4/26 Rex AMPS 121 +2 186 +3.5 277 +8 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichNW & Rex

Member Since 2012
Rex has been a little all over the place lately. :(

I think I will also replace his insulin - it has been 3 months now.
Also having difficulty with micro dosing. The plunger on the syringe does not look flat all the time.
Also having difficulty with air bubbles in the syringe

Anyone have suggestions on syringes? Do they make infant syringes that would help with micro dosing?

Thanks For Any Help.
Rich

Rex's 4/25 Condo
 
The syringes I liked best were the Terumo's. They are the most accurate of any that have been tried here.... Marje researched them all.
http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...ro-insulin-syringe_5891.htm?source=SiteSearch

these have a very nice quick action... and they don't have an unaccounted for space below the zero mark.
My previous monojects had the unaccounted space...
It's important to be aware when switching syringes to compare your old to your new....
The plunger isn't perfect and flat on these either.

the amount I was giving on my old syringes turned out to be almost 1/3 more insulin than my new terumo syringes so I accidentally was giving
a reduction in dose .....
fortunately, it was an accidental decrease and not an accidental increase.


We all wish they made smaller syringes but the 1/2 unit markings are the smallest there are.
Back when I was doing it, I was always wishing for a barbie size syringe. :lol:
 
Ugh Rex, whatya doing up there? Very un-Rex like numbers!

I got digital calipers for measuring my doses once we moved into the smaller doses. I use BD's and the zero line ranges quite a bit, as much as .25 unit so the calipers got rid of that variability. Plunger isn't great there either, must be a common problem. I measure 3 times around the barrel and take the average if it's off by much.

At least it's now the weekend, maybe Rex was saving himself. Could be the high before the low like Neko had yesterday.
 
Hey Rich

These definitely don't look like Rex numbers. I think it's a good idea to change the pen and then see how he does. I probably would only give it a couple cycles once you switch. Don't want to lose all that gorgeous blue and green.

Here's some I do on Dosing with Calipers. I think it makes a big difference. It also use Terumos. They took a bit of an adjustment but I really like them.

Hope to see better numbers soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top