Gracie's Yesterday
4/26 Recap:
AMPS: 296
+6: 294
+11: 126
PMPS: 124
+1.5: 104
+3: 123
+5: 255
+9: 290 :YMSIGH:
Happy Friday and sending out our prayers and healing vines for Sid and any others who need them.
We have officially declared a failed reduction so Missy G got a dosecrease this morning. She was sassy and running all over the house this morning. It's not that I think she feels better at higher numbers but that she is more rested....just like us :lol: :lol: Even though she sleeps through some of her tests....well at least her eyes are closed and she doesn't move....I know she must be awake. So we're all feeling a little less exhausted after that month of incredible numbers. So....hoping just a blip and she'll get back to business. I think Mr. P is just not ready to take over full responsibility for BG regulation yet. Practice makes perfect, right?
Yesterday I talked about using the calipers. I've resorted to this based on Kim (Simon) talking about it and because of the inaccuracy in the MJ (and all) syringes. AND Gracie is so sensitive to even a change of a tiny drop. I bought the calipers at Harbor Freight. They are 4" digital calipers. It has mm or inch settings (I use mm of course). Once you figure out the measurement acquainted with your dose, you can tighten a screw to keep the caliper head at that measurement.
First...a photo showing four different syringes where the zero unit line was in a different place on the syringe. I used old insulin in the syringes and I measured the dose using the calipers. You can see that the same amount of insulin is in each syringe BUT the placement of the plunger in relation to a unit line is very different showing the syringe inaccuracy. The second photo shows (roughly because I can't hold the syringe, the calipers, and the camera), how I measure the dose using the calipers. And the third just shows more of the calipers. It's easier for me to make sure the calipers are consistently placed on the syringe then it is for me to eyeball how much is in the syringe (without the calipers) to make sure I have the right amount of insulin in it.
4/26 Recap:
AMPS: 296
+6: 294
+11: 126
PMPS: 124
+1.5: 104
+3: 123
+5: 255
+9: 290 :YMSIGH:
Happy Friday and sending out our prayers and healing vines for Sid and any others who need them.
We have officially declared a failed reduction so Missy G got a dosecrease this morning. She was sassy and running all over the house this morning. It's not that I think she feels better at higher numbers but that she is more rested....just like us :lol: :lol: Even though she sleeps through some of her tests....well at least her eyes are closed and she doesn't move....I know she must be awake. So we're all feeling a little less exhausted after that month of incredible numbers. So....hoping just a blip and she'll get back to business. I think Mr. P is just not ready to take over full responsibility for BG regulation yet. Practice makes perfect, right?
Yesterday I talked about using the calipers. I've resorted to this based on Kim (Simon) talking about it and because of the inaccuracy in the MJ (and all) syringes. AND Gracie is so sensitive to even a change of a tiny drop. I bought the calipers at Harbor Freight. They are 4" digital calipers. It has mm or inch settings (I use mm of course). Once you figure out the measurement acquainted with your dose, you can tighten a screw to keep the caliper head at that measurement.
First...a photo showing four different syringes where the zero unit line was in a different place on the syringe. I used old insulin in the syringes and I measured the dose using the calipers. You can see that the same amount of insulin is in each syringe BUT the placement of the plunger in relation to a unit line is very different showing the syringe inaccuracy. The second photo shows (roughly because I can't hold the syringe, the calipers, and the camera), how I measure the dose using the calipers. And the third just shows more of the calipers. It's easier for me to make sure the calipers are consistently placed on the syringe then it is for me to eyeball how much is in the syringe (without the calipers) to make sure I have the right amount of insulin in it.