4/27 Cobb PMPS 341 (2uR) +1.75 331 +6 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Cobb may have been a bit lower this morning, I'm guessing he dipped into the blues last night, and he was fed about 1.5 hours before shot time. Complicating factors with Matty...a bad night terror that kept us up, so we had to take care of Cobb quickly so Matty could sleep some more. :roll:

But a nice cycle...
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214

I'm guessing that the AMPS # is food influenced, which wouldn't be an accurate #. Normally, the kitty isn't fed up to 2 hours before shot time simply because of that reason. Some of us test, feed, and then shoot, whereas others, such as myself, test, shoot and then feed. You may want to try either method to see what works for you both. Just a thought, and have a good day! :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214

Hi Suzanne,

Sorry to hear that Matty had a bad episode last night. But Cobb is looking good this morning, despite a possible food spike.

Have a fine day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214

I rarely feed Cobb in that two hour window. Unfortunately, it was a necessity this morning and couldn't be avoided. I usually test, set down food and shoot him while he's eating. All within a 3-4 minute window. Unless he was under 100, I would have shot the same amount anyway so it wouldn't have changed anything I did.
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Sorry to hear you guys had a rough night there. Hope today is calm and restful for you all.

Cobb is looking good!
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214 +3.5 361

i read Sandy's comment in yesterday's condo about the R influence. The greatest impact punkin had from the use of R was generally the next cycle or two after i used R. Initially it would bring him down a bit, and it only lasted 3ish hours in punkin, but the result of lowering that cycle was the next cycle started lower. So I really saw better numbers the second/third cycle after the R.

Sometimes I also saw what you may be seeing today - it was like I could bring down the bounce temporarily but perhaps the liver was still putting out hormones and when the R cleared he would go back up. It was also hard for me to discern at times whether it was a new bounce or the "old" bounce that just wasn't done.

One of the questions I had wondered was if they go low and the liver begins to react, how long does that hormone/sugar output last? Does it go all at once in a shot, or does the liver put them out for several hours? ie, could my R have worn off before the liver was done putting out hormones/sugar? I suspected the latter sometimes. As I mentioned before, it seemed like punkin's body would very quickly lose his familiarity with greens and would begin to bounce anew. :shock:

sounds like a dreadful night! looks like he's trying to bounce on you again today! COBB! ohmygod_smile come back down!!!
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214 +3.5 361

julie & punkin (ga) said:
As I mentioned before, it seemed like punkin's body would very quickly lose his familiarity with greens and would begin to bounce anew. :shock:

sounds like a dreadful night! looks like he's trying to bounce on you again today! COBB! ohmygod_smile come back down!!!

Here's what I don't understand. Perhaps Cobb's body doesn't think he's spent plenty of time in blue the way I do. But I don't see why he is bouncing after going below 200. He seemed to be doing fine under that number before.

Is today a bounce or some NDW since I did up his dose last night. I also don't understand the NDW when it comes to filling the depot. Ok, the depot is filling up but it is just as full as yesterday morning...just getting some more. Right??
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214 +3.5 361

The explanation given for NDW is that the reason is unknown why cats will sometimes react to a larger dose with increased BG's, but to just hold the dose and wait for the cat to settle in. I don't have a better explanation.

i don't have an answer about the blue numbers either. he doesn't look like he was dropping fast last night - that was only 31 points in the pm cycle tests in 1.25hrs - that's not fast. i doubt he went into greens, based upon where he started and his typical speed of dropping, plus the test data you had last night. i guess he's just going to confound us today! ;-) but you do have the R option to bring him out of the high numbers if you want to use it.

the important thing is just to press on with what you do know works. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214 +3.5 361 +7 384(2.5R)

Well, I've noticed he's been bouncier since we had the dental last week. I know I reduced his dose after that, but even after doing that we saw some good numbers, and then he bounced.

