Debra and Yoyo
Very Active Member
Yesterday 4/25, http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...21-pmps-286-2-198-4-92-5-5-76-8-5-103.213702/
Day 2 @2.25 Units Lantus
Day 2 @2.25 Units Lantus
Sorry I was slow posting; he is better now 61@+4....thank you for checking in on YoyoUp Yoyo,up.
Well I guess he didn’t like that dose much!
Here’s my theory: with the MJs, you were giving more insulin than we realized. You might have even been giving somewhere around 2-2.25u and that’s why he hasn’t been at better numbers with a higher dose.
I’d like to suggest that you hold this dose until he’s dropped between 40-50 on three separate days. You’ve got his feeding down pretty well for bringing up his BG. He doesn’t hold reductions well. I’d really like to see a lot more green before we reduce.
It is a bit more aggressive but you are there to test and you’ve been doing great. I’m so proud of your progress.
What do you think?
I understand that you want me to hold the dose until he drops 3X between 40-50. I'm ok with that as long as he doesn't give me any BIG scares!!Well I guess he didn’t like that dose much!
Here’s my theory: with the MJs, you were giving more insulin than we realized. You might have even been giving somewhere around 2-2.25u and that’s why he hasn’t been at better numbers with a higher dose.
I’d like to suggest that you hold this dose until he’s dropped between 40-50 on three separate days. You’ve got his feeding down pretty well for bringing up his BG. He doesn’t hold reductions well. I’d really like to see a lot more green before we reduce.
It is a bit more aggressive but you are there to test and you’ve been doing great. I’m so proud of your progress.
What do you think?
Thank you!It looks like the food is wearing off. I'd give him a teaspoon of MC and test again at +5.
Thank you!I agree with Carla...a tsp of MC is fine. Retest in 30.
He seems to like the 50's today....lucky meLooks like he wants to surf here. I’d just see if LC will keep him steady but keep testing.
I don’t want to pressure you to holding the dose if this cycle has you. If you feel you are having to feed too much to get and keep him up, it’s ok to reduce the dose. We can always go back up if we need to. It’s possible this was just the little kickstart he needed to do better at 2u. I’m with you on whatever you decide.
![]()
I’m on your side whatever you decide. I fully support you if you drop the dose. That’s a fine choice and we will just see how he does.He seems to like the 50's today....lucky me
I have been giving him MC food. I do not see any big difference in feeding him MC or LC. I only see a big difference when I have once given him HC food. HC seems to raise his BG fast. So for now I am giving him MC as hopefully it is better than LC at this time! I'll keep retesting
Not sure what dose I will give him tonight as he is surfing on the low side for me. It may be good for him, but my blood pressure must be up![]()
I see the +10.5. Still a nice number but he’s headed up.
If he’s yellow or higher by PMPS, you could choose to shoot through the bounce with 2.25u if he’s starting a bounce and not just losing duration. Be aware that he could come right back down if it’s a duration issue.
Sorry, I never told you what dose....I will hold the dose of 2.25 units. He is at 188 PMPS....I will give 2.25 units and watch like a hawk. There goes another night of no sleepIt depends on whether you plan to reduce now or hold this dose for three drops between 40-50 on different days. If you do not plan to do the three drops method of reduction, then I would reduce the dose to 2u for a blue PS.
Marje, what's the difference between three drops of 40 - 50 or reducing now? Is getting three drops assuring a more successful reduction? Sorry to barge in on your condo,It depends on whether you plan to reduce now or hold this dose for three drops between 40-50 on different days. If you do not plan to do the three drops method of reduction, then I would reduce the dose to 2u for a blue PS.
Hi Sonia, Please feel free to write on my condo at anytime. I'm sure Marje will answer you but what I can tell you is that Marje feels that Yoyo does not do well with reductions, he fails them! So doing three drops of 40-50 will hopefully give him a stronger reduction and hopefully he will not fail the reduction this time. I hope that helpedMarje, what's the difference between three drops of 40 - 50 or reducing now? Is getting three drops assuring a more successful reduction? Sorry to barge in on your condo,![]()
Thanks Debra, it's what I thought, 3 times the charm right? Good luck with holding that dose!Hi Sonia, Please feel free to write on my condo at anytime. I'm sure Marje will answer you but what I can tell you is that Marje feels that Yoyo does not do well with reductions, he fails them! So doing three drops of 40-50 will hopefully give him a stronger reduction and hopefully he will not fail the reduction this time. I hope that helped![]()
SoniaMarje, what's the difference between three drops of 40 - 50 or reducing now? Is getting three drops assuring a more successful reduction? Sorry to barge in on your condo,![]()
Thank you! For that hour or hour and a half if felt like such a long time and the fear that he wouldn't go up was always there. I feel bad for his little ears, they sure got a work out todayWow, what a cycle today! You did a great job steering him today!
Wow that’s quite a jump. That could be duration over + food spike + bounce starting all rolled into one. Or a combination of any two.Thank you! For that hour or hour and a half if felt like such a long time and the fear that he wouldn't go up was always there. I feel bad for his little ears, they sure got a work out today![]()
Wow that’s quite a jump. That could be duration over + food spike + bounce starting all rolled into one. Or a combination of any two.
There’s a chance you’ll get to sleep tonight!
You did great shooting the 2.25u. I know that it’s new for you doing some of these techniques but you are a champ for trying them. I hope his little ears can have a rest tonight....and you can get some sleep as well. But I’d be sure to not let him go much past +2.5 to ensure he’s not going to come back down when he onsets. If that number is still up a lot from PMPS, you can probably take a break. If you are like me, I always had to get a before bed test no matter what![]()
My husband uses a “ring” that sounds like loud cricketsOk....his +2 is much higher than his PMPS. But I'll still check him at +4 and before I go to bed which will probably be +5 or +6, depends on how long I can keep my eyes open
Scary, sometimes I have been sleeping right thru my cell phone alarm. I guess it isn't annoying enough, I must swipe it off and go back to la la land. I need to change the music to something obnoxious that will keep me up and get me out of bed.
AAAAhhh....that's an idea...I need to move my phone away from me so that I would have to get out of bed.....thank you!Wow! You and Yoyo had quite a day! It looks like he’s going to let you sleep tonight though!
I have always been a very light sleeper and the alarm on very low volume was enough. That’s all changed since I have a sugar kitty. I have slept through the alarm several times. Now it’s on the highest volume with the most obnoxious tone and I set it far enough away that I have to sit up to reach it.![]()
Thank you!Sonia
Yes...for cats, like Yoyo that fail reductions, we can hold the dose until the kitty has dropped between 40-50 on three separate days and then reduce. However, this should only be done if:
Of course the other ways to earn a reduction are:
- The CG has Data and we know the kitty does not hold reductions
- A CG who can monitor
- The CG knows how their kitty responds to food
The hope with the 3 drops method is that a dose that is working can be held a little longer to give more time in healing numbers. It’s important to note that even if a kitty does not hold reductions, it is strictly up to the CG whether they are comfortable using this method or not. If Yoyo drops below 50 again tomorrow, Debra might decide that’s enough for her and she might decide to reduce the dose at that time and that’s fine.
- One drop below 50 for a newly diagnosed cat (diabetic less than one year)
- One drop below 40 for a long-term diabetic (diabetic longer than one year)
- A week in normal numbers at the same dose
You’re welcome!Thank you!![]()