Re: 4/26-Scratchie-AMPS-445 Increase?
hi jo. i was asked to to weigh in and share my thoughts as i have a ketone prone kitty and have used R as a bolus to keep ketones at bay...
Scratchie'smom said:
Good morning all - crappy crappy numbers. I thought we were going to have better numbers with the +3 last night, but didn't happen. On the really good side - negative ketones!!!! Test last night and again this morning were both negative. Doesn't mean I'll quit watching - I'll still test as often as possible. Appetite is good - he lost a pound and needs to gain that back as he didn't have a pound to lose.
woo-hoo for negative ketones and a good appetite!!! so happy to hear it because as you know, the recipe for ketones = an insufficient supply of insulin + a poor appetite + infection or certain systemic stresses.
Scratchie'smom said:
Now for questions.
1. Should I go straight to 3.5u?
if scratchie were mine, i would immediately take the lantus dose up to 4u bid while monitoring closely. my reasoning for increasing the dose to 4u bid is because of the circumstances which are currently unique to scratchie: when he was switched to levemir, the starting dose was set too low. imho, this along with the possibility of infection combined with loss of appetite resulted in high ketones and hospitalization. his last "good" lantus dose was 4.5u bid (good meaning he wasn't throwing ketones). i think it's reasonable to bring the dose back up as quickly as possible, but hesitate to suggest taking the dose back up by more than 1unit at this time.
it's important to note: increasing the dose by a full unit is
NOT recommended under normal circumstances and imho, should not be presented as such.
however, there are circumstances such as when a kitty has reached a high dose of the basal insulin (closer to 10u bid) and/or has a
confirmed High Dose condition (acromegaly or IAA) where increasing in full units is and has been acceptable on the FDMB... not applicable to scratchie at this time.
Scratchie'smom said:
2. The vet gave Scratchie 'R' and that seems to help the horrible bounces. Should I get a scrip for that to help him out?
you should be able to pick up a vial of humulin R (regular) or novalin R (regular) at any pharmacy without a prescription. i encourage you to call around for the best price. i recently paid $95 for a vial of R, but others have purchased it for less. i understand tight finances, but if there's any way you can swing purchasing R i'd do it. R is a great tool to have especially when battling ketones while working your way up to a good basal dose. you'll find the cost of purchasing a vial of R much less than another hospitalization... not to mention the stress from ketones on scratchie's body.
we highly recommend starting with a tiny dose of R as a bolus. the suggested starting dose is 0.1u R. the reason for starting so low is you don't want the R to yank down the numbers. yanking down the numbers will only serve to set kitty up for a bounce. when you're fighting high numbers, it doesn't make sense to purposely send kitty into the high numbers you're trying to avoid. kwim?
the goal for the R is to pull kitty's numbers down about 50 - 100 points
only. anything more than that will likely cause kitty to bounce. all you want the R to do is pull kitty's numbers down some... enough for the lantus to "grab onto". a dose of 0.1u of R is enough to pull many kitties (including my own) numbers down 100 or more points in a cycle.
0.1u of R may not be enough. the dose may have to be increased, but we won't know that until we see how scratchie responds to R. as has been mentioned, when administering R, you'd want to test every hour for the first 4 - 5 hours... until you know and feel comfortable with scratchie's response to using R as a bolus. it's important to learn when onset occurs, when nadir occurs, and the duration scratchie gets with R. you never want the nadirs of lantus and R occur at the same time. at this very moment, scratchie's numbers are high enough that it probably won't matter when in the cycle R is administered,
but this will change.
if you elect to use R as a bolus, i agree with the suggestion to administer it when you're home and available to monitor, but please ask for guidance if/when you go this route.
Scratchie'smom said:
3. Are the high numbers due to the Covenia (sorry if I spelled that wrong) antibiotic that they gave him? I know that this one does affect numbers so is that the problem or just the lovely bouncy dang Lantus? Or is he just trying to settle. He's been on 3u since I Tuesday night as I skipped his shot on Tuesday morning due to his lower number and I didn't know what to expect after the ER hospital and Vet time.
imho, scratchie's numbers are largely due to an insufficient supply of insulin. infections are also known to cause high numbers. hopefully the covenia shot will take care of any possible infection.
fwiw, there is a group of members in the Lantus TR ISG who have been very, very successful helping caregivers work through ketone issues after hospitalization. i strongly encourage you to take advantage of their experience and give some consideration to posting in that forum for the help you and scratchie need right now.
just my thoughts... let us know how we can help.