This reduction isn’t doing much for him, I’d go back to 2 units when you can. He needs to see more blues and greens to get used to them. Of course, you’d have to monitor as well as you have done since 2 units brought him to 39 on that dose (which is certainly not a guarantee to happen the next time). A few decently low preshots are going to change so many things for Ravan. I hope it comes soon.
When Ravan went down to 39 bg on 2 units you said it was a clear message that 2 units was too much insulin. You said said to hold the dose (1.75) for a week)
Yesterday he had some blues but since PM he's back in the red.
Do you think I need to increase back to 2 units Or hold this dose for the full week? There are varying opinions?
I’m not sure why, but it happens to me sometimes, or it tries to make a cell black. If it’s being weird about adding a number, I just delete that row and re-enter the data on a new row and it usually fixes it.
Look at that lovely blue at +9.
Interesting to note how late Ravan's nadir is sometimes. JoyBee, I'm wondering whether he has a fixed feeding schedule or whether you feed whenever he indicates he's hungry? Just curious because the nadir is so late today.
IMO since he's only had 6 cycles on this dose and hit blue today (and might still be going down, too soon to tell) I think I would hold the dose. But perhaps @Wendy&Neko or @Sienne and Gabby (GA) might recommend something else?
Yes I was Happy to see the blue also! But those reds gotta go! I was hoping that this dose would bring his #'s down lower. It's confusing when some people have told me to wait a week to see what it will do & others say to increase after a few days.
Sienne & Gabby said when Ravan's bg went to 39 on 2 units it was a clear message that it was too much insulin,and I should wait one week. I like the idea of waiting but it does worry me about the high Numbers causing damage. (Confusing)
My son came to visit with my Little grandkids He's staying for a week. Ravan & the other 2 cats are freaking out! My grandsons are a bit wild & loud! My cats & I are alone & quiet so this is a bit
of an adjustment. I think Ravan's bg is up a bit from all the excitement!
I tried doing what you said Deleting,but that didn't work. I discovered that I needed to sign in to google again. Then it worked. Thank you for trying to help.
102 is a shootable number. BUT you have to be able to monitor tonite. Shoot low to stay low.
I do see this would be the lowest you've ever shot and when that happens we prefer that someone be able to stay up with you and guide you thru. I'm not able to do this tonite.
If Ravan is on a mission, He will continue even if you stall or skip.
I would not skip just to keep his momentum going.
Perhaps Stacy will be up for a while.
I can be here for a little bit. What are you comfortable doing? Do be aware that if you shoot a lower number, the cat tends to surf. Are you able to monitor if you shoot?
I don't feel comfortable shooting a full dose/ I've been up most of last night.( family visiting with little grandsons) It's been a very long day. Right now it's 1 hour past shot time. Should I give a small dose?
Or skip?
JoyBee I'm going to bed in a few minutes so I won't tell you to shoot the lower number because I can't be up to support you!
Have you tested since you got the 102?
As an FYI if you reduce the dose or don't shoot at all he may still stay low tonight because of the depot.
If you're not comfortable shooting and has had a long day, it's best to skip. Do test a couple times before going to bed to make sure Ravan isn't still dropping.
You could either skip or do half dose tonight. Which ever you do, think of it as an experiment and opportunity to gather data. If you shoot some insulin, he could still go a bit lower. Tomorrow morning, I would go back to 1.75 units. It was getting you numbers in the range SLGS suggests you go for.
First thing I'd do is retest if it's been an hour past regular shot time. If he's on his way into a bounce, shooting some insulin may be a better option.
Thank you ALL! I decided to give him 1 unit. I wish I could of stayed up & given the 1.75 to see where it would have gone but I was just too exhausted. Now his bg is high again.
I was an hour late last night so I'll give him the 1.75 an hour later this morning, I hope it's the lucky #.
Wow Joy, how exciting! Ravan is really doing well. Shooting those first lowing numbers is scary and I don’t blame you for shooting a lower dose. You need rest too, especially after all the excitement of a family visit. Can’t wait to see how he’s doing today.
@JoyBee&Ravan Checking in this morning to see how he did last night! Wow that insulin really pooped out quickly from +11 to PMPS! Glad to see you gave him some insulin.
The reduced dose and the lower numbers yesterday may cause some wonky numbers for the next few cycles....not only a bounce from the lower numbers but because of the reduced dose the depot will need to fill again....so his body will take only some of each shot to bring down his BG and the rest will go to the depot. So don't panic if you see red again! I think the dose is, for now, a good one!