4/27 Hershey PMPS (342) +4(197) +6(268)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
AMPS (360) +12 - Shot .9u at 2:15am

Still thinking about increasing. Decided against it this cycle because I am UBER tired and can't guarantee any mid-cycle tests. Hershey felt this shot, which hurt my feelings. I was so pre-occupied with how bad I felt that I scraped the needle across my finger. I don't think it's a big deal, except to confirm that I made the right decision not to increase this morning. I used Germ-X and it didn't burn, so that means it didn't break the skin. Anyhoo- have to go pick Doug up, so better get to it.

Y'all have a great day!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)

+6 (33) - immediate retest (31) - 8:20am FED regular meal - ~2-oz Wellness Chicken 4%
:20 retest (213) - :03 retest (253) - What's going on?? If it'd been one +6 test, I'd have said the number was off...would food hit that fast?? Will retest at 9am
:20 retest (29) - something's WRONG - retest (22) FED ~1-oz Wellness Chicken 4%
:20 retest (303)
+7.75 iPet (422) new ReliOn strips (322)

PMPS (342)
+4 (197)
+6 (268)
 
Re: 4/27HersheyAMPS(360) +6(31) :20(213) :20(29) :20(303)

Failed to mention, Hershey didn't ask for the additional food, but happily woofed it down. He's acting life usual - alert and head butting me to get off the computer and give him some attention...he's so terribly neglected ;-)

Baffled as to what's going on here...maybe next retest will shed some light...(303) WHAT'S GOING ON???????
 
Re: 4/27HersheyAMPS(360) +6(31) :20(213) :20(29) :20(303)

My first thought is that there has to be something wrong with the meter or the strips, Libby. To go from the 20-30s to 300 in 20 minutes seems illogical, even with food figured in.....
 
Re: 4/27HersheyAMPS(360) +6(31) :20(213) :20(29) :20(303)

I thought it illogical, too. It's the same pack of strips I've been using...but 2 lows, 2 mid's, 2 more lows and a higher??? Guess I'll break out another pack of strips for the next test...
 
Re: 4/27HersheyAMPS(360) +6(31) :20(213) :20(29) :20(303)

I agree w/ Sue - maybe the strips were funky?

Did you try the other meter and see what it registered? I hate it when you get those... and he'd been staying out of the "danger zone" so well lately - at least when I've been around. Gotta think it's something else.

Yesterday I ended up doing 5 tests at one time. The numbers were crazy - something like 244 (haven't seen that in months!), 304, 345, 377, 306... by this point I was ready to throw up my hands, but since he'd been holding around 300, and that those were the two closest readings, I stuck w/ the 304. I really thought I'd gotten the meter thing squared away, but then something like that happens and you can only do :shock: .

Hopefully he's settled in, and will savor the extra food... spend a little time at IHOP, then get back to life as usual.
 
Re: 4/27HersheyAMPS(360) +6(31) :20(213) :20(29) :20(303)

Thanks for the eyes, Sue and Lu! Honestly, my foggy brain doesn't need more confusion this morning :roll:

+7.75 iPet (422) new ReliOn strips (322) - I don't know exactly what went on, but I think I'm safe to leave him alone for a while. Since this is the same pack of strips we've been using, I can't believe they'd go bad since 2:15 this morning...maybe 1 or 2? We've not had this problem before...had 1 or 2 that wouldn't sip the blood, but nothing like this...will use the 'old' container when test again and see what it says. Thoughts on when I should test again?
 
Re: 4/27 Hershey tested with iPet & new pack of strips

Looks like there's not really a concern at this point, so I'd go back to your regular testing schedule.

Are you breathing yet?
 
Re: 4/27 Hershey tested with iPet & new pack of strips

Just so I make sure I understand this....
Is this the same meter you have been using for a while, with new strips? Or are the meter and the strips new?
I can't see a rise like that in 20 minutes no matter how fast he ate or how fast he dropped. You'd have to mainline sugarwater to make it come up that quickly.
 
