4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77 +2 115 PMPS 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChEMom

Member Since 2014
yesterday's condo

I went ahead and fed him some Friskies w/gravy this morning because I know where we're headed (he's using up his excess depot from the dose drop last night.)
I'll be checking him frequently.
 
Re: 4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77

As an alternative strategy, rather than feeding HC, you could test at +0.5 and see where his numbers are going. Another option, if your schedule permits, is to stall for 30 min., don't feed, and then re-test. Frankly, I think the first strategy is a bit better but you do have options.
 
Re: 4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77 +2 115

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

A beautiful AMPS there - :mrgreen:
Dimitri is doing great :RAHCAT

On 04/21 you were asking about increasing from 1u to 1.25u.
You stepped up your testing, as recommended.
6 days later Dimitri has 2 reductions under his belt. :-D
Well done !

ChEMom said:
I went ahead and fed him some Friskies w/gravy this morning because I know where we're headed
If you had to run out the door or could not monitor for some reason that would be a strategy to use.
If you are able to monitor the strategy Sienne suggested, grabbing a test 30 mins after you shoot to see where his numbers are going, is better.
No use clouding the picture with HC if you don't have to.
 
Re: 4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77 +2 115

Even with the HC food, here he is at 62 at +5. I will assume this is still excess in the shed, which will work itself down today.
 
Re: 4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77 +2 115

Sandy, yes, you were right. You can't make good decisions with skimpy data.
 
Re: 4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77 +2 115

You may be right Sandy, because I think he is thoroughly done with me and all the ear pokes :lol:
 
Re: 4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77 +2 115

Woo Hoo! Look at Dimitri go!

That definitely looks like a cat on a mission!!

OK now Dimitri...59 is low enough...time to hop on that surfboard!!

Hope you guys have a nice quiet afternoon!
 
Re: 4/27 Dimitri AMPS 77 +2 115

I think he heard you Chris, he's up into the Blue and very content.
 
I'm just a bit confused - I know cats "bounce" when you're increasing their dosage, but do they also bounce when coming down?

Thanks.
 
I think you might be thinking of New Dose Wonkiness (NDW)..when you increase the dose and instead of the numbers going down, they go up

When a cat isnt regulated, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver”panics” and reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.

There are a couple of things that can trigger bounces.
A level less than the cat is used to (can be any number, not necessarily under 50)
Fast dropping numbers (like 50 points an hour)

Does that help?
 
Yes it helps. Is it possible that Dimitri's liver is still in school at this point? I'm just trying to figure out what's up with the PMPS of 200. But I will wait and
see what his other numbers are tonight and then tomorrow.

I wanted to share that Dimitri is *definitely* feeling more like his old self. Before he got sick, he would sometimes "kill" something, usually something small, like
a toy, or a Christmas ornament, and then he would talk very loudly to tell the entire family about his success. Tonight, I heard his beautiful voice echoing from
my bathroom, going up and down, using all kinds of tones. I ran to check on him and found him with a Ziploc bag that had 3 of my daughter's leftover plastic
Easter eggs in it. He was so proud of himself. :-D And I was happy for him. He's getting better. Thanks to all of y'all for your help!
 
Is it possible that Dimitri's liver is still in school at this point?

The quick answer is that cats bounce until they don't

If you look at China's spreadsheet, you'll see she's been in nice numbers for quite some time, but yet, if she drops too fast, she still bounces.

As Dimitri gets more used to being in lower numbers, the bounces won't be as high, and won't last as long
 
Thanks Chris, that really helps me understand. His evening +2 is up, so I'll wait and see how he is in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top