Take the following for whatever its worth, if anything at all

.
What is your overall goal with Kit? Wendy asked me this about a year ago. Here's the link to that thread.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...pmps-144-4-78-7-63-11-49.275642/#post-3058306 I often look back on it when I'm struggling with Cleo. Since then, my primary goal has been "under renal threshold". For Cleo specifically and the meter that I use, that means under 150.
Have you noticed a difference in her BGs with respect to (1) solensia shot; (2) adequan shot; (3) hairballs; etc.
Thanks for sharing the link - it was very helpful to read.
When she dropped out of remission, my goal was getting her back into remission quickly - not the best goal since it's more difficult the second time around, and the first time was mostly during the pandemic when I had nothing to do but micromanage her. Currently - I'd love to have her consistently under 100, with highs mostly under 120. I'd like to stay away from the bounce and drop cycles - I feel like trying out different carb levels has helped, although we get going and then I have to vacation dose it because of work things, and then it feels like a struggle to get back to where we were. Last year it felt like she was getting to a good spot, and then I skipped a dose for a wedding, and it has just felt like we haven't gotten back to it. Which my brain then counters because one missed shot shouldn't make that big of a reaction, and it's really just her body needing more insulin and that is what it is. But I know I also need to balance that with the knowledge that once classes start back, I'll again have weeks we have to vacation dose because I'll be at days and nights, and I need to be realistic.
Sometimes it seems like her numbers creep up toward the time that she's due for her solensia shot. It doesn't happen every time, and I don't have enough data from the new food cycle to really know how much is the solensia and how much is using food to help with the curve. I'm not sure the adequan is doing anything? I have been trying to do once a week shots, although there are two weekends I missed because of scheduling problems, and didn't work out ahead of time how to manage also doing that shot. She definitely has hairballs, but I'm not sure how much they affect her BG. She has gotten a B12 shot the last two times she's gotten solensia, only because I had talked to the vet about methyl b-12, but since that isn't available in shot form, she brought the type that is the shot form, and I'm just seeing how it does.
I'm also trying to balance all of that with her kidney disease, which seems relatively stable since diagnosis in 2022. But also knowing that she's 17 and making sure that her quality of life is still good. The arthritis makes it so she doesn't really go anywhere she can't easily step to from the floor, and she doesn't use the pet stairs anymore. But she still grooms, and purrs, and comes to find me for pets. She's pooping and peeing in the litterbox regularly (her poos has actually gotten very regular to twice a day right at shot time - she loves those poo treats she gets for pooping in the litterbox.)
How did you determine that 150 on your meter was what you considered under renal threshold? Does trying to stay under 120 as a goal seem unrealistic?
The completely unrealistic side of me wants to revert her back to a younger age so I have longer. I don't have those powers. Yet.