Re: 4/27 Hershey PMPS (342)

Doug N Libby said:
+7.75 iPet (422) new ReliOn strips (322)
Carl - This last test was with both the iPet meter (422) that we used to use and the ReliOn Confirm (322) that we've been using since 2/12/12; I just opened a new pack of strips in case there was something wrong with the other strips.

Don't have a new meter battery and Walmart was out. So, switched iPet battery and ReliOn battery, since iPet wasn't used as much.
PMPS (342) +12 - Shot .8u at 2:20pm - THEN remembered I had meant to increase...oh, well, guess that'll have to wait...
 
Re: 4/27 Hershey tested with iPet & new pack of strips

OK, so the IPet and the Relion use the same strips?
Sorry if I'm being thick, I just want to understand the variables and the constants before I try to say something profound that turns out to be stupid! :lol:
Carl
 
Re: 4/27 Hershey PMPS (342) +4(197)

Carl - I WISH they used the same strips! I went the ReliOn numbers for consistency.

+4 (197)
 
Re: 4/27 Hershey PMPS (342) +4(197)

OK, thanks for the clarification.
And this test was with the "old strips" rather than the new just opened ones?

Alright, so he's dropped about 30% roughly in 4 hours. I am betting on the "normal nadir cycle" tonight where he's lower at +6 vs. the "early nadir cycle" where he is lower at +4. That's the "Hershey" factor that I wish I could figure out. It seems that when he has a noticeable nadir, half the time it's at +4 and the other half it is at +6, but I can't figure out why from looking at the SS until my eyes bleed!

Carl
 
The (322) was with the new strips just opened. All other tests are with the same strips I've been using all week. Before PMPS, Doug switched the batteries from iPet to ReliOn (They do use the same batteries.) since the iPet battery had less miles on it.

Can't find a rhyme or reason to his nadir. I thought they were supposed to settle into a general time for it, but I guess he didn't read that.

QUESTION: When I increase his scale, should I increase all of the ranges, or just the ones I've already shot into? I was thinking just the ones I've shot into, but wanted somebody else's thoughts...

Guess what? +6 (268) - UGH!
 
Only change the parts of the scale that aren't working. I'm still not 100% back up to speed but if my memory serves me the top of the scale was ok, it was the bottom of the scale that we were struggling with.
 
QUESTION: When I increase his scale, should I increase all of the ranges, or just the ones I've already shot into? I was thinking just the ones I've shot into, but wanted somebody else's thoughts...

Just the ones you have shot, I think. There's not any reason to change the others since you won't have an idea about how or if they work. I have always been able to understand sliding scales that have greater increments, I suppose because that's how Bob's scale looked (his was in .25 and sometimes in .5 increments). But that said, Bob's scale ran from 1u to 3u or more at times, with "breaks" at the 100 point levels. And I was shooting much higher doses than you have been with Hershey, so the smaller increments make sense on his scale (thinking in percentages of increase rather than just numbers). The difference between Bob getting 3.0 and 3.5 was only a 15% increase. That's like taking Hershey up from .6 to .7 percentage wise.

Now that Robin and Sue are back, I'm hoping they might have some insight as to why the difference in nadir timing with Hershey. I can't figure it out. It doesn't seem to be a day vs. night thing, or a "he does this on one dose, and that on a different dose" thing to me. Hershey is what I would call "complex".
Carl
 
I'm so confused, I'm not sure any of the scale is working anymore. We haven't seen green since 4/2 and almost every PS is pink. Since 4/2, the upper two ranges have increased from .7 - .6 to now .9 - .8 and still the pink PS's...kinda chicken of 1u, haven't shot it since 1/31. But, it may very well be time to revisit it?

Yes, at one time I think Sue and I were both thinking Hershey may be day vs night, but that didn't hold true...of course, nothing holds true with him. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top