? 4/26 Rex AMPS 89, +6 34, +6.5 75, +7 56, +9 46, +9.5 69, +10 86, PMPS 107, +2 189, +3 163, +4 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy & Rex (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Rex is 89 this morning! Yes, I shot him because the bad weather came as forecasted so school for the kids is closed. I'm staying home. I'll monitor Rex.

Here's a picture of the cats hovering near Tanner. Keena on the left and Rex on the right.
 

Attachments

  • 20170426_060437.jpg
    20170426_060437.jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 72
Well, it was a good thing I dragged myself out of bed to get a +2. I gave him 2 Tbsp MC food. I'm going to get dressed then watch Rex closely. He earned his first reduction! :)
 
Rex is looking for fire right now at 34 +6. Ahh!

I could have used advice on how to handle this, but I tried my best.

I gave 2 Tbsp MC food again with more honey than +4. I wasn't sure if that was necessary, but I wanted Rex out of the 30's.
 
It can be hard to know what kind of food/intervention is needed until you've had a chance to see how he responds to different interventions. Since he was already under 50 so early in the cycle, it might've been a good idea to start with a few teaspoons of gravy from HC food (20% or higher), knowing that the insulin will continue to drive the BG downward as the cycle goes on. The benefit of starting with gravy, whether it's from HC or MC food, is that it won't fill him up so much in case you need to keep feeding. That's also where a lot of the carbs are.

On the rare occasions that Chino goes into the 50s or below, I try to feed until his BG is in the 60s or 70s, then test at least hourly until 2 tests show that his BG is holding steady or rising without food. But I'll test every 30 minutes while it's still dropping, and switch to hourly only if I see that it's dropping more slowly and he's at 60 mg/dL or higher (at least 10 mg/dL above "too low").
 
Now I know what to do and I definitely need to go get more MC food and find a HC food. I was giving only a spoonful of food each time and had no issue with Rex eating each time.

Rex has had me busy the last 2 days with all the greens. Settle down! I did not think shooting a 89 would cause all of this after shooting a 111 yesterday.
 
Did I do everything appropriately? Really? I felt bad when I saw the 34.
Does Yard Dance mean reduction? I need to brush up on the slang.
You're doing everything according to TR. He hasn't gone below 50 on your human meter so you didn't reduce his dose this AM. However, the recent greens have left him more insulin sensitive so you got a bigger bang for your buck today. So many factors to consider in this dance ... :blackeye:
 
You're doing everything according to TR. He hasn't gone below 50 on your human meter so you didn't reduce his dose this AM. However, the recent greens have left him more insulin sensitive so you got a bigger bang for your buck today. So many factors to consider in this dance ... :blackeye:
:blackeye: is exactly how I feel.

I would appreciate dosing advice for tonight. 2.75? Is that enough to prevent lime greens tomorrow?
 
You did wonderful Mandy! Exactly as you needed! And you learned a lot didn't you?!

Yard Dance = a silly celebration dance that's too big to do inside without breaking things... :) That's just a 'Lyresa-ism'
Oh I learned a lot! Rex taught me a lot in 2 days. Can I have a day off tomorrow, Rex?

How's Spike?
 
:blackeye: is exactly how I feel.

I would appreciate dosing advice for tonight. 2.75? Is that enough to prevent lime greens tomorrow?
The TR guidelines specify a decrease of 0.25 u but what you ultimately do has to work with your schedule, comfort zone, etc. Let's see what the Lantus pros have to say. Maybe put that question in your thread title?
 
Yes, back to 2.75 units tonight. There is a chance he might bounce, or not. He's a cat so hard to predict. :cat::D Congrats on the reduction. And good job handling the numbers.

It's hard to say if reducing will prevent more lime green. The goal is to eventually see more, as that means his little pancreas is healing. :) However, the depot from the 3.0 unit depot may be felt for a few cycles yet. It'll be OK to carb him up if you want to keep him safe. It's a good idea to have some higher carb HC on hand, just in case. Kitties vary in how carb sensitive they are. Neko didn't need anything more than 16-17% (except I would add a drop of karo below 40). Some kitties need 25% + carbs even for the 40's.
 
Are you saying I want to see lime greens? Isn't it better to have constant dark greens and reducing every 7 days? I suppose I won't mind lime greens if I'm not working or busy.

I'm a little surprised to see this before Rex's one month anniversary on Lantus tomorrow! That means there's a good chance of r-word??
 
I am saying that lime greens are hard to stop. Ideally you'd like lots of solid time in safe greens, but that can lead to the lime greens. And yes, regulation is possible. That r-word should always be your first goal. It's what can lead to the other.
 
Hey Mandy, I am so sorry no one was around to help you but, you did awesome!

Some MC carb foods would be Fancy Feast Roasted. And the HC ones would be the Fancy Feast that say Gravy Lovers . Those are just the two that I know off the top of my head and that I used.. And as Adrian said, the gravy in the HC is what has all the carbs so you would take the lid and use it as a barrier and tip just a couple tbsp. of the gravy out. That way he gets boasted up with out the food to fill him up because as you experience today, you had to steer quite a bit and you don't want him to get full.

And congratulations on your first reduction!
 
I am afraid you have to keep testing. The +10 and/or +11 when compaired with PMPS and especially +2 will give you sense of direction. ECID, but that's how I do with Ducia. :)
 
If you need a break tonight, and he isn't zooming up by PMPS and you want to drain the depot, you can do a much reduced shot tonight, maybe 1/2 dose, and start back at 2.75 tomorrow.

We move to changes by 0.5 units when the total dose is over 5 units.
 
I just fed after getting 46. Before that, I fed at +6.
So, it means that 46 was his BG after 3 hours fasting. Still low.
The Tablespoon of MC will be processing for a while, quite a chunk actually:) . I think I would hold on food, test at +11 or +11.15.
You need his appy at preshoot.
 
Shooting half an hour late isn't late.
Wait that long, retest, post, don't feel the syringe just yet.
I am glad he is hungry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top