4/27 Dumdum PMPS~168 +2~194 +4~67 +5~78 +6~98 +7~109

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
Hello!
Dumdum's BG today
AMPS 118
+1 216 (shot at here)
+4 279
+6 261
+10 183
+11 164

PMPS 168
+2 194
+4 67
+5 78
+6 98
+7 109

yesterday
AMPS 403
+4 442
+8 384

PMPS 342
+4 132

It seems better than yesterday. This morning I'm afraid that if I shot at amps 118, it might cause hypo. So I stalled the shot time after he had breakfast. Now it looks like I don't have to worry about that. :mrgreen: I hope later will still stay in good numbers. He looks more energetic today. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

Hello.
Your spreadsheet should now say that the 118 you didn't shoot is a +13. And you AMPS would be 216.
Did you shoot the pmps 168 12 hours later ( from the 216) or did you shoot 11 hours later?

IF it was 11 hours later .... than you gave an early shot.
Random Notes:
•Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

You might find this post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers helpful. Stalling is definitely one option. In case you were unaware, if you delay your shot, you don't want to feed Dumdum. Food will influence your test numbers. Also, since you delayed in the morning, your PM shot should have been 12 hours from whenever your actually gave your AM shot.

Since Lantus is a long-acting type of insulin, sticking to a 12 hour schedule is important. An early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction. If you need to stall or shift the time of a shot, you can change the time by 15 minutes at each shot time or by 30 minutes once a day until you are back on schedule.
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

Oh God...so that means I gave an early shot which is increasing dose...so that's reason why he hypo before...oh...I only know that if his BG number to low, I have 3 ways to deal with it, but don't know I should stick to a 12 hour schedule...
So from now on I should focus on if he's going to hypo, right? Should I give him more things to eat right now? or I have to wait until his BG shows lower then give him food? Is there anything I should do right now to make up my mistake?
I am so sorry and worried....
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

Get a +2.

If the numbers drop significantly, that can indicate an active cycle.
Are you home for the day and able to test and feed if you need to?
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

His +2 is 194. I just get it.
Yes I am at home and ok with test and feed. Should I test at +3 +4 +5 +6 ? Or +4 +6 ? Or more than these ?
Thanks for answering. Thank all of you to correct me such important thing.....
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

Rhiannon, thank you!
I'll keep my eye on his BG changing. ~O)
A lot thanks again!!!
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

Akilo

Good job. Don't worry...now you know. Actually, when you shoot early or late, you don't typically see the effect that cycle. You would likely see it in the next cycle unless you are shooting two hours early or late. Even then, it's often the next cycle due to the depot.

I think his numbers before got low due to a combination of things including too much insulin.

Have a good evening!
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

Marje and Gracie said:
Akilo
Good job. Don't worry...

Thank you for comforting me, that's truly touching.
I think it starts to show some low numbers from now.
His +4 is 67. I just gave him some high carb food, and decide to test +5, see what will change next. It will be a long night. pc_work
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

It's a good plan to get a +5. For what it's worth, I think you would have been fine to give Dumdum some low carb food with the 68 and then re-tested in 30 minutes to see if that caused the numbers to stabilize. As you collect more information, you'll be able to tell when to use high carb vs. low carb food.

Two notes: Can you edit your subject line to include the test data as you collect it? You'll need to go to the first post in the thread and make the edit there. (The only way to make the subject line visible on the Board is to change the subject line in the first post.) Several of us scan the board to see if anyone needs help and it's much more convenient if the numbers are easily seen.

We don't consider low numbers a hypoglycemic event unless your cat has symptoms. Since a dose reduction occurs if numbers drop below 50, if your cat is in low numbers and doing fine, it's really not hypoglycemia. We don't want Dumdum to stay in low numbers for a long time but we do want to be able to determine if the dose is more than he needs.
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS 168

Sienne and Gabby said:
It's a good plan to get a +5.....

Hi,Sienne,
Thank you for replying and giving me more information. It really helps! Look like I am too nerves. :?
I've changed the subject by add two more data. It's that the right way ? If there is anything I need to modify, please let me know. Once again, I'm sorry for my poor English reading, that makes me can not sure if I do correct as sticky says. What you telling me really help me a lot. :razz:
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS168 ;+2 194;+4 67

The subject line looks good...you might find on a busy numbers day that you need the space where the semi colons are. We are pretty good at reading it :-D

Your English is great! Just let us know if there is anything in the stickys you don't understand. It's a lot for native English speakers to learn. We are here to help.
 
Re: 4/27 Dumdum PMPS168 ;+2 194;+4 67

I do it like Sienne...
pmps~168 +2~194 +4~67

I like that little squiggly line.... :lol:


I think your English is very good.
 
Akilo,

An excellent job today on those questions and learning a few new things. You are doing fantastic with the English skills by the way.

Love the picture of your cat Dumdum in the avatar. Very pretty.
 
Great job!! I hope you got a good night's sleep.

Please let us know if there's anything that's not clear or we're not communicating clearly. There is a lot of slang that is particular to this Board and it can easily get confusing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top