4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53 +4/74 +6/81 +7/112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=94107&p=1009091#p1009091


Tomorrow I will be shooting 30 mins earlier then today - and then I will finally be back on his normal schedule! Yay!

I would love to see him surf in some blues today - but hoping his numbers dont go TOO low today as I am hoping to get out of the house for a few hours.

Does anyone know if Sheba brand canned cat food is low carb? I have a whole bunch of buy one get one free coupons I was hoping to use today...


Todays numbers :
AMPS - 320
+3 - 314
+4 - 328
+6 - 275
+9 - 249
+11 - 199
PMPS - 220
+2 - 110
+2.5 - 95
+3.25 - 53
+4 - 74
+5 - 72
+6/81
+7/112

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS - 155
+2 - 232
+4 - 291
+6 - 325
+8 - 408
PMPS - 418
+2 - 285
+3 - 242
+4 - 239
+5.5 - 258
+9.25 - 333
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320

I thought Sheba was on the old food lists but I just went and looked for you and did not find them.

I would definitely only try the pate's ( no flaked or chunks or sliced ) and keep detailed records of when you try one....
see if you see bigger food spikes...

after all, ECID, and some cats react to what the protein is, not just the carb value.
Obviously you don't want foods that cause large spikes....

Hope you are able to enjoy some of your Caturday.... out and about....
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320

yeah I am just worried about feeding that without knowing the carb amount... I dont wanna see any spikes in his numbers right now!! Trying to get them to steady out as it is lol

I tried to figure out how to calculate the carbs but it was confusing and I wasnt able to
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

I agree on the confusion. math courses were 22 years ago for me and that was calculus which really muddles the process.

I just gave Shadow a can of Sheba as I was trying it to see what it did for her and IF she would eat it. I bought 2 cans and gave one a week ago.
I'll let you know if I see anything from it.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

In order to calculate the % carbs, you have to have the as-fed or dry matter basis values. You can't calculate them off guaranteed analysis.

If you have the as-feds or DMB, post them and I will calculate the carbs for you.

I'm thinking if your boy does not come into some nice numbers today, we need to take the dose back up in the morning. This cycle is his sixth bounce cycle so you could increase tonight if he doesn't have any green/blue but I wouldn't want him to kick in and keep you up all night.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

Hmm what are the as-fed values and where could I find these at?

Thanks Marje, that sounds like a good plan - in the morning back up to 2u?
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

Some companies....but very few....actually have them on their websites. If they don't, you have to call them and make sure they give you the as-feds. Some of the people don't understand what that is so be sure you know what the guaranteed values are so if they give you those, you can be sure they understand what you want.

Normally when companies make food, they will guarantee that it has a minimum of some ingredients or a maximum of another. But they err all required to test the foods to find out what the exact values are. That's the as-feds or DMB.

Let's see how the day goes but, if he doesn't come back down, we should talk tonight about taking him up tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

They probably change them from time to time but hopefully not so significantly that a food that was 4% calories from carbs becomes 20%. But you never know.

I double checked these calcs and they are correct:
Protein: 13.7
Fat: 6.9
Carbs: 1
Fiber .14
Ash 2.5
Moisture 75.9
Phosphorus .31g

Calories per can 113, with the exception of the beef, which is 114.

Translated to percent of calories:

Protein: 42.4%
Fat: 51.9%
Carbs: 3.1%
Fiber: .12 g per 100 kcal
Phosphorus: 274 mg per 100 kcal

So that means the pates are roughly 3% calories from carbs.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

cool... im going to buy some in a bit when I go to walmart. I have a bunch of buy 1 get 1 free coupons. nice

thanks for ur help marje
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

Just checking on a +11 to see where Jupe went today. I'm wondering if we need to raise the dose back up tonight/tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 Is Sheba brand ok to feed?

let's hold the dose at 1.75u tonight and see what Jupe has up his sleeve, ok? I'm thinking he might want to clear his bounce.

Let's put on the ~O) ~O) ~O) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 +11/199

COTTON CANDY? The last thing I need is sugar :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I would happily take kettle corn, chocolate, or chocolate.....
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter AMPS/320 +11/199

I cant drink any caffeine..

I like chocolate though! I usually eat a little bit of cotton candy since its pure sugar and I usually need a little sugar to help me stay awake.



PMPS 220
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220

I got 20 cans of Sheba canned food today for $5!!! WOOOHOOO! I sure hope they dont spike up his numbers or anything
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110

I might give him some shreds and slow him down. ...that's pretty fast.

The PMPS was really a surf with meter variance.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110

Just fed 1 tsp of the 9% food for now. do you think I should feed 1 more tsp for now or more?

Giving him the 9% for now and if he keeps dropping I will give him the gravy from shreds.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110

Did you test again? If he hasn't dropped much, the 9% is fine. I think 1 tsp is fine for now.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110

I tested at 2.5 before I gave him the food.. sorry forgot to post it.. he was at 95... it is now 4 mins til +3 - but it hasnt been 30 mins since he ate.. so should I wait a little longer to test
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110

He is acting really hungry... trying to go to the plate of food thats out (where he usually free feeds - and I leave it out even when Jupes numbers are low so the other cats can still eat - I just try to keep an eye on Jupe)..
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110

Is it okay to let him eat a little bit? Or do I have to make him wait til after the test in 15 min?
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110

I'd rather you just go ahead and test him now and then feed him....just in case he's coming down again.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53

oh no he came down a lot more... I am going to feed the shreds with gravy now?? how much should I give him??
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53

Somebody read his condo today! The dose increase threat always work!

I'd give him two tsp of the gravy and retest in 30. This boy may want a reduction soon....like tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53

That ought to slow him down!

I have to test and feed Gracie. bRB. Retest in 30 ok?
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53

He's probably acting hungry because he isn't used to these low numbers. At first, Gracie acted hungry at low numbers. Now she only does it if she's in the 30s :shock:
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53

Okay I am giving him a little of his regular 4% carb food. Just wasnt sure if that was okay. I just felt so bad the way he was frantically trying to find food
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53

He might still be dropping ...it's ok for him to eat..just don't let him gorge himself because we aremgoing to need to feed him tonight.
 
Re: 4/27 Jupiter PMPS/220 +2/110 +3.25/53

+4 was 74... guess the high carb food helped a little bit. when should i test next?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top