4/27 Ella pm 109

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

no..he must be doing something....perhpaps she's giving him trouble with the pokes. poor ella:(
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

he just posted:) and fed...he 12%.

grabbing lunch brb!
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

She's at 73! YAY!!!!!

I hate for Greg to keep poking her but I'd really like to get her past +6 and a little higher just to be sure the gravy and HC wearing off won't send her back down. Let's do another test in 30 mins and then give her a break
if she is up.

I've got to feed my little brown purry girl but I'll be back in ten minutes and that will be in between his test times. So see you at 15 after the hour. I hope she's doing ok with the testing.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

sorry for the wait. I like to remain calm about things and take my time. I have been feeding here with the syringe because it's easier and quicker. I blended the food but I understand the risk of getting too full.
We'll see if all the feeding carries her too high.

Hope not

Greg
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

I agree! And we are patient :-D Ok...Julie is patient. I'm not :lol: :lol: even after all the time of wearing patience pants....it was only temporary.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

I'm here too.
When fed the "shredded" canned food, my cats typically lick off the gravy and leave the shreds :roll: -- but in your case that's OK because that's where most of the carbs are.

re: Contour strips: agree, the retail price is expensive. You gotta start trolling eBay. I have gotten them for as low as 20cents each.

MJ
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

YAY!! 85!! Great job Greg and you SO deserve that burger!!!

How about a break and test in an hour? From Greg's SS, it's been about two hours since HC and longer since syrup. She should be coming up on +6 shortly.

You have done wonderful today you two...and Ella of course. We need to stay vigilant, though, so I'll be checking back in an hour for another test, k? If she does act hungry, just let her have a little....tsp...of LC.

Enjoy that burger...see you in an hour.

And I also buy my strips off ebay!! Good suggestion, MJ.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

Ella is at 108 based on Greg's created SS. Good job, Greg.

Let's give her one more hour, test, and if she's still going up, let's give her more of a break....and you.

We'll be discussing back channel a dose for this evening. I'm going to grab some breffis. :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

Everybody's hungry (except Ella!).
I'll be back in an hour, too. Got to go to the post office.

Great job Greg and Tamara and Ella!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

greg, my favorite part of your temporary ss was the "greg has a burger!" :lol: gotta keep up your strength for this!

glad you're here too mj! i'm going to go do a couple of things - seems like everything's well covered.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

Thanks Marjorie,

In regards to the dose: Would it be beneficial to be conservative and then work our way up?
I feel like Ella may b unique to the protocol rules:)
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

We are definitely discussing that. We've got time and also want to see how she does this cycle.

Eta...just saw the last test...133....I think you can give her a couple hours. I don't see any need for anyone to keep checking back in. IF she throws you a lower number like 80 or less, post and ask for someone to look at it. But please keep adding her test numbers and most importantly a +11 so we can get the dose for tonight to you .

Great job...see you later today. But do keep checking every couple hours to be sure she is continuing up.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

She's still climbing. wouldn't the hc worn off by now? Is the 0.5 dose no match for the food?

Greg
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

I know that I am not a TR person but please be careful! A bit worrisome when your cat is a reliable eater among other things.

Please keep us posted and please talk with your vet.

_Rebecca
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

Greg...the HC should have worn off but I still think it is smart to be vigilant in testing. Ella is not playing by any rules.

The shed or depot from one dose can affect several subsequent cycles but Ella is coming down the scale quickly and I, like Julie and Dyana, would rather be conservative and take her down more in dose to keep her safe. You can always go back up if need be. Sometimes we need to skip a shot to let the shed drain a little more. With additional tests this afternoon and the +11, we'll be able to see how much more she might need to come down in dose or if a skipped shot is warranted.

Regarding your question about the .5u dose being no match for food.....I don't know the answer to that because there are too many variables involved here including the depot, the dose, the food, and Ella's own metabolism and what her pancreas might be doing. I believe she is probably producing her own insulin but how much? We don't know. Thus we want to err on the side of caution with a dose.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

Greg --

Do you think you could add whatever the +time is for the 2:00 test (the 133) to your subject line? That +3=36 has been sitting there for a while and I think some of the people that are attentive to the board are nervous. Unless they read through the entire (long) thread, there's no way to know you have a separate SS running right now and people are understandably concerned about Ella since they haven't seen the movement back to safer numbers.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

Hi Greg,
Great job! Where is Ella in her cycle? I figure she is at about +8, maybe +8.5. It is normal for numbers to rise in the latter part of the cycle. In any event, the 0.5 dose that Ella had this morning was her first on this amount of insulin. All doses need a few days to "settle in". Ella's cycles are all messed up now because of the skipping of shots, the earned reductions in amount of insulin, etc. And let's not forget the bounces. So your question:
tpr said:
She's still climbing. wouldn't the hc worn off by now? Is the 0.5 dose no match for the food?
can't be answered adequately. There is more to it than food. Food is our main resource for bringing a cat's blood glucose up to safe levels. But there are many more things at work in Ella's body, most notably the liver releasing hormones and other stuff to counteract what the liver perceives as dangerously low numbers. So although the hc food may have worn off and may not still be having an effect on Ella's blood glucose, Ella's liver has finally decided to take over. A bounce will probably happen. Not to worry. She is in safe numbers now. Even if she bounces high, high numbers on a temporary basis are not dangerous. So let's see what she does the rest of the cycle. The experienced dosing people will put their heads together this afternoon and give you some recommendations on how to proceed over the weekend. TGIF indeed!

