4/27 Checkers pmps/202 +1..5/236

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69615
I shot reduced dose of 1u

Good Morning LL
Checkers was in rare form this morning. Racing around the house, in and out of the cube; yelling from the kitchen, for me to get up and feed him.
What do you do with a cat, insisting he's being starved, and it's less than an hour to test/shot time? Amps will be skewed, if he's fed.
I have no idea, if this is a rising or falling amps
As much as I'd like to get a middle of the night, spot check, I just cannot make myself get up to test, and have to deal with 3 cats, lined up, swearing I never feed them, then I can't get back to sleep for hours.
I know, I'm not unique. :roll:
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106

Hi guys .. this amps makes me want to throw my fist up in the air!! WAY TO GO CHECKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can you feed steamed chicken to checks, without it influencing his numbers? Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151

Oooooh...look at that AMPS, and what a wonderful and fun wake up call! Looks like both Trix and Checks had the same food spike idea this morning. I'm sure they'll both start heading in the right directino shortly!
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151

Morning barb - sounds like a fairly typical morning... at least that is the way it is here. :lol: :lol:

Look at that AMPS - AWESOME! What a great start. Surf well Checks. And good luck with the new dose. I hope Checkers likes it. Right Checks? It will be a good one...

Enjoy your day today Barb.
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122

Wow Barb (and Checkers!) excellent start to the day!!!! he's really on a roll now! Rupert say's he's showing off and won't speak to him anymore! (just kidding.. hoping Rupert gets lonely up there near the rafters and decides to come down and play with his pal again). You must be so happy Barb! this is great! Really am impressed with the Levemir so far.. seriously considering the switch.
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122

Wow!!! Checkers is doing great!!! I can't get my butt out of bed in the middle of the night to check either. Thank goodness Champ is predictable and will wake me if he gets too low!!

So the Levemir really seems to be doing the trick!!
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81

Fabulous cycle here today!!!! Love it!!!

I understand about the nighttime checks for Checks.....I know it's really difficult.

He's looking really great on his SS! I just want you to watch his numbers closely for any climb, ok? He didn't earn a reduction and the shed can take up to six cycles to drain once you do reduce him (ECID...some cats less). And so you may see fairly decent numbers for up to that amount of time. But then he might start creeping up again and so you want to catch that. I really love what we're seeing now and I want to see more more more!!! :-D :-D

Have a great day Dear Barb!! Gracie sends little brown girl hugs to her sweet Auntie Barbbean.
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81

Lookin' good today, Checkers. Especially the +4: onset has begun.

Hi Barb, I don't get up to test at night either: we all need our sleep. The few times I did get up, I had to wake Rusty to give him the test. He always sleeps though the night, too!! He wondered what on earth was going on. And he had a perfectly safe number.

Enjoy your day. We are expecting snow all day. It is really miserable outside and the temperature has dropped from 31 to 28! It doesn't look like a paddling day, but we are going to see paddling films tonight.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81

I'm loving this lev. He doesn't seem to be diving 100 points an hour anymore.

I wonder if it had any effect on him today, that I rolled a PillPocket in the Dasuquin, and mixed the rest with a dab...(the tip of a teaspoon), of low-fat sour cream. He is wild about any kind of dairy.

I so want to get the supplement in him, that I took a chance. Reg PP....he didn't like the duck & pea.

Anyone know if it's true that a hairball can cause a higher bg? I've heard it mentioned on this board.
Someone grey-haired, (not me), left a 2inch long, tightly packed, hairball.
Can't help wondering if Checks has been trying to get it up, and if it affected his numbers lately.
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81

Marje, I know he didn't earn a reduction, by protocol standards, but I really can't have him going so low into green, during the night.
I understand I might have to take him back up, but he was doing well on 1u, until the back pain flared up.
Now that I'm at ease about giving bupe when he needs it, I wanted to go back to that good dose.

I'm not too proud to admit failure, if need be. :-D

Like Ella, I have to wake Checkers to test at night...after I stagger around to find him :lol:
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81

Barb...I completely understand and you know him best. He is doing fantastic. I'm so happy for you both.
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: It's so nice to be able to do that in Checkers's condo. We don't get up during the night anymore either, unless Tess is really low and then we never get there! :roll:

I think any stress, and hacking up a hairball is stress, can raise BG. Maybe that was it! :-D
I wonder if it had any effect on him today, that I rolled a PillPocket in the Dasuquin, and mixed the rest with a dab...(the tip of a teaspoon), of low-fat sour cream. He is wild about any kind of dairy.

From what i understand "cultured" dairy products (cheese, yogurt, sour cream) contain little or no lactose. Lactose is consumed and converted by the bacteria in the culturing process. so it should be safe for cats. Look for natural products w/ live cultures. You made me think about it and finally go look it up. Here is a great link. As for carbs sour cream is really low (5%) and you are using such a tiny amount.
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81 +5/52

Another nice thing about lev, is I can pretty much know when he will start to rise again. Gotta go to pharmacy today.

I've been giving lc snacks after test, because although I do not want him low, I want that reduction *legal* :lol:
Next one might be under 50. :-D

Oops...thanks for link, Ann. Gonna go see it now
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81 +5/52

What a great day, Checkers!

Hi again, Barb, I'm pretty sure that hairballs can affect the numbers. In any event, numbers are lower when the cat feels better, and they all feel better after getting up a hairball.

Looking for a 49?? ;-)

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81 +5/52

:lol: No 49 today. He went up to 67. Thats good. I can go to pharmacy in an hour, when I'm sure he's staying up.

I tried to nap, while waiting, but he got under the cover, and tried to dig to China. I love that he's so playful and affectionate lately.
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81 +5/52 +6/67 +7

Wow, Checkers is doing so brilliantly! whoo hooooo!!!! i hear ya on the 100pt dives! certainly seems like Lev is the answer for him. I'm gonna see where Rupie takes me tonight/this weekend and give the vet a call on Monday to possibly talk about switching. I have horsie show this weekend so can't get him in to see her any sooner anyway and I doubt she'll change scrip just because I ask over the phone. sigh!
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81 +5/52 +6/67 +7

Whoo hoo go Checkers - show us a 49 or is it 39 (does it go back up to 49 for Chex on a new insulin?) :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81 +5/52 +6/67 +7

amps/106
+2/151
+3/122
+4/81
+5/52
+6/67
+7/83
+9/124~~ All LC fuds today.

I got to go out for a couple of hours. Left out LC fuds on 3 plates, so don't know who ate it.
DD brought me 10 cans of Wellness Turkey. Yaaay!
Then I found that the local farm store is now carrying it. :thumbup
They had large stock of the chicken, but all out of Turkey. It must be popular.

I got my boy his own sour cream with live cultures, not lowfat, like mine. There's fewer ingredients in it.
There's one gram of sugar in 2 T. He gets only about a quarter teaspoon to hide the Dasuquin

He's playing with his 'nanner now. Life is good, when the kitty is happy :-D
 
Re: 4/27 Checkers amps/106 +2/151+3/122 +4/81 +5/52 +6/67 +7

I also feel safety is important when it's your kitty...Nights are impossible for me as well, It's very very hard for me to sleep as it is--I could never get back to sleep if I started night testing then.
Checks is doing so so fantastic..Those are gorgeous numbers today--Have a good evening-Hugs & Love from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top