dose too just in case! Now you can breathe tonight and maybe have some wine or chocolate, lol!!!!! His pic is adorable btw!!!
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244

It's good to hear he is home and happy and that lousy pink thing is off. How well behaving he was to hold the paw up for removal; Shadoe kept trying to shake hers off, she shook her paw non-stop with the few attempts to rip it off with her teeth. I had to take it off and then she was happy. Hers was white will a paw print pattern all over it.

I think it's much safer to shoot a lower dose and you can always move back up the next shot.
I hope the trim heals well and any tenderness passes soon.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie AMPS 408, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244

Hi Michelle and Gayle!

Thanks - we are getting back to normal... tenderness seems to be passing - he didn't "whimper" with his dinner, as he did when he came home... and so far no barfus. YAY! I've just been giving him little meals until I'm sure he doesn't hurl. yuk.

I did shoot a reduced dose, just to be safe, and will go back up to normal tomorrow, depending of course on how tonight pans out.

I will have to tell my vet that they need paw print patterns! much better! stupid pink...

Michelle: CHOCOLATE rules! uh - already ate two pieces..... :lol:

And thanks guys - you've been great!
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244, pmps 258

I'm glad to hear that Mannie is home and that the dental went well. Good Mannie!
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244, pmps 258

Hi Helene!

He was such a good boy... no hissing, or clawing, or ripping, or biting. what a guy. what cat freaks in the car, and gets in "the backroom" and has a complete 180? what i thought was hollers was greeting meows... they played with him before they got him prepped. The vet tech was so impressed - no scratches today for her... :lol: and good kitty! cat_pet_icon

so now we monitor alot tonight...
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244, pmps 258

I'm glad to hear everything went well and that Mannie had a relatively good time at the vet. :lol: Hoping for an easy night for you.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie, dental update, +9 276, +10.5 244, pmps 258

Hi all!

We are getting there - he's still a little loopy, but all in all got it together.

Did get a 318 @ pmps +2. somehow i didn't expect that. ???? Unless things change tonight I think I will go back to his normal dose at amps: 2.75u

RECAP:
amps 408 shot @ 1.75u
+2 371
*** dental ***
+9 276
+10.5 244
pmps 258 shot @ 1.75u
+2 318
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie, dental update, +9 276, pmps 258, +2 318

That sounds like a good plan. It certainly doesn't look like the anesthesia is dropping Manny's numbers.
 
Re: 4/27 Mannie, dental update, +9 276, pmps 258, +2 318

Hi Sienne!

Right you are - no drop... Looks like we will do normal dose at amps. +4 is 408 (OW!), and we seem to be on the rise... well - i still think it was better to be safe than sorry. ??
 
HOORAY for a good dental & a well Mannie!! Those dentals can be tricky, but are necessary!! So glad he's alright & NO extractions!
You must be doing everything right!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Hey Roni!, and Many thanks! I was elated that there were no extractions! YAY! Now just to get his numbers back in line.... tomorrow's goal, and back to normal dose. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top