You guys are doing a fabulous job!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. crossed with Marje's and Sienne's posts.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +2=133

Hi Rebecca,

Thanks for your message. Greg spoke to one of our vets this morning. He doesn't even feel that we need to be testing at these low numbers. He thinks that she would have been ok even if we weren't feeding her to bring her up as the human meters have a 20% variance from the AT. I usually deal with the other vet she wasn't available. Regardless, both of them recommend urine glucose testing and curves every few weeks. I'm going to send the data sheet to their office so that they can see the numbers but they don't seem concerned at this point which is concerning to me.

Tamara
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

Greg, I updated the subject line.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

Hi Ella,

Since her series of greens I don't think Ella has been bouncing from getting too low. It seems to me like her bg's have risen due to missed shots. Atleast that's what it seems to me:)

There is more to it than food. Food is our main resource for bringing a cat's blood glucose up to safe levels. But there are many more things at work in Ella's body, most notably the liver releasing hormones and other stuff to counteract what the liver perceives as dangerously low numbers. So although the hc food may have worn off and may not still be having an effect on Ella's blood glucose, Ella's liver has finally decided to take over. A bounce will probably happen. Not to worry. She is in safe numbers now. Even if she bounces high, high numbers on a temporary basis are not dangerous.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

I would agree that her high numbers are primarily from skipping shots but could have a bit of bounce in them.....Ella is right in that there has been so much going on that it's difficult to sort out.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

You're right..nobody knows for sure...except for Ella's liver and pancreas:)
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

+9=158

If the hc and syrup should have worn off than perhaps this is a bounce?!
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Just got home and Ella is a hungry muffin. She's beggin' hard.
Thanks for all your support today:)
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Hi Tamara,
I'm glad that Ella is higher and that she's ready to eat. I will be out for most of the evening (leaving in a half hour), but the experts will be talking among themselves and will help you out with your evening dose. I'll look in on you tonight. Good luck and please tell Greg that he did a fabulous job today.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Tamara

What time do you shoot and I'm assuming you are on East Coast time right?
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

6:45pm. One hour and fifteen from now. We are Eastern time.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Ok. Julie and I are watching the clock. It might be 6:30 your time before we get back to you on the dose but we will....ok?! :-D And if you can get a test between now and then, that would help. I want to see if she's going to get a second dip or keep going up.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Are you shocked Serryn? :lol:

It was a crazy day! Greg stepped up to the plate and hit a grand slam!
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

took her bg at 6:05 and she's dipping =118

she's hungry....
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

i'm nervous...just sayin'

do you want me to take another test at 6:40pm. Would that influence your decision?

she's biting on computer wires she's so hungry!
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Are you ready for another fun evening? :o
Do you feel OK giving the 0.5U again? She seemed to respond to it very well today. Maybe too well...?

MJ
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

we'd like to give you some choices, tamara, with the pros and cons to help you and greg decide what to do. the bottom line here is that ella is making her own rules! did you read the protocol to her so she would know what she was supposed to do? because that might help all of us! ;-) :lol:

we also know that you guys are the ones who are doing all the work. we might be sitting here cheering you on & trying to help you navigate . . . but you're the worker bees.

ella wants to go off of insulin - that seems pretty clear. i know that's making you very, very sad, but she seems to want to do what she wants to do. :mrgreen:

mj is right - that's one of the choices. i'll brb.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

do you need another test for pmps?
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Yes, please. Another test for PMPS, and we'll get right back to you with a dose suggestion.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Hi Tamara. I wanted to get this in, before tonight's excitement starts. :roll:
There were a lot of us here today, rooting for you. Greg did a wonderful job!
I'm sure lots of peeps will be watching again tonight, but we won't get in the way of those wonderful ladies helping you; Angels, for sure. o:-) o:-) o:-)
Good luck to you, Greg and Ella, tonight. :-D

Barb
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

Thanks Barb!! I know I have some great angels by my side who are working hard to figure out my unique situation:)

I'm very nervous to dose her these days..she's been giving us some crazy numbers!
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

can i start feeding her..she's eating the pillows! for real!
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

If you're gonna shoot really soon (just waiting for a consensus on 0.5U or lower), go ahead and feed her. She's clearly dropping, so I don't see the point in waiting for a rise.

MJ
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

You can go ahead and feed her, Tamara. I think we're going to suggest skipping tonight.
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

the thing is that we don't have a crystal ball. ella is blazing her own trail.

we want to suggest that you skip the dose tonight and start out tomorrow morning fresh with a 0.10 u dose, probably, depending on her numbers.

this might send her high tonight, but we are factoring in the fact that lantus is a depot insulin and it can cause effects until it drains. we want to let the shed drain, let you guys sleep and see where we are in the morning.

how does that sound to you?

also, there's a lot of concern about why she might not be eating. this is huge and probably has influenced what's been going on the past few days. can you get her to the vet to see what's going on with that?
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

if she's eating the pillows i want her to tell you why she won't eat her cat food!

can you give us a guesstimate on how much cat food she's eaten today? not including the pillows. ;-) and refresh my memory - how much does she weigh?
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

ok...will skip the shot. she's eating on her own now..she was starving.

she hounds around the kibble and i know she would go to town so I personally think it's something to do with the soft food. She's not a huge fan. When I took her to the vet last week she said the same thing. She gave her a few nuggets and she gobbled it up no problem.

How do I measure .10u?
 
Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

yes we are able to monitor.

so if I recall she is a bit over 11 lbs. she was eating a can (5.5oz) and 3/8 a day during the transition. Now she's eating about a can. She usually needs a kick start to get going and if she's really hungry she wll lap up a bit. If not, I need to put it on a spoon. Maybe she has princess syndrome?

last week, the vet said she may be suffering from a mild uri. She is not sneezing. She sometimes makes a wheezy sound when she sighs in her sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top