4/26 Tommy PMPS 407~0.1R, +3R 427

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/26 Tommy 0.1R @ +5,+6R 379, +7R 341,+8R 361, +10 371

Squirrel said:
Sienne, other than the numbers telling you so, were there any differences in Gabby that led you believe she was going to stop bouncing or did it just happen all of the sudden where she came down to a respectable number and just surfed there.. I've looked at her SS on several occasions and see she can go from mid yellows to green in a cycle and then back up to even pinks. Is that what you mean by her being difficult to control and is that why you don't increase her dose, because she actually has low blue and green numbers almost every cycle? I've been curious about that for quite some time, so now i'm asking

First, I don't know that I'd say that Gabby has stopped bouncing. The thing that became more and more evident with Gabby is that she drops fast and early. Most days, her nadir is around +4. Jill was instrumental in looking at Gabby's SS and suggesting that I front load the cycle. About a year ago, I started feeding at PS, +1, +2, and +3. The food was helping to offset (to a degree) the fast, early drops. Also at Jill's suggestion, I use both food and insulin to manipulate the cycle. Ideally, I try to prevent Gabby from earning a decrease unless she really earns one. I'm aiming for her to get as much green in a cycle as possible. I'd love to see a flat green cycle with maybe blues at PS. There's a fine line. I don't want Gabby to get too comfortable in yellows and blues but I don't want to increase her dose so her numbers drop fast and she bounces. She's been at her current dose for a little longer than usual. I've let her stay at this dose mostly because every time I've been resolved to increase, she has a green cycle.

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 4/26 Tommy +10 371, PMPS 407~ 0.1R

Good evening, it makes as much sense as it can i guess. I now understand why you feed the way you do. I thought it was a scheduling thing.
That makes sense to me.Do you think that perhaps i should change Tommy's feeding schedule to something that might work better for him. He does not seem to drop early in any cycle. Just throwing that out there. Do you think that Gabby will someday be OTJ? She's been on insulin for a very long time.Or is she just one of those kitty that will always need help? I saw that she had to be hospitalized in the beginning. I'm glad she has you, She's a very lucky kitty.
I appreciate you dropping by tonight and doing your best to explain to me the 5,000 questions i keep having. I've only been around for 5 months but i feel like i'm learning so much.
I hope Tommy enjoyed the green floor so much that he'll get back there again soon.
Night Night Sienne! I-)
 
I haven't a clue if Gabby will ever go OTJ. We're coming up on 2 years. I will tell people when they are getting frustrated (especially when there's been a run of kitties that are here for under a month and are OTJ) that we are not leading the sugar dance -- our cats are. I don't know how long Gabby was diabetic before she was diagnosed. I don't know how much damage was done to her pancreas. I don't know if she just likes all of the attention. And she's not telling. It's my good fortune that she trusts me. If she goes OTJ, I'll be saving a fortune on strips and that's all that will change.
 
I don't think she's not telling you, even though she enjoys the attention, she probably could do without being poked everyday :-D .
I think you're both fortunate as can be.
Have a wonderful day Sienne ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top