4/27 Bijoux AMPS 386 //+6 109

Brittanyb5353

Member Since 2020
Link to yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-26-bijoux-10-253-advice-on-pm-dose.228832/#post-2562441

Withheld shot last night as I had already given 1 unit in the am per the vet recommended dosing and we were recovering from an interesting saturday.

She was more active last night and slept really well - ate great this morning and I had to eyeball a 0.5u dosage. Tried calling her new vet but she is not in on Mondays - so may try and call her old vet who originally diagnosed her and fitted her with a Freestyle Libre and discuss progress so far and road forward too.

I'm getting nervous about having to do the blood tests in a few days when the libre wears off. She's done really well on it and it hasn't bothered her so far. Tried to sit with her this morning before food/shot and play with her ears but she was having none of it :(

Anyways - we're off to an OK start today and nerves are down for both of us. Hope everyone has a good one!
 
Did have a question for BG testing - I have an alphatrak2 monitor which I'm planning on using, however I've read on this board that with the SLGS method that a human monitor is preferred? Is it not possible to use the Alphatrak2?
 
It’s definitely possible to use your meter. Many do as vets prefer vet meters. The methods here used human meters when originated and I don’t think vet meters were available then which is why most use them. There’s even a ss for the vet meters. You meter will read a little higher.

It will be easier to give smaller doses with syringes with half unit markings so I’d get some and switch when you can. Eyeballing .25 increments will be easier. Finish off the ones you have. I used digital calipers to fine tune as well.
 
It’s definitely possible to use your meter. Many do as vets prefer vet meters. The methods here used human meters when originated and I don’t think vet meters were available then which is why most use them. There’s even a ss for the vet meters. You meter will read a little higher.

It will be easier to give smaller doses with syringes with half unit markings so I’d get some and switch when you can. Eyeballing .25 increments will be easier. Finish off the ones you have. I used digital calipers to fine tune as well.
Thank you Elise! I'll take a look for the ss with the vet meters :) speaking with the vet in 30m to try to get new syringes ASAP! Monitoring her closely today as we're at +6 and she's still dropping. She just ate a bit more food and seems like she's doing okay.
 
She will likely reach nadir soon. Nice cycle so far.
Yeah she's been doing well today - I do think my eyeballing this morning was over .5u based on what I'm seeing (although that's just my gut feeling) and comparing my eyeball method to the new syringes I was able to pick up from her vet today which will hold me over until the new rx is filled Wed. Bijoux's been a bit tired but has good appetite so far. Her numbers are going down PMPS which is a bit weird/new for us. Overall I'm feeling much better though with this plan going forwards and hopefully that translates into our journey :)
 
I'm getting nervous about having to do the blood tests in a few days when the libre wears off. She's done really well on it and it hasn't bothered her so far. Tried to sit with her this morning before food/shot and play with her ears but she was having none of it :(

I was very nervous about doing blood tests. I had tried it years ago when I had another diabetic cat. He would let me mess with his ear and was completely calm, but then right before I stuck him he would flick it away!

However, I didn't know what I was doing. I wasn't holding the ear in the middle, and I wasn't being firm enough. When I saw the vet do it I understood what to do.

Do you have anyone to help you? I can do a test alone, but usually my mom helps me. He got feisty tonight and she actually held his head gently with both hands, while I held his ear and stuck it.

Will you be able to have your vet show you what to do? I know there are lots of youtube videos, I'm sure those will help.

I will tell you a few things you need to know. It will hurt and your cat may react to that. You will feel guilty. Sometimes you won't get any blood, or not enough blood, and you will have to stick again. Snickers is stingy lately, and sometimes we have to stick him 3 times. We also have to wait after every stick, because he doesn't start bleeding right away. He gets upset, we get upset, and I feel like I'm really hurting him.

BUT, I'm helping him. I have to remind myself, he needs the test. I can't make any promises about Bijoux, but Snickers' ears are fine. We've had to poke a lot, and rub his ears to make more blood flow. But later when I pet him and rub his ears, he loves it. I've never seen any sign that his ears are sore.

I also want to tell you that sometimes you will stick yourself. It's startling the first time (and it hurts!), but it's normal, it happens.

The important thing is, you can do it. She doesn't want you messing with her ears, but you will figure out how to hold her ear still. It may take a few tries, but you will get it. You learned to give her an injection, and that's actually a much more serious thing than this.
 
I was very nervous about doing blood tests. I had tried it years ago when I had another diabetic cat. He would let me mess with his ear and was completely calm, but then right before I stuck him he would flick it away!

However, I didn't know what I was doing. I wasn't holding the ear in the middle, and I wasn't being firm enough. When I saw the vet do it I understood what to do.

Do you have anyone to help you? I can do a test alone, but usually my mom helps me. He got feisty tonight and she actually held his head gently with both hands, while I held his ear and stuck it.

Will you be able to have your vet show you what to do? I know there are lots of youtube videos, I'm sure those will help.

I will tell you a few things you need to know. It will hurt and your cat may react to that. You will feel guilty. Sometimes you won't get any blood, or not enough blood, and you will have to stick again. Snickers is stingy lately, and sometimes we have to stick him 3 times. We also have to wait after every stick, because he doesn't start bleeding right away. He gets upset, we get upset, and I feel like I'm really hurting him.

BUT, I'm helping him. I have to remind myself, he needs the test. I can't make any promises about Bijoux, but Snickers' ears are fine. We've had to poke a lot, and rub his ears to make more blood flow. But later when I pet him and rub his ears, he loves it. I've never seen any sign that his ears are sore.

I also want to tell you that sometimes you will stick yourself. It's startling the first time (and it hurts!), but it's normal, it happens.

The important thing is, you can do it. She doesn't want you messing with her ears, but you will figure out how to hold her ear still. It may take a few tries, but you will get it. You learned to give her an injection, and that's actually a much more serious thing than this.
Thank you for all of this - the advice and the encouragement!!! We will get there :) I'm going to start practicing with her today :)
 
Back
Top