The last good week he had was 3/30. He was in blue for the majority of that week. Even the pink he hit was barely above 300, so it could have been meter variance. And his dose was several units less of Lantus. I then inched upholding to push him a bit lower into green, and I lost the blues. It was literally the day I got his IAA diagnosis...coincidental, I know.

Should I just go back up to the 23uL, which is where I saw the last blue streak? Should I up my R usage?

Here is what I'm experimenting R scale wise:
250-300: 1u
300-325: 1.5u
325-350: 2u
>350: 2.5u

I would consider 3uR above 400. It seems as though he's developed a resistance to the R as well. He originally responded well to 1 or 2 drops of it.

Should I consider using R when Cobb is lower than 250 in an attempt to push him into low blues or even greens, and see if the Lantus dose can hold him there? Is there an answer to that, or should I just experiment when I can monitor him? He does seem to respond to the R, but maybe I'm not giving it enough - meaning I'm waiting until he's too high for it to really do anything, and then not giving enough?

Lots of questions, I know...

Lurkers, please note that R usage and any advice given here on out on the thread is Cobb-specific. Cobb is insulin resistant, possible acrocat.
 
Re: 4/27 Cobb AMPS 214 +3.5 361 +7 384(2.5R) - dose question

Sorry your nights seem to be hectic lately. You must be so tired. :YMHUG:

I would have gone right back up to 23U. The thing I notice with Neko and her acro/IAA combo is that I cannot let her stay out of greens for a any length of time, or she "forgets" what they are like and gets very bouncy when she sees them after a time away. Even today she is reacting to a lower green than she's seen for a couple weeks. Or she's decided to chase after Cobb today. :roll:

The other complicating factor with IAA is that I've observed delays in the serious bounce starting. For Neko, often the third cycle after the low event is her worst. I don't know if the liver gets reminded of the low and releases more sugars or whether it's the delays due to the the insulin antibodies. Plus, I'd bet Cobb spent some serious time in the blue last night, maybe just longer and/or lower than he's been for a while. I'm not sure how R adds into this mix as I don't have experience there. Neko's just too unpredictable now as to how long her bounces will last.
 
i agree about going back to 23u. when you reduce and the numbers don't hold in a good range, you can just go back up to your last good number. you don't have to wait.

and yet, here you are tonight with the 154, although that's with the help of R.

I think i would go back up to 23u.

On the R scale - are those numbers in conjunction with preshot numbers? Because I do think it matters where in the cycle the particular number falls. One option that i think you can consider is shooting the R past the nadir, as long as he's not heading toward clearing the bounce.

For example, on the past 4 days, there were 3 days where he was yellow in the +9/10 day cycle. On the 23rd, you'd given him R with his amps, and at +9 he was 227. At +6 he was 258, so you can see the R effect had basically waned and he wasn't dropping very fast. That was only 30 points in 3 hrs. You would know at that point that the Lantus is past its nadir, so I think you could try smaller amounts of R to try to move his range down. Say 0.5u again. Just enough to either hold it flat or move it a few points down so the pmps is a bit lower.

On the 24th you'd used the R a couple of hours earlier, so i wouldn't have added more at +10 when you checked, but if you had wanted to you could have used a smaller amount of R with the pmps. I think you could've tried the 1u you've got in your R scale below.

On the 25th - awesome, i'd have let it alone.

On the 26th, if you'd wanted to push him a little farther, giving another 0.5uR at the +10/232 would've been one possibility. Since you increased the L dose that evening, I probably wouldn't have added an R shot with it.

looking at his spreadsheet, i'm just wondering why he was so good the day after you traveled. can you recall if he ate less that day? did you give him Rescue Remedy to help him settle in at your folks' house? He didn't have any painkiller at that point, right? that was before the dental.

Not sure if that helps, but just looking at the past week those are my thoughts, for what it's worth. Also, I should add that you have to be able to sleep and you have your hands full with Matty, so i think finding the balance with Cobb's needs and your own is important.

Hope tonight was a perfect, restful sleep for your whole house! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top