4/27 Darcy PMPS 433, +2 466, +3 471 I'm so unhappy. I'm killing him with this hi-carb food :-(

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
After a long night in the greens with Darcy not eating -- so using Karo syrup on him to make sure he wouldn't drop below 60 while I slept (which was not much... up every hour to check on him).... his BG was 91 this morning so he earned a skip. There's absolutely no way I was going to give him insulin when I'm not going to be there to monitor him. I hope he won't go too high with the vet stress... but we'll see about that tonight.

He still has very little appetite. When I dropped him off this morning, at least one of the best vet techs was there (she's very detail oriented and always takes notes of everything that I say) -- she's smart and squared away. She gave me a copy of yesterday's bloodwork which shows slight improvement over last Friday's. At least his phosphorus and BUN are now measurable with discrete numbers instead of just being completely off the scale. His creatinine is still very high, but is also slightly improved (although I think that until he starts eating again his creatinine will remain high).

Oh, and about the Jury Summons... I didn't get out of there until 2 p.m., but I was certainly glad to be released! It was a very long day (and night).

I'm off to the chiropractor this afternoon. My back is starting to feel worse again, but it's still much better than it was at the worst.

Thank you to everybody who checked in on us. So nice that you did not forget about us! That makes us feel good! Darcy says thank you! Here's a photo of him waiting in the carrier to be taken inside to the vet :-(

IMG_4678 (002).jpg



yesterday's: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-26-darcy-amps-225.246619/#post-2782317
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4678 (002).jpg
    IMG_4678 (002).jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 373
So good to hear from you, Susanne. Poor Darcy has a look of concern on his face. Must know he is going to the vet. Good to hear those numbers have come down a little. Are you taking him to the vet every day for a while now?

I'm thrilled you got out of jury duty. With everything going on with Darcy it is really unfortunate to have back problems too. A lot of people were praying and sending well-wishes for both Darcy and you. Nice to see his glucose numbers are coming back down. Thanks for the update, Suzanne. Hope your back and your kitty get better very soon.
 
After a long night in the greens with Darcy not eating -- so using Karo syrup on him to make sure he wouldn't drop below 60 while I slept (which was not much... up every hour to check on him).... his BG was 91 this morning so he earned a skip. There's absolutely no way I was going to give him insulin when I'm not going to be there to monitor him. I hope he won't go too high with the vet stress... but we'll see about that tonight.

He still has very little appetite. When I dropped him off this morning, at least one of the best vet techs was there (she's very detail oriented and always takes notes of everything that I say) -- she's smart and squared away. She gave me a copy of yesterday's bloodwork which shows slight improvement over last Friday's. At least his phosphorus and BUN are now measurable with discrete numbers instead of just being completely off the scale. His creatinine is still very high, but is also slightly improved (although I think that until he starts eating again his creatinine will remain high).

Oh, and about the Jury Summons... I didn't get out of there until 2 p.m., but I was certainly glad to be released! It was a very long day (and night).

I'm off to the chiropractor this afternoon. My back is starting to feel worse again, but it's still much better than it was at the worst.

Thank you to everybody who checked in on us. So nice that you did not forget about us! That makes us feel good! Darcy says thank you! Here's a photo of him waiting in the carrier to be taken inside to the vet :-(

View attachment 60696


yesterday's: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-26-darcy-amps-225.246619/#post-2782317
Hi Suzanne I am off for X-rays but had to let you know I’ve been waiting to see your post. Hope Darcy does well at the vet, hope the chiropractor helps you. Just so happy to see your post and that things seem a “little” better. Will check in later. Sending healing prayers to you both :bighug::bighug:
 
So good to hear from you, Susanne. Poor Darcy has a look of concern on his face. Must know he is going to the vet. Good to hear those numbers have come down a little. Are you taking him to the vet every day for a while now?

I'm thrilled you got out of jury duty. With everything going on with Darcy it is really unfortunate to have back problems too. A lot of people were praying and sending well-wishes for both Darcy and you. Nice to see his glucose numbers are coming back down. Thanks for the update, Suzanne. Hope your back and your kitty get better very soon.
Yes. My plan is to take him to the vet probably every day this week. I'm trying to avoid the emergency vet, but I hope that is not a mistake (to not keep him on 24/7 IV fluids). His kidney values have improved slightly. BUN went from >130 to a measurable value of 116 (still high); Phosphorus went from >16.1 mg/dL to 8.6 (reference range is 3.1 - 7.5). Creatinine went from 8.5 to 7.9 mg/dL. These are all from Monday and the earlier (higher numbers were from last Friday.

Thanks for looking at my thread, Summer! I hope you are having a good day and fine weather.
 
Hi Suzanne I am off for X-rays but had to let you know I’ve been waiting to see your post. Hope Darcy does well at the vet, hope the chiropractor helps you. Just so happy to see your post and that things seem a “little” better. Will check in later. Sending healing prayers to you both :bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Adrienne. I hope your x-rays show lots of healing!!
 
Thank you for the update and I hope the numbers improve after another day of fluids. Darcy will let you know if he needs to go to the emergency vet. I think in this picture, Darcy's got a little thought bubble full of little quail eggs. Instead of counting sheep, he will be counting quail eggs today. Bless him. It's nice to see his eyes wide open and ears pointed up and whiskers loose and curved (yes I have spent too much time looking at the feline grimace scale fact sheet).

