4/26 Rocky PMPS 81 +2 37 +2.5 47 +3 52 +3.5 52 +4 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

The board is still not working right. I wish they would fix it, like now! I went to Facebook "Feline Diabetes Message Board". No one is there. It says it has 619 "likes." I thought that there were thousands of people there? :roll:

I think it's time that the FDMB hosting company ADD more servers for this website, or, there needs to be a switch to a new hosting company. This just isn't right! Didn't you guys just raise money for another year of service??? Hmmm...

****END OF RANT****​

I need to give Rocky a reducie this morning. Rocky's BG went under 50 to 39 last night some time between PMPS +1 and PMPS +2. I was up with him until 4M.

He looks fine this morning. He looks great. Active and alert. I give Rocky's shot is in less than /2 hr. His BG is still dropping on the reducie of (f)1.50u from last night. He cleared the super high bounce of 563 PDQ. He spent last night in half green and then the second half of the night in blue numbers.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117819&p=1235520#p1235520

I don't know how to give a 1.25u shot. Can someone quickly send me a link with a photo of a syringe with 1.25u? confused_cat

I need help! I'm scared. nailbite_smile

I only have 50 testing strips left with my Relion.


Thank you!

***UPDATE***


By the time this finally posts, IT WILL BE ROCKY'S AMPS +1. One hour later.. I just screamed at the top of my lungs. So frustrated. DH is out riding his bike or I would not have done that... serious sleep deprivation going on here. Lacking in all kinds of compassion for anyone running the board. :twisted:
 
Re: Need shot help! DROPPING! 4/27 Rocky PMBG +11 122

The board has been totally annoying lately. I saw on FB that Robert was out of touch and is now back and working on it. Hopefully it will be back to normal soon.

Don't feed Rocky and get another test about 30 minutes after the last one.

Also, you should take your email out of the message or at least disguise it with spaces and use "at" instead of @ to avoid getting on spam lists.
Liz
 
Re: Need shot help! DROPPING! 4/27 Rocky PMBG +11 122

Here is the link for the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/62167000201/ But usually, there is a prohibition there on giving dosing advice. It's meant to be a social counterpart to the message board. There is also a Lantus Land group you can search for and ask to join.

I don't think there is a link to a 1.25u dose. Take your syringe and look where the black top line of the plunger is. Use it as your marker and put it halfway between the 1.0 mark and the 1.5 line. It is less important that your 1.25u looks like anyone else's than it is that you can replicate what you did for the next shot. So perhaps take an old syringe, fill it with colored water of some sort, and hang onto it to compare to for your next 1.25u dose.

You shot 1.25u in February also.

I see his +11/122 and a +12/101. As long as it isn't less than the nadir of the cycle that is ending, ie, in Rocky's case today, less than 39!, it's considered a double-dip that Lantus sometimes does and not a dropping number. I think you're safe to shoot. Remember experienced people shoot over 50ish, but not under. I don't see anything in the 101 to be at all concerned about shooting.

btw, i think you can take off the 911.

edited to correct misreading.
 
Re: Need shot help! DROPPING! 4/27 Rocky PMBG +11 122

This is real pain in the A**. I am so pissed. I can't delay his shot time, and yet here it is, he hasn't been feed or given his shot.

His shot times are at 10am - 10pm. His feeding times are for 4 hours after his shot time. It means if I delay much longer I will be feedng Rocky at 2 F*c:ing Am!!!
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 98

Frustrated beyond believe with this board. Let's see how long it takes for this to post. It is now 11:11am. Pressing "Submit."
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 98

I don't think I gave him enough insulin. I can't find any photos on the web of 1.25u with a u30 syringe. I lined the plunger BETWEEN the 1.0u and the 1.50u. I think it there might have been a little bit of the 1.50u at the bottom of the plunger. It's probably more like a 1.0u dose then a 1.25u.

Really, really upset this morning... the board is just really pissing me off.

February was years ago for me, Julie.. :lol: If I blink I've missed an entire year. In February I was starting from the top down. Now I am going from the bottom of the syringe up. I haven't had enough sleep in weeks. I need a photo.
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 98

:-D there isn't any photo that i know of. you'll figure it out!

the only pics are micro-dosing, and they are on the "new to the group" sticky. perhaps there is something in one of those that would be helpful.
 
Re: Again? Really? 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 98 +65

I am really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, NOT CERTAIN about how much insulin I gave Rocky this morning.. In addition, he got the shot about 15 minutes late because his BG was dropping from his PMPS +11 AND I could not figure out how to read the syringe. :?

Could I repeat this same dose tonight though? Yes, I am certain of that, Julie. ;-)

But what is my name again? :dizcat haha_smiley

I spent HOURS searching for a photo of a u30 syringe with a 1.25u dose and couldn't find one.

I am seriously sleep deprived and I don't have much reasoning or logic going on inside of my brain. I might start meowing pretty soon.

