4/26 Ming PMPS = 319, +4 = 349

Come on Ming, show us what you can do with this new dose but do it slowly; your Crista is going shopping all day today !!!

Unfortunately I can't help, I use calipers with BD, but for sure Wendy could confirm you're doing OK with the measurement. :)
 
but for sure Wendy could confirm you're doing OK with the measurement
Nope, never used the Sol Vet. Didn't even know they were an option here. Plus the BD's are 31G vs. 30 G, and I liked the smaller needle. To get a measurement for 1.0 unit, measure several "good syringes" for 10 units. Average out the number, divide by 10, then you have your 1 unit measure.
 
Ohhhh ok I’ll go do that measuring again.

Oops I meant Sol-M insulin needles. They’re 29 g and 1/2” long. The BDs my coworker gave me ages ago had shorter needles that I didn’t like and that my mom struggled to use.

But I’m curious now if the pharmacies sell longer smaller gauge needles.
 
Don’t know what BD needle length you used before, I used the 8mm and have seen them in the shelf at the pharmacy lately. You can also get 6mm ones.
 
Work the new dose, Ming.

I don't know anything about Sol-M syringes, I use the Relion brand, 31 gauge, 6mm. Apparently, Walmart has discontinued the 8mm and are only carry the 6 mm ones now. The pharmacist told me that studies are showing that diabetics do better with a shorter needle for better absorption.
 
The pharmacist told me that studies are showing that diabetics do better with a shorter needle for better absorption.

Why is that?

I never thought needle length would affect anything but now that I think about it, some of the insulin could still be in the needle since it's got longer to travel.
 
Why is that?

I never thought needle length would affect anything but now that I think about it, some of the insulin could still be in the needle since it's got longer to travel.
Good question... I think it has something to do with a longer length needle, penetrating deeper into the skin layers and the studies are saying that the insulin absorbs better when it doesn't go that deep. At least that is what I think the pharmacist was saying.


I switched to the 6mm when the 8's were no longer available and I do like them better.
 
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Maybe I'll try the shorter length needles one day and see if my mom can do it again. That was the main issue: my mom not feeling confident with the shorter needles because she wasn't sure if it was in or not. But I've told her to pull back on the needle and if there's pressure, it means it's in.

penetrating deeper into the skin layers and the studies are saying that the insulin absorbs better when it doesn't go that deep
Also interesting!!!! I have this really low-key superstition that whenever I give insulin, it's not as effective as when my mom gives insulin. Coincidence? Me overthinking it? I don't know. I haven't really observed or collected concrete data to prove it's a thing but my mom did mention once to me that I look like I'm sticking in the needle at an angle while she tries to keep it parallel.

This is really cool. Thanks for the info!
 
I have this really low-key superstition that whenever I give insulin, it's not as effective as when my mom gives insulin. Coincidence? Me overthinking it? I don't know.

Same with us. Seemed every time DH shot Gizmo seemed to get better numbers. Same as you, were we over thinking? Coincidence? The only thing we ever came up with is DH always shot scruff, I shot sholder/sides.

Does your mom shoot in a different place than you normally shot?

Just food for thought :cool:
 
I have used both 1/2” & 5/16” needles. I like the shorter ones much better. When I use the longer ones it seems to easy to go in one side and out the other side of the pinched up skin.

Hope the dosecrease brings Ming down!
 
Same with us. Seemed every time DH shot Gizmo seemed to get better numbers. Same as you, were we over thinking? Coincidence? The only thing we ever came up with is DH always shot scruff, I shot sholder/sides.

Does your mom shoot in a different place than you normally shot?

Just food for thought :cool:
Quite interesting Lizzie, same for us...DH always shot scruff, I do shoulders or sides depending what Ti-Mousse tolerates! So, could it be the site instead of the people, would be more logic..!:)
 
Does your mom shoot in a different place than you normally shot?

She usually shoots scruff and I shoot scruff and sometimes the side of the scruff. I've heard from people on the forum and coworker that the side is more absorbent and others saying it doesn't matter.

PMPS = 319
+4 = 349

I did a +4 which isn't really onset for Ming but I was hopeful and he's still high. I'll try to do a +8 and even +10 if I wake up to use the bathroom.
 
Gave Ming 100 mL of SQF just in case there’s ketones swimming around. I caught him in the litter box but he was taking a dump lol I will await patiently for his pee pee :woot:
 
Back
Top