Hope you feel better after the chiropractor. Stress will do all sorts of things to you. Sending best healing wishes to you both. :bighug: and from Minnie :cat::bighug:
 
Hi Suzanne I'm happy to see that his levels have come down and the vet tech that you like is there. Prayers for his kidney valves to improve every day.
Sorry your back is feeling worse again, I hope the chiropractor helps.
Just look at his beautiful face there, just want to kiss that nose.
Hope everything goes well ♥:bighug::bighug:
 
Darcy is looking pretty perky for a sick kitty! Really glad to hear that his kidney values are coming down. Hopefully a few more days of fluids will have him more stable. Take care of yourself and be careful with your back, Suzanne. :bighug::bighug:
 
I guess Darcy didn't want that increase after all. :eek:

Really nice BP measurement at home! How are the shaky legs now? Hopefully that's getting better too. :bighug:
 
Well, who knows what to give my cat anymore. I guess it's not surprising that he's high since I skipped his shot and he went to the vet.

He's home now and wasn't that interested in food. Soooo... I decided to try the renal foods on him (I know! I am not a big fan of the renal foods either). It was really something to watch him scarf down half a can (the small can) of Royal Canin "T" morsels in gravy. I know that it is SUPER high carb, but I just don't know what else to do right now. I haven't seem him eat like that in a long time!

Back to vet again tomorrow.
 
Oh Suzanne, I feel for you. Such a mental juggling act, trying to decide what to do for the best. Eating is good!! I bet you felt so good to see him scarfing down food. I found "not eating" the hardest thing to handle, despite the feeding tube.

As for BG - Darcy clearly sneaked out last night to the karaoke with Minnie's other backing singers "fly me to the moon". Naughty boy. :cat:

Hope you both have a peaceful evening. :bighug:
 
I guess Darcy didn't want that increase after all. :eek:

Really nice BP measurement at home! How are the shaky legs now? Hopefully that's getting better too. :bighug:
Oh, his legs are still weak/wobbly. I think, just with observation, that he may be walking a LITTLE better? If his phos continues to go down, I hope to see more improvement? I'm trying not to use just my own "wishful thinking!"
 
Oh Suzanne, I feel for you. Such a mental juggling act, trying to decide what to do for the best. Eating is good!! I bet you felt so good to see him scarfing down food. I found "not eating" the hardest thing to handle, despite the feeding tube.

As for BG - Darcy clearly sneaked out last night to the karaoke with Minnie's other backing singers "fly me to the moon". Naughty boy. :cat:

Hope you both have a peaceful evening. :bighug:

I think that naughty, Mr. Darcy decided to let his true colors show! I think he didn't want to eat too much for me last night because he knew that there were going to be so many delectable treats at that full pink moon pawty! He had to save space for all that food! What do you think they sang last night? There was Hungry Eyes... and (I've Had) The Time of My Life. What else?
 
Last edited:
Oh, his legs are still weak/wobbly. I think, just with observation, that he may be walking a LITTLE better? If his phos continues to go down, I hope to see more improvement? I'm trying not to use just my own "wishful thinking!"
Oh, and, by the way, Darcy NEVER sings backup! He wants the lead on Frank Sinatra's "Fly Me to the Moon." He also does a mean, "Strangers in the Night."
 
Are you telling me that his name is not Fitzwilliam, it's Frank??! So all our bouncing kitties have Darcy to thank for flying to the moon today, and it's not Minnie's fault!!

You're testing my memory here...She's Like the Wind....the one that goes "Oh Sylvia? Yes, loverboy? And if he doesn't answer?"
 
Oh, his legs are still weak/wobbly. I think, just with observation, that he may be walking a LITTLE better? If his phos continues to go down, I hope to see more improvement? I'm trying not to use just my own "wishful thinking!"

Wishful thinking often gets positive results Suzanne. So many are sending wishes for Darcy improvement.

I wish Dolly had gone to the party if only to see Darcy showing off how talented he is. :woot::woot: I think it’s time for him to go “solo”, enough of being a backup. I’m sure Minnie would agree and Sorry Minnie, no offense to you. :smuggrin:

See.....I just read your previous post Suzanne, knew I was right, Darcy has high aspirations. He’s a STAR :joyful: Now he needs to start feeling better so he can showoff to all of his feline friends. :cat::cat::cat:

I hope the chiropractor helped today. I hope your stress level has improved and you’ve been able to get some rest. Sending loving healing prayers to both of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last time you skipped, he was red the next cycle, and down to blues the end of that cycle. Time for patience and seeing what some insulin on board can do. :bighug::bighug: If you need to raise the dose to compensate for food, so be it. But with that skip, it's time for wait it out for the depot to build.
 
Last time you skipped, he was red the next cycle, and down to blues the end of that cycle. Time for patience and seeing what some insulin on board can do. :bighug::bighug: If you need to raise the dose to compensate for food, so be it. But with that skip, it's time for wait it out for the depot to build.
Yes. Thank you, Wendy. I probably would have shot if he was going to be home with me and not under another’s care (even the vet). Next time I guess I will do at least half a dose?
 
Are you telling me that his name is not Fitzwilliam, it's Frank??! So all our bouncing kitties have Darcy to thank for flying to the moon today, and it's not Minnie's fault!!

You're testing my memory here...She's Like the Wind....the one that goes "Oh Sylvia? Yes, loverboy? And if he doesn't answer?"
Oh, yes it is Fitzwilliam Darcy! He flew to the moon tonight... inspired by the Frank Sinatra song.
 
Sending hugs!

Sabrina is not eating well lately so I started to syringe feed her to make sure she gets enough calories. I found this on amazon and it works really well. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08HWKXT6C/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 hope it helps!
Thank you, Jia. I have a good stock of feeding syringes with a soft medical grade silicon tip. They are so much easier on the mouth than the hard plastic tips. I sure hope that your sweet Sabrina will start eating more on her own. Thanks so much for your response. I appreciate it!
 
Back
Top