So, the shot that I gave Rocky for his AMPS had the 1.50u line at enveloped in the bottom of the plunger and the top of the plunger was touching the 1.0u line. What do you call that dose? Did I reduce enough? :roll:

I hope he is going to surf this one and that I have accidentally stumbled and bumbled my way onto a good dose for Rocky. Accuracy was not the key word this morning and I think my patience pants are at the bottom of the laundry heap. I did look for them but couldn't find them. I bet when I go back later those pants will be sitting right on top of the basket. :lol:
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 98 +3 65 +3.5 64

There is a 0.25u picture in this sticky. You just need to shift it to the 1.0u mark instead of the 0u mark.
Liz
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 98 +3 65 +5 73

I know this is frustrating BUT all I can see is green and good things to come for you and Rocky.
 
Re: Safe to shoot? 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +3 65 +5 73 +8 100 +11

Pretty much looks like Rocky has been flat lining it in mostly green numbers all day long. Thank goodness.. I hope that he can surf the green, or even blue or yellow, tonight. I need some sleep.

Searching for the sticky with the photo of the .25u so I can figure out what 1.25u looks like.
 
Re: Safe to shoot? 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +3 65 +5 73 +8 100 +11

Hi Tina. I really think Rocky has turned the corner. Do you use the syringes with half unit markings? If so you just have to eyeball the point in between as best you can. There is a picture but quite frankly it didn't help me much. Another thing I tried to be consistent was to take a used syringe and I used water with food coloring to practice. I believe Julie suggested that. I'll look at my old posts to find which one says where to look for the picture.
 
Re: Safe to shoot? 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +3 65 +5 73 +8 100 +11

Tina...there aren't any pictures of 1.25 that I know of, but here are some pictures of microdoses that might help.

It does show a .25 unit dose, so you'd just add that much to a 1 unit dose

Hope it's helpful!

Edited to add...I don't think you mean u30 syringes since they don't make them. The U doesn't stand for how many units the syringe holds..it stands for the concentration of the insulin...With u100 insulins like Lantus and Levemir, you use u100 syringes. With ProZinc, which is a u40 insulin, you use u40 syringes.

You're using a u100 syringe that holds 30 units
 
Re: Safe to shoot? 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +3 65 +5 73 +8 100 +11

Here you go...0.25u.



You can see it better in the "new to the group" sticky.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 364
Re: Safe to shoot? 4/26 Rocky AMPS 91 +3 65 +5 73 +8 100 +11

Hi there :cool:

Another good day for Rocky.

Fingers crossed he lets you sleep tonight - you need it.
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky PMPS 81

Thank you Marje! I think I gave him less than that this morning, and tonight as well. The plunger on this batch of syringes is really wide. I'm not seeing any space between .5s. So, on my syringes it looks like the top tip of the plunger is actually just barely touching the bottom of the 1.0u line.

It may not be enough insulin for him. If it's not, I'll just have to adjust it tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky PMPS 81 +2 37(!)

Oh hi there.. it's me again.. I guess it's not a 911 emergency any longer when you know to give HC and Karo.. But I just thought I'd let anyone who is dreaming right now know that Rocky has dropped below 50 again. I tested him at AMPS +12.5 and he was at 98 so I thought his BG was on the rise and I was actually kind of excited about it... I had not put my pjs on just yet, but I sure was thinking about crawling into bed..

I thought that because his BG was climbing so soon after his first meal that I could wait until PMPS +2 to get a test.

I was wrong. Way wrong.. :? Maybe I am dreaming..
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky PMPS 81 +2 37 +2.5 47 who needs sleep anyway?

Hi Tina - you OK? We prefer to reserve the 911 for medical emergencies. You've done this drill before. Sometimes when cats get really rolling down the dosing scale, they do it with vengeance. At this point, it's OK to do a partial shot or even skip in the morning to drain the depot and give yourself a break. You have to be healthy enough to take care of Rocky. He will get back on track.

Hey Rocky - time to come up - momma REALLY needs sleep. Even if she is dreaming about putting on the green PJ's.
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky PMPS 81 +2 37 +2.5 47 who needs sleep anyway?

Yikes. Mr. Rocky sure is sliding down at a fast rate. Looks like you don't need to worry about finding the .25 again. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky PMPS 81 +2 37 +2.5 47 +3 52

Wendy and Elise I may skip his shot tomorrow morning even though it will probably send him towards that magnetic black hole in deep, hyper outer-space.

He was very excited to eat PMPS, +1 and +2 mini-meals. But he didn't really finish his 4th mini-meal that I gave to him a bit early at +2.5 because of the drop. I mixed it half & half with the LC and the MC. It could just be that he doesn't like the flavor of them mixed together. Or his belly could just be full.

Thanks for stoppin' by.. and sleep well, do it for me, please. I feel like it's already 4am rather than just 1:30am..
 
Re: 4/26 Rocky PMPS 81 +2 37 +2.5 47 +3 52

I'm up too Tina. After reading your post I decided I had better test Max at +6 after he dropped to 87 at +6. I think he likely has hit Nadir but better safe than sorry. I think that is a good idea for you to skip the a.m. shot and get some sleep. Have a nice leisure Sunday. If you get sick you won't be any good to Rocky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top