4/27 Gracie PMPS 140 +3 84 +6 76 Syringe photos

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

4/26 Recap:
AMPS: 296
+6: 294
+11: 126
PMPS: 124
+1.5: 104
+3: 123
+5: 255
+9: 290 :YMSIGH:


Happy Friday and sending out our prayers and healing vines for Sid and any others who need them.

We have officially declared a failed reduction so Missy G got a dosecrease this morning. She was sassy and running all over the house this morning. It's not that I think she feels better at higher numbers but that she is more rested....just like us :lol: :lol: Even though she sleeps through some of her tests....well at least her eyes are closed and she doesn't move....I know she must be awake. So we're all feeling a little less exhausted after that month of incredible numbers. So....hoping just a blip and she'll get back to business. I think Mr. P is just not ready to take over full responsibility for BG regulation yet. Practice makes perfect, right?

Yesterday I talked about using the calipers. I've resorted to this based on Kim (Simon) talking about it and because of the inaccuracy in the MJ (and all) syringes. AND Gracie is so sensitive to even a change of a tiny drop. I bought the calipers at Harbor Freight. They are 4" digital calipers. It has mm or inch settings (I use mm of course). Once you figure out the measurement acquainted with your dose, you can tighten a screw to keep the caliper head at that measurement.

First...a photo showing four different syringes where the zero unit line was in a different place on the syringe. I used old insulin in the syringes and I measured the dose using the calipers. You can see that the same amount of insulin is in each syringe BUT the placement of the plunger in relation to a unit line is very different showing the syringe inaccuracy. The second photo shows (roughly because I can't hold the syringe, the calipers, and the camera), how I measure the dose using the calipers. And the third just shows more of the calipers. It's easier for me to make sure the calipers are consistently placed on the syringe then it is for me to eyeball how much is in the syringe (without the calipers) to make sure I have the right amount of insulin in it.

27Apr2012044.jpg


27Apr2012042.jpg


27Apr2012043.jpg
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie AMPS 280 Syringe photos

Come on back down Gracie, you got your juice back!

That is quite a difference in the photos. You have a good contact at Monoject now, why don't you send the photos to him?
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie AMPS 280 Syringe photos

What a difference in syringes, Marje. The plunger in the first syringe, is obviously crooked. I am having that problem with the syringes I have now. They are the pharmacy's brand.

Looking for new dose to work beautifully for the pretty little brown striped girl. :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie AMPS 280 Syringe photos

That is fascinating. What a difference in the markings!
I like those calipers, they could come in handy for lots of things. :-D

Come on Gracie, go green again. It's politically correct to be green, ya' know. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie AMPS 280 Syringe photos

Thanks for the pictures and the explanation of your method, Marje. This is valuable info. I think I'll send for those calipers. If you know what your dose is as measured by the caliper, you wouldn't have to look at the lines on the syringe at all!

Come on down now, Gracie!

Tobey: sorry to disappoint you, but our "ducks" are inside my phone (we do have real ones on the rivers and lakes, however; I'll send you a picture one of these days).

More healing vines for Gus,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie AMPS 280 Syringe photos

great photos - thanks for explaining all of it, marje. i can't believe how inconsistent the markings are.
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie AMPS 280 Syringe photos

What a clever idea with the calipers!

Time to bet back to bidness Princess Gracie you don't look right without a :mrgreen: in your subject line now!
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie AMPS 280 Syringe photos

Thanks for the photos, the calipers look like a great solution to syringe inconsistency. I threw out 5 MJ syringes tonight before I found a good one, so frustrating. It seems to go in batches. We'll get a good batch and all will be good, then we open a new box and there are lots of bad ones. I returned the last box with about 50% poor syringes and ADW did not refund anything as it was past the 30 days return date. The calipers will certainly help with bean frustration!

Paws crossed for the Queen's dosecrease, Zener got one too tonight. :cool:
 
Re: 4/27 Gracie PMPS 140 Syringe photos

Thanks all for visiting and I do think the calipers help. I'm doing the same thing...tossing half the boxes of syringes. One box, the zero mark will be well above where it's supposed to be and the next, it will be way below. I read
somewhere that Vicky (Gandalf) used a micrometer and then when Kim said she was using the calipers...I felt it was worth a try. I do feel like I'm getting a much more accurate dose....as long as I can hold my hand still :lol:

Lil G Money....second dose of the dosecrease...you and Zener know what to